We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Evan W
Auckland, New Zealand
Basic accomodation in a beautiful setting
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Oct 2018
The setting is lovely. The lodge overlooks an enclosed bush-clad harbour. There are native birds in abundance.

Accommodation is rather basic. The studio unit was clean and tidy, but was small and cheaply fitted out. Conversation and other noises pass between the units. Because of having to generate their own power, heating was only a portable gas heater which we couldn't get to work.

Service was friendly and relaxed.
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Outdoor seating and gardens
Booking.com
$300
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $300
  • eDreams
    $300
  • Lol.travel
10.0 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free parking
Priceline
$330
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $280
  • Agoda.com
    $271
  • Hotels.com
    $275
34.1 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$105
  • Priceline
    $105
  • Trip.com
    $103
  • Expedia.com
    $105
48.0 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
pride of ownership property was gorgeous
Booking.com
$175
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $175
  • Agoda.com
53.3 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Unit One Sail- Studio.
Booking.com
$116
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $116
  • Vio.com
    $116
  • eDreams
    $116
53.4 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Leigh Apartments
Booking.com
$300
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $300
  • Agoda.com
53.5 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Leigh Sawmill Cafe - Double Room
Booking.com
$204
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
54.0 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$92
  • Priceline
    $92
  • Agoda.com
    $92
  • Expedia.com
    $92
55.3 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Long Bay
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $125
  • Agoda.com
56.6 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
$275
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $275
  • eDreams
    $275
  • Vio.com
    $275
57.1 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Whangaparapara
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
90
19
4
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
90
19
4
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. Room was clean. Not serviced at all and supplies not replenished. Linen not changed daily due to power restrictions. Towels changed after three days! We thought the power saving was a little over the top. Had a meal which was very good. Reasonably priced and had a good varied menu. Continental breakfast was basic, but plenty of it. Owners very friendly as were the staff.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SoniaT2438
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

We were thrilled to return to Great Barrier Lodge for another amazing weekend break. Angeline and Clive are amazing host and once again made us feel straight at home. We stayed in the garden room this time which was lovely and private. Dinner was amazing with plenty of choice, loved the homemade ice cream. Sunday morning we went kayaking and exploring the bay and the beautiful wildlife. Highly recommended

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank susanatomaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

The magic of The Great Barrier Island is enhanced by the resurrection of the this fabulous old world charm of everything that a couple can provide their guests . Having taken over this establishment they have injected back everything I recall that I enjoyed.From the well stocked bar where the guests stand or sit around making new friends.Enjoying a great homely 3 course meal from a reasonable menu. The room I found comfortable and well appointed from what appeared to be recent renovations.All the other guests spoke highly of their enjoyment as did a person at the other end of the island who said it was their place of choice for a night out. It is a trip that even in mid winter was well worth the visit as the barrier has progressed to great roads , well maintained walking tracks . No rubbish and still the friendly locals

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank RodG93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angeline649, Owner at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

WOW Rod thank you for your lovely review. We and our team are passionate about the Barrier and making sure everyone goes away with great memories and wanting to come back. Don't leave it so long before you are back again!! Angeline and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We took a mid winter break to the Barrier for my wife’s birthday , staying at Great Barrier Lodge . Angela and her team made us feel welcome and part of the Island from the moment we arrived . We stayed two nights and had a delicious evening meal on one night in the restaurant, bar . Our room was modern , clean and well equipped and had a fantastic view of the harbour . Thanks for a great weekend we will be back .

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angeline649, Owner at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thanks Dave, so happy you and Tristin had a great time. It was lovely to meet you and share Tristin's birthday. Look forward to seeing you again. Angline & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

To Clive and Angeline Young at Great Barrier Lodge. How good is Barrier hospitality. A large swell, an upset dingy and a drowned sailor. Come to the rescue Clive and Ange. A roaring fire, a set of clothes, a lovely meal and my wet clothes freshly laundered, dried and returned to me while I was enjoying their very warm hospitality. A huge thank you to you both.
How great it is to see this Lodge up and running again and with such wonderful people at the helm.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albe991
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews