We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
DebNZ
Auckland, New Zealand
Great place to stay and eat
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Jan 2020
We stayed in a studio room at Great Barrier Lodge. The room was well set up with a comfortable bed, ensuite bathroom and kitchenette. The view from our room across the Whangaparapara Harbour was stunning both at day time and in the evening with all the boats in the harbour.
The restaurant on site had such good food that we ate there every night of our stay. As the weather was good we were able to eat out on the deck each night and soak in the beautiful environment.
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$280
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $280
34.1 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$105
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $103
  • Expedia.com
    $105
48.0 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Leigh Sawmill Cafe - Double Room
Booking.com
$204
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
54.0 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$92
  • Tripadvisor
    $92
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $92
55.3 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
67.2 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
60.9 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
69.7 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
68.9 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
68.1 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Whangaparapara
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
90
19
4
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
90
19
4
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2020 via mobile

This was an excellent place to stop for lunch. Amazing views across the bay. Very peaceful and tranquil. We had the snapper and chowder. Both were excellent and extremely tasty. Welcoming staff and a good ambiance.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jacquiland2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angeline649, Owner at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2020

Thanks Jacqui, glad you enjoy our little piece of paradise and our fabulous food.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Angeline & the Team @ Great Barrier Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2019

There isn't an option to give just a restaurant review for Great Barrier Lodge, so here it is, in with the rest of their Lodge reviews.
We enjoyed our meal so muchhere on the first night of our weeks holiday that we made the 30 minute drive back from Tryphena to Whangaparapara for our final meal on the island as well. The views from the restaurant are beautiful, and the food was great.
The Lodge is popular with groups staying, and also people calling in off boats, so it pays to phone and make a reservation.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2019

Great hosts - friendly, helpful and their humour kept us entertained. Food was great! Accommodation was good with beautiful views of the harbour. We enjoyed the bar and watching the rugby world cup there.
A relaxing place to come back to after some great hikes during the day. Kaitoki hot springs walk is close by. Nearby is also Te Ahumata track - good views and vegetation at the top. We also did the Harataonga Track along the coast which was beautiful - lovely bush and sea views. Our big 6 hour hike to Mt Hobson was amazing - views, lots of steps, beautiful bush.Went in at Windy canyon, along Palmers track to Mt Hobson, Mt Heale Hut, Peach tree track and out at Kaitoke springs.
Enjoyed and recommend the sightsseeing boat trip and lunch with Chris on the launch Sundancer - company Hooked on Barrier. Altogether an awesome week!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jotravel9827
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angeline649, Owner at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2019

Hi Jo, thanks for your feedback we are so glad you enjoyed our piece of paradise. It was a pleasure to meet you all and thank you for the laughs. Hope you are all well and back home safely. Till will meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2019

We stayed here mid-September, early spring, for 4 nights. The accommodation was comfortable and clean with the ability to self-cater. There is a Restaurant and bar available. The Lodge is located on an inlet with many walks in close proximity. We did not participate in any water activity but can imagine much activity in the Summer. A lovely spot offering easy access by car to the other parts of Great Barrier. We very much enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyS5986
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2019

The staff were excellent, the restaurant was fantastic, the 14 of us were really well looked after. Very helpful with recommendations for places to visit on the island. Very happy to recommend the Great Barrier Lodge to friends & family. Thank you for looking after us so well. See you next time.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0btnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews