We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
89
19
4
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
89
19
4
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snapper hot springs food was great friendly hosts enjoyed our stay studio unit fishing trip amazing views other guests awesome location took advantage fantastic stay lovely setting get away beautiful bay great hospitality many times
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2019

A beautiful secluded location with stunning views from our room. The owners were very friendly and helpful in telling us the best spots on the island to visit. The food was absolutely superb. Great Barrier is an amazing untouched paradise and hopefully remains that way!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 368angelenem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeline649, Owner at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2019

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay as it was lovely meeting you both. We hope to see you again one day.
The Team @ Great Barrier Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2019

We were a group of 18 family and friends and the lodge was perfect for us. We stayed four nights over Easter. The rooms were comfortable and clean and had basic cooking facilities for breakfast. The setting is beautiful on Whangaparapara harbour. We used this as a base to walk parts of the Aotea track and the Te Ahumata track which were within walking distance. The location was also close to Claris, within driving distance for a coffee at the Fat Puku. The lodge was great with big outdoor tables for pre-dinner snacks and a lounge area for relaxing and plenty of games for after dinner. We had dinner every night and the food was great - wholesome, tasty, plentiful, catered for everyone's tastes and dietary requirements. We had a set menu planned by the chef and it was perfect. The hosts Angeline, Clive and Jack were really friendly and so were the other staff. The atmosphere is very relaxed and welcoming. On Friday night they had a local musician and a "happy" night with a few locals in attendance - heaps of fun.

Room tip: Rooms are described well on the website
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeline649, Owner at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2019

Thank you Yvonne it was a pleasure to have you and your family. Having guests like you makes our job easier and so much fun. Until next time!!
The Team @ Great Barrier Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2019

This was our first visit to the Island, how bad is that when we live just across the channel. The food the lodge the location our new found friends Angeline and Clive, their son Jack where awesome, the chief (sorry chief forgot your name) amazing, food amazing. My wife and I were there just 3 weeks ago and on Friday I'm taking my sons there where we will base and do some diving and fishing. I have travelled all over the world and with out doubt this little piece of paradise would be my favou

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossdmackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeline649, Owner at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2019

Thanks so much Ross it was an absolute pleasure to have you share our piece of paradise. We look forward to seeing you and your boys!
The Team @ Great Barrier Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2019

The property is in an absolutely beautiful spot overlooking harbour and with nearby walks available

We stayed there as a group of 15 persons plus 2 guides
Food in evenings was plentiful and very good
Bar facilities very good with a wonderful verandah for meals and drinking overlooking water
Staff friendly
Rooms basic but large

Room tip: nearly all rooms have a view
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packer852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

The setting is lovely. The lodge overlooks an enclosed bush-clad harbour. There are native birds in abundance.

Accommodation is rather basic. The studio unit was clean and tidy, but was small and cheaply fitted out. Conversation and other noises pass between the units. Because of having to generate their own power, heating was only a portable gas heater which we couldn't get to work.

Service was friendly and relaxed.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews