We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Occidental Aran Blu(Lido di Ostia)
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sirenetta(Lido di Ostia)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
B&B Barocchetto Romano(Lido di Ostia)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bellavista(Lido di Ostia)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ping Pong(Lido di Ostia)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Belvedere Century(Lido di Ostia)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Hotel Tirrenia(Lido di Ostia)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel La Riva(Lido di Ostia)
US$100
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Le due Stelle(Lido di Ostia)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveller rating
207
244
50
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
244
50
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetclose to the airportvery helpful staffsea viewrome airportostia anticavery clean hotelnice personnelhotel is excellentarranging transportperfect baselarge balcony with table and chairsairport costthe bus train stationgreat seasideshopping and restaurantselectric shutters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 515 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

I was here with a group which included children. The charming staff could not have been more helpful, especially when we had to change activities on one day. The beach across the road is a great play area, even in March, and there are first rate restaurants just round the corner. Breakfast at the hotel is excellent with an above-average selection of bread and cakes. With the site of Ancient Ostia just five minutes away on the train and the centre of Rome a further 25 minutes, this is the ideal base to visit the sights. There is a fun fair just up the road and a ropes course/laser games (Wild Village) just outside the town (take the 014 bus from the railway station).

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JamesWall2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLS-Direttore, Direttore at Hotel La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear JamesWall2014,

We are happy to know you have spent good time together with us and you liked our comfortable rooms together with our staff always helpful and professional with our guests.
We are located in a beach area plenty of good restaurants, beach resorts and pubs, outside the cahotic Rome city centre that makes the position of our hotel ideal for different types of journey, both business and leisure.
I like that you have appreciated the archeological site of Ostia Antica, as you know is a very great archeological site and is reachable within only 10 minutes of train.
Thank you also for pointing out the goodness of our breakfast buffet. is our personal objective ensure a wide array of options for all our guests with local specialities and also a look for healthy options to kickstart the day; therefore, we always ensure a variety of hot and cold, sweet and salty options as well as fresh fruits, different kinds of cereals and yogurts and a lot of other tasty italian and local specialities.
We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Located on the shore at the mouth of the Tiber, Ostia has some great ruins, restaurants, a Wild west amusement park, and shore!! Hotel La Scaletta is a great location and a great place to stay! The staff is very helpful! If you can't make it to Pompeii Ostia Antica is just down the street and a great substitute!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Adultchlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLS-Direttore, Direttore at Hotel La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Adultchlid,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination during your visit to Rome. Our guests play a key role in helping us to improve our services and we truly appreciate the feedback.
As you explained in your review our hotel is close to the best restaurants, cafes and stores of the city, all reachables by walking for few minutes.
I'm also glad to see that you enjoyed the archaeological area nearby, as you explained "Ostia Antica" is a great testimony to the greatness of the Roman Empire and how Ostia has been fundamental to its port and certainly deserves a visit.
Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Kind regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Everything was Excellent!!! Of course the beach was across the street and you could walk out on the Pier. My room had a large balcony with table and chairs with a Sea View, EXCELLENT. Shopping and restaurants right there in walking distance. The breakfast was Excellent. I stayed here for 2 days when I first arrived in Italy, then I came back for another 4 days before I returned to the U.S. The owner, Roberto, and the staff were wonderful, they made me feel more like family than just a tourist. Thank You!!! I will be back again!!!

Room Tip: Room with a Sea View
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pcavel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLS-Direttore, Direttore at Hotel La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear pcavel8,

Thank you for sharing an opinion on your stay with us.
It is a pleasure to see that you have enjoyed your stay and that especially the room with sea view and balcony has met your expectations.
We care about the quality of comfort of our customers, in this respect, I would like to emphasize that our rooms have been totally renovated and equipped with the latest comforts availables including: HD flat tv, desk, telephone, fridge, indipendent air conditioning/heating, private bathroom with shower and free wifi connection.
I'm glad to see also that you have appreciated our updated breakfast, now with a lot of daily baked cakes, brioches, biscuits and season fruit.
We are working hard with the objective to find new ways to improve our services and offer only the best experience during our guest's stays.
I hope to welcome you back one more time in future.
Kind regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Staff were very helpful when we got wrong date when booking. They told us to cancel the booking through the hotel website and asked us to rebook again without being charged. The response was fast and good. We checked in around midnight and the receptionist was very helpful, despite the late time.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank penawar85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLS-Direttore, Direttore at Hotel La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Dear penawar85,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination during your visit to Rome. Our guests play a key role in helping us to improve our services and we truly appreciate the feedback.
It gives me a great pride to know that our staffs are commended for their kindness and professionalism. I will share your comments with the team, I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to our staffs as we constantly strive to provide consistent quality of service to our guests.
It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again.
Kind regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

The location is perfect, just close to the main bars, restaurants and really close to the beach; friendly personal, very clean room and bathroom, nice views of the see, warm room (in winter) and fair breakfast

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cuadradofc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLS-Direttore, Direttore at Hotel La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Dear cuadradofc,

Thank you for have shared with us your experience.
As you know our building is located in the front of the sea that is plenty of restaurants, pubs and public beaches, as you explained in your review our hotel is also close to the airport and it is provided of a shuttle service available through reservation and with a very convenient price that link us to the airport within 20 minutes of driving.
e have recently renovated our building and we have improved our rooms with the newest comfort available such as: flat HD tv, desk, telephone, fridge, indipendent air conditioning, private bathroom with shower and free wifi connection.
Thank you also for pointing out the goodness of our breakfast buffet. is our personal objective ensure a wide array of options for all our guests with local specialities and also a look for healthy options to kickstart the day; therefore, we always ensure a variety of hot and cold, sweet and salty options as well as fresh fruits, different kinds of cereals and yogurts and a lot of other tasty italian and local specialities.
It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again.
Kind regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews