We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Sonia T
Lovely location
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Sept 2018via mobile
We stayed for two nights. Room was clean. Not serviced at all and supplies not replenished. Linen not changed daily due to power restrictions. Towels changed after three days! We thought the power saving was a little over the top. Had a meal which was very good. Reasonably priced and had a good varied menu. Continental breakfast was basic, but plenty of it. Owners very friendly as were the staff.
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Contact accommodation for availability.
67.2 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
60.9 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
69.7 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
68.9 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
68.1 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
61.1 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
55.3 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
57.8 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
63.1 km from Great Barrier Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Whangaparapara
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
90
19
4
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
90
19
4
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

We were thrilled to return to Great Barrier Lodge for another amazing weekend break. Angeline and Clive are amazing host and once again made us feel straight at home. We stayed in the garden room this time which was lovely and private. Dinner was amazing with plenty of choice, loved the homemade ice cream. Sunday morning we went kayaking and exploring the bay and the beautiful wildlife. Highly recommended

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank susanatomaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

The magic of The Great Barrier Island is enhanced by the resurrection of the this fabulous old world charm of everything that a couple can provide their guests . Having taken over this establishment they have injected back everything I recall that I enjoyed.From the well stocked bar where the guests stand or sit around making new friends.Enjoying a great homely 3 course meal from a reasonable menu. The room I found comfortable and well appointed from what appeared to be recent renovations.All the other guests spoke highly of their enjoyment as did a person at the other end of the island who said it was their place of choice for a night out. It is a trip that even in mid winter was well worth the visit as the barrier has progressed to great roads , well maintained walking tracks . No rubbish and still the friendly locals

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank RodG93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angeline649, Owner at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

WOW Rod thank you for your lovely review. We and our team are passionate about the Barrier and making sure everyone goes away with great memories and wanting to come back. Don't leave it so long before you are back again!! Angeline and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We took a mid winter break to the Barrier for my wife’s birthday , staying at Great Barrier Lodge . Angela and her team made us feel welcome and part of the Island from the moment we arrived . We stayed two nights and had a delicious evening meal on one night in the restaurant, bar . Our room was modern , clean and well equipped and had a fantastic view of the harbour . Thanks for a great weekend we will be back .

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angeline649, Owner at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thanks Dave, so happy you and Tristin had a great time. It was lovely to meet you and share Tristin's birthday. Look forward to seeing you again. Angline & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

To Clive and Angeline Young at Great Barrier Lodge. How good is Barrier hospitality. A large swell, an upset dingy and a drowned sailor. Come to the rescue Clive and Ange. A roaring fire, a set of clothes, a lovely meal and my wet clothes freshly laundered, dried and returned to me while I was enjoying their very warm hospitality. A huge thank you to you both.
How great it is to see this Lodge up and running again and with such wonderful people at the helm.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albe991
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Everything was great. The pasta with shrimp and chorizo was great and had lots of shrimp! Everyone else loved their food too. Dessert was very good. Personal atmosphere and friendly people. Only had dinner.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Jetbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews