We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable break”
Review of Aotea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aotea Lodge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable break”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

My wife and me Enjoyed our stay here for 3 nights over the labour weekend. Clean, comfortable and decent. Like the garden where we can sit and enjoy the quiet surroundings. Location is excellent with easy access to the beach and restaurants. Fiona was a very helpful and hospitable host.

Stayed October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Davidleehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The two of us were so lucky to stay at Fiona's place as she made it so easy for us to organize everything!
Thanks to her we made the most of our journey, she gave us a lot of insight information and we really enjoyed talking to her!
The cozy lodges are located close to Tryphena which is a beautiful little town with lots of friendly islanders. We would definitely stay there again!
Thanks for everything, Fiona!
M&T

Stayed October 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tamo2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This was possibly our favourite trip yet. The island is truely one of the hidden and unspoilt gems New Zealand has to offer. The lodge was perfect with all facilities we required. Comfortable and clean, and very quaint, just wish we had more than just the four days. Friendliest host you could have, and was more than happy to help with suggestions for each day, it wouldn't have been the same without her. Will be booking another package deal through Aotea Lodge for our next vacation. Wouldn't change a thing!!

Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alpaca_eventing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Fantastic experience. The Lodge was everything you needed for a great break. Peaceful, clean and tidy and great helpful hostess Fiona. Close to amenities and central to travel from for exploring the Island. Well worth the trip.

  • Stayed April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Great Barrier island is a wonderful experience, the people are friendly and there is plenty to explore . Our host at Aotea lodge was very helpful with suggestions for activities and eating out , it is a good balance of being available and giving one the freedom to explore .

Stayed March 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RossnLindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tryphena
3.5 km away
Medlands Beach Lodge
Medlands Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
27 reviews
1.9 km away
Manuka Lodge
Manuka Lodge
#4 of 8 in Great Barrier Island
34 reviews
0.8 km away
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
#6 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Earthsong Lodge
Earthsong Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tryphena
78 reviews
4.5 km away
Mount St. Paul Estate
Mount St. Paul Estate
#2 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aotea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotea Lodge

Property: Aotea Lodge
Address: 41 Medland Road, Tryphena, Great Barrier Island 0991, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Great Barrier Island > Tryphena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tryphena
Price range (per night): $115 - $376
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, comfortable units, set in 2.5 acres of garden grounds, Aotea Lodge is perfect if you are looking for a quiet retreat. Surround yourself with abundant bird life, and enjoy the beautiful safe swimming beaches. The Irish Bar, restaurants, shops, cafe and other amenities are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aotea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing