We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
89
19
4
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
89
19
4
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snapper hot springs food was great friendly hosts enjoyed our stay studio unit fishing trip amazing views other guests awesome location took advantage fantastic stay lovely setting get away beautiful bay great hospitality many times
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2019

The property is in an absolutely beautiful spot overlooking harbour and with nearby walks available

We stayed there as a group of 15 persons plus 2 guides
Food in evenings was plentiful and very good
Bar facilities very good with a wonderful verandah for meals and drinking overlooking water
Staff friendly
Rooms basic but large

Room tip: nearly all rooms have a view
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packer852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

The setting is lovely. The lodge overlooks an enclosed bush-clad harbour. There are native birds in abundance.

Accommodation is rather basic. The studio unit was clean and tidy, but was small and cheaply fitted out. Conversation and other noises pass between the units. Because of having to generate their own power, heating was only a portable gas heater which we couldn't get to work.

Service was friendly and relaxed.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. Room was clean. Not serviced at all and supplies not replenished. Linen not changed daily due to power restrictions. Towels changed after three days! We thought the power saving was a little over the top. Had a meal which was very good. Reasonably priced and had a good varied menu. Continental breakfast was basic, but plenty of it. Owners very friendly as were the staff.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SoniaT2438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

We were thrilled to return to Great Barrier Lodge for another amazing weekend break. Angeline and Clive are amazing host and once again made us feel straight at home. We stayed in the garden room this time which was lovely and private. Dinner was amazing with plenty of choice, loved the homemade ice cream. Sunday morning we went kayaking and exploring the bay and the beautiful wildlife. Highly recommended

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank susanatomaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

The magic of The Great Barrier Island is enhanced by the resurrection of the this fabulous old world charm of everything that a couple can provide their guests . Having taken over this establishment they have injected back everything I recall that I enjoyed.From the well stocked bar where the guests stand or sit around making new friends.Enjoying a great homely 3 course meal from a reasonable menu. The room I found comfortable and well appointed from what appeared to be recent renovations.All the other guests spoke highly of their enjoyment as did a person at the other end of the island who said it was their place of choice for a night out. It is a trip that even in mid winter was well worth the visit as the barrier has progressed to great roads , well maintained walking tracks . No rubbish and still the friendly locals

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank RodG93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeline649, Owner at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

WOW Rod thank you for your lovely review. We and our team are passionate about the Barrier and making sure everyone goes away with great memories and wanting to come back. Don't leave it so long before you are back again!! Angeline and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews