We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Yvonne B
Auckland, New Zealand
Perfect
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Apr 2019
We were a group of 18 family and friends and the lodge was perfect for us. We stayed four nights over Easter. The rooms were comfortable and clean and had basic cooking facilities for breakfast. The setting is beautiful on Whangaparapara harbour. We used this as a base to walk parts of the Aotea track and the Te Ahumata track which were within walking distance. The location was also close to Claris, within driving distance for a coffee at the Fat Puku. The lodge was great with big outdoor tables for pre-dinner snacks and a lounge area for relaxing and plenty of games for after dinner. We had dinner every night and the food was great - wholesome, tasty, plentiful, catered for everyone's tastes and dietary requirements. We had a set menu planned by the chef and it was perfect. The hosts Angeline, Clive and Jack were really friendly and so were the other staff. The atmosphere is very relaxed and welcoming. On Friday night they had a local musician and a "happy" night with a few locals in attendance - heaps of fun.
Date of stay: April 2019
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
pride of ownership property was gorgeous
Booking.com
$175
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
53.3 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Unit One Sail- Studio.
Booking.com
$116
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $116
53.4 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Leigh Apartments
Booking.com
$300
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
53.5 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Leigh Sawmill Cafe - Double Room
Booking.com
$204
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
54.0 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$92
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
55.3 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
67.2 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
60.9 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
69.7 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
68.9 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Whangaparapara
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
90
19
4
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
90
19
4
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2019

This was our first visit to the Island, how bad is that when we live just across the channel. The food the lodge the location our new found friends Angeline and Clive, their son Jack where awesome, the chief (sorry chief forgot your name) amazing, food amazing. My wife and I were there just 3 weeks ago and on Friday I'm taking my sons there where we will base and do some diving and fishing. I have travelled all over the world and with out doubt this little piece of paradise would be my favou

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossdmackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angeline649, Owner at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2019

Thanks so much Ross it was an absolute pleasure to have you share our piece of paradise. We look forward to seeing you and your boys!
The Team @ Great Barrier Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2019

The property is in an absolutely beautiful spot overlooking harbour and with nearby walks available

We stayed there as a group of 15 persons plus 2 guides
Food in evenings was plentiful and very good
Bar facilities very good with a wonderful verandah for meals and drinking overlooking water
Staff friendly
Rooms basic but large

Room tip: nearly all rooms have a view
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packer852
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2018

The setting is lovely. The lodge overlooks an enclosed bush-clad harbour. There are native birds in abundance.

Accommodation is rather basic. The studio unit was clean and tidy, but was small and cheaply fitted out. Conversation and other noises pass between the units. Because of having to generate their own power, heating was only a portable gas heater which we couldn't get to work.

Service was friendly and relaxed.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. Room was clean. Not serviced at all and supplies not replenished. Linen not changed daily due to power restrictions. Towels changed after three days! We thought the power saving was a little over the top. Had a meal which was very good. Reasonably priced and had a good varied menu. Continental breakfast was basic, but plenty of it. Owners very friendly as were the staff.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SoniaT2438
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

We were thrilled to return to Great Barrier Lodge for another amazing weekend break. Angeline and Clive are amazing host and once again made us feel straight at home. We stayed in the garden room this time which was lovely and private. Dinner was amazing with plenty of choice, loved the homemade ice cream. Sunday morning we went kayaking and exploring the bay and the beautiful wildlife. Highly recommended

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank susanatomaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews