We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Wedding”
living and dining room with glorious views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living and dining room with glorious views.
The Front of the Casale with garden Our friend, 5-star chef preparing in our charming cooks kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
living and dining room with glorious views.
The Front of the Casale with garden
Our friend, 5-star chef preparing in our charming cooks kitchen
The Casale view from the barn window.
Casale Sonnino's front door and parlor window
A wrought iron gate opens to your private home near Rome
The upper driveway heading out for a day of touring
The Casale is surrounded by vineyards and olive groves
The Casale Sonnino, your homebase near Rome
Viale Della Sagezza, little road of wisdom
Our Barn on the Hill, view from the Bedrooms
Under the Grape Arbor for dining al fresco
The Casale's study door, it's always busy!
Roman Column base in the Garden
Bench in front of the Villa, pine cones with Pignoli nuts
Casale Sonnino perched on a hill on the outskirts of Rome
Our Vineyard in the Fall
Picking the Olives that go into our extra special Olive Oilfor Oil
The sun sets, view from the terrace
Our Castelli Romani village, Monte Porzio Catone
Monte Porzio Catone, our charming village located on the outskirts of Rome
Monte Porzio Catone, a charming street with eateries
Nearby vibrant Frascati with stores and restaurants
Hadrian's Villa, worth touring - 40 minutes from the Casale
Ostia Antica, Rome's Ancient Port - 30 minutes from the Casale
Tivoli Gardens and Villa D-Este, a must-see destination for our guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Monte Porzio Catone, Province of Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
magszx33
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Wedding”
Reviewed 10 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We hosted our wedding here in June 2018, and the spot was absolutely perfect. We had around 50 guests, and set it all up outside. Guests were also able to go inside to relax or up on the terrace for a great view. Not only that, but Claire was able to help so much in any part of planning we needed, and while we were there George would do anything to make sure things went smoothly. Such great people as hosts who truly care about their guests! Our guests were saying it's the best wedding they've ever been to, and nothing would top it. It was intimate but fun!

We also had 8 people stay at the Casale which really helped with fine tuning wedding details and not having to stress about leaving. The breakfast they set up is delicious and in a beautiful open room. We were all very comfortable and honestly wished we could've stayed more. We highly recommend it and hope we can return in the future!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2018
It was fun to meet such an adventuresome young couple and work with you to make your "destination wedding" special and memorable! Please come back soon - consider the Casale your home near Rome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erbrezel
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once-in-a-lifetime Roman Getaway!”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Came with friends in June and had a spectacular time. Our host, George, was extremely generous. He is very knowledgable about Roman history and local culture. We enjoyed taking a tour of the property and hearing about the rich history dating back to Roman times. His family has run the villa for 5 generations, so his passion for the area really shines through. Walking in the wine caves felt like stepping back in time. After touring the vineyards, George took us to his favorite local restaurant to sample authentic Roman cuisine. Be sure to try the “carciofi all giudia” or Roman Jewish artichokes along with all the fresh pasta!

Our favorite day trip was to the beach at Sperlonga. It was a pleasant 2 hour drive through historic countryside. There were many beach clubs along the water, but when we arrived on a beautiful June day there was barely anyone there. It felt like we had our own private beach. At George’s recommendation we went to a small beach club on the far end called Baia Delle Sirene. We were treated to a feast of fresh fish, clams, and shrimps, and with lots of white wine, of course! Easily one of the best meals I’ve ever had. After a delicious meal overlooking the ocean we spent the day lounging on the white sand beach. Absolute paradise!

Their location just outside of Rome is extremely convenient for a variety of day trips. Be sure to check out the charming surrounding towns like Nemi (a small town over looking a picturesque lake known for their wild strawberries), Castele Gandolfo (the Pope’s summer residence overlooking a volcanic lake), and Frascati (the closest large town with plenty of shopping and amazing restaurants.) The days we did not spend on the beach or enjoying the property, we took the short train ride to Rome. The train station is 2 minutes away from the villa, which takes you right into Termini Station in the heart of Rome. Could not have been easier. Rome is a little busy this time of year, so after the long days touring around it was a real treat to come out to the country side for some fresh air and relaxation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2018
Great Food and Wine! Glad you "discovered" Sperlonga which is a beautiful white washed village on the sea. The beach there is very clean and during the week, is relatively uncrowded.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flyer4207...
1 review
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My family and I stayed at Casale Sonnino for 10 days at the end of August to celebrate our daughters Sweet 16. There were 6 of us, my husband, myself and 4 teenagers. Everything was perfect, Claire and George guided us every step of the way with recommendations and suggestions to help make our trip perfect. In addition the staff at the Casale go above and beyond. They made sure we had everything we needed and more. The breakfast each day and the Sweet 16 celebration dinner that were prepared for us at the Casale was just perfect and absolutely delicious. The grounds are very well maintained. There is plenty of room and the location of the Casale was great. We will definitely be going back. Thank you for making our trip so wonderful and memorable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
We are so happy your sweet 16 daughter enjoyed her milestone birthday at the Casale Sonnino. Definitely come back soon - there's more to see in Rome and nearby. Ciao!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storytell...
1 review
“TV Show Location ”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Review
We filmed at Casale Sonnino for a large UK reality series.
We had such an excellent service from the owners. They really went above and beyond to accommodate our filming needs and requests. The owners know the area so well and had great recommendations for places to film in the area.
The Casale itself is beautiful, surrounded by vineyards and olive grooves with beautiful interior. The owners were super flexible with us moving furniture and utilising all areas of the Casale and grounds, including the amazing tunnel system that runs underneath.
Was very helpful to have George (owner) on hand to help troubleshoot any queries.
Decent sized car park and space to put a generator. The Casale is nice and secluded so our filming was not interrupted.
Would definitely recommend as a location for a film or TV Show!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
It was so much fun working with you, the cast and crew. We can't wait to see the finished episodes!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clipperoc...
The Cincinnati Region
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect week in a classic Italian setting”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We are a well travelled family of five who had the pleasure of staying at the Casale during Easter week. After renting our car at Rome's FCO airport we were on our way to the Casale. The GPS directions and Claire's maps and written directions made getting to the Casale quite easy. As we arrived and approached the gates we where amazed. What an entrance! This is the quintessential Italian country villa in a beautiful setting. The house is perched atop a hill that overlooks olive groves and rows of grape vines. George the owner, caretaker and renaissance man greeted us as we arrived. He expressed a warmth and gratitude that made us quickly realize that we would be in good hands for the week. George and the staff are there if you need them or if you wish for privacy then that can be easily managed as well. After a tour of the house we settled in for a fabulous welcome lunch and a nice chat with George about the history of the Casale as well as the surrounding area. The house is beautiful and there are fantastic views from all of the rooms and open air top deck. We would sip local wine as the sun set over the hills during the evening. Each morning we enjoyed a continental breakfast and great coffee before setting out on the days adventures. There is a train station approximately 3km and a metro station about a 15-20 minute drive from the Casale making it an easy journey into Rome. The surrounding towns are great to visit and George gave us a nice driving tour of the surrounding villages. There are local grocery stores close by as well as some great restaurants. The kitchen is very well equipped and has a great collection of copper pans for cooking. We ended our week with so many great memories and we felt as though we were leaving good friends as George bid us farewell. If you want the genuine Italian experience with a beautiful place to stay and a caring wonderful staff then look no further than Casale Sonnino.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
We loved hosting you and your family. Come back soon! Our house is your house!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing