We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aotea Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel(Coromandel)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Motel(Coromandel)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park(Coromandel)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coromandel Court Motel(Coromandel)(Great Value!)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Lodge Coromandel(Coromandel)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Olive Motel(Coromandel)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
25
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect place to staypackage deallovely place to relaxgreat barrierthoroughly enjoyed our staywent out of her waynew zealandfionacarsunithostshuttleskyhassleferryweekendaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Great Barrier island is a wonderful experience, the people are friendly and there is plenty to explore . Our host at Aotea lodge was very helpful with suggestions for activities and eating out , it is a good balance of being available and giving one the freedom to explore .

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RossnLindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Very comfortable unit with lovely surrounds and good bird life - Kereru, banded rails and Kaka all seen out the window. We booked a package through the information centre, with included rental car, accomodation, and flights and the price was good - info@greatbarrierisland.co.nz - probably the best way to do it. On a weekend where a lot of people didn't have cars because a local company was forced to stop trading, Fiona, the host at Aotea Lodge, made sure we had one. Great Barrier as a destination is fantastic but having the help of a local makes it easier and none could be more competent or helpful than Fiona.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zendub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Our stay at Aotea Lodge was great from our first contact with a query till the time we left. Fiona provided great customer service and our accommodation suited us perfectly. Convenient for getting around, but very quiet and peaceful.
The package deal of flights, car and accommodation is good value and reduces the hassle of planning.
I would recommend this Lodge to any visitor to Great Barrier!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank kfreeman756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed there for 7 nights. The purpose of the trip is get away the city and stay somewhere quiet and beautiful. The lodge is very good, it is like a beach house, it built for holiday. There is kitchen in the apartment so you don't have to worry about going out the whole time as there are not many restaurants in the island.

Fiona - the owner is very nice, friendly and helpful. She helped us to arrange shuttle for pick up and drop off. Anything you ask for, she will figure something out for you. We were so glad we stayed there as that's the best location you can get in the island. 5 mins walk to dairy and souvenir shop and Irish pub which open 4pm everyday. And Wild Rose cafe which open for breakfast and lunch til 3pm everyday.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sisiwkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aotealodge628, Owner at Aotea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2015

Hi Sisi
Thank you for your lovely review. Yes, the lodge has a great setting - close to the beach and other amenities, but at the same time, very quiet and private.
It was great to meet you and it was a real pleasure to have you stay.
Fiona - Aotea Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015

The lodge is very clean and neat!
It's surrounded beautiful nature.
It had ouside tables so we had meals there!
We lied on the grass on the garden and saw countless stars!
And location is good, too!
You can walk to store cafe and beach.
Especially, Fiona the owener is nice and kind!
She arranged our trip(flight and rental car) and lent some towels and toys for beach!
Her hospitality is perfect!
We really enjoyed such a beautiful Island and staying at Aotea lodge!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank keiko103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews