We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
90
19
4
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
90
19
4
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews enjoyed our stay fishing trip other guests fantastic stay great hospitality beautiful location many times at reasonable prices track lodge hosts island barrier accommodation deck bay sea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2020

We stayed on a boat in Whangaparapara Harbour to join family who were staying at the lodge. The setting was very relaxing and a nice spot for kids to play on the lawn. Easy to tie up the dinghy to the wharf a short walk away. We ate at the lodge - great food. One night they even cooked up our filleted snapper catch for us. Small store for supplies and bait. Kauri falls 30 min walk away is a nice waterfall pool to swim in. Great place to call in on the boat.

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank Luv_2_travel_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeline Young, Owner at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2020

Thanks so much for your lovely review. We aim for everyone to leave wanting to come back and enjoy our amazing slice of paradise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2020

A small group of us recently stayed at Great Barrier Lodge, our expectations were blown out of the water! The hosts (Angeline, Clive & Jack) were very hospitable and went out of their way to make our stay amazing! We took advantage of the package that Angeline put together this included meals, accommodation, rental vehicles and a half day fishing charter! Would totally recommend this place and we look forward to returning again soon.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SJCRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeline Young, Owner at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2020

Thanks so much Susan. It was wonderful to meet you and the family. It was our pleasure and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2020 via mobile

My husband and I came here for dinner at the end of a day exploring the island. The service, food and setting are divine! We had the snapper which was probably just caught. Drinks were plenty. The apple crumble dessert was a wonderful finish. Highly recommend a visit for dinner.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 366trishar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2020 via mobile

We stayed here the night before heading out on the 3 day Aotea track. Amazing facility with awesome hosts - nothing was too much trouble. Pricing good with perfect breakfast before our tramp. After such a tough time with Covid 19 they went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Highly recommend to anyone wishing to experience the magic of the Barrier.
They can organise everything for you to make your trip memorable.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nixbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2020 via mobile

Stayed at the Lodge as part of a Great Barrier Island package.
Nothing but great things to say about our hosts / owners, Ange and Clive.
A brilliantly location where we were well looked after. We had a studio unit which was perfectly fine for our stay.
Food was great with plentiful portions.
We managed to catch a few fish which the team were more than happy to cook up for us for dinner.
Can thoroughly recommend a visit to Great Barrier Lodge

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank topshotnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews