We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome lodge!”
Review of Aotea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aotea Lodge
Reviewed 8 December 2015

The lodge is very clean and neat!
It's surrounded beautiful nature.
It had ouside tables so we had meals there!
We lied on the grass on the garden and saw countless stars!
And location is good, too!
You can walk to store cafe and beach.
Especially, Fiona the owener is nice and kind!
She arranged our trip(flight and rental car) and lent some towels and toys for beach!
Her hospitality is perfect!
We really enjoyed such a beautiful Island and staying at Aotea lodge!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank keiko103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2015

This was a welcome break, mid winter, for hubby and I, and another couple. We got a package deal that included air flights, accommodation and a rental car for the time we were on the Island. We arrived at Aotea Lodge and settled in to spotlessly clean and tidy digs. Fiona, our host, was friendly and most accommodating with anything we needed. Although the weather was a little rainy and cold at times, for the most part, it was gorgeous. Especially enjoyed the bird life and rabbits playing around on the hill behind the lodge. All in all, a great stay and would definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wendle-cookofmany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

First weekend on Great Barrier and Fiona could not have been more obliging. Change of plans meant that 3 of us went for the weekend instead of the original two and Fiona worked this well with a good mattress on the floor.
We stayed in Unit 1 which does not have a large indoors area other than the bedrooms but has a lovely and large deck (actually two sides). Unit 2 looked like it would suit better for all round weather - if you had to stay inside but Unit 1 is more private than the others.
Fiona is very friendly and helpful who arranged our package including the air tickets with the rental car waiting at the airport for us. Aotea Lodge is handy to local restaurants.

Room Tip: Fiona will help with what you need as the units are very different and cater for different needs.U1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DeniseB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015

We live in Auckland, and this was our first visit to Great Barrier Island. We had with us 2 visitors from England. We all thoroughly enjoyed our visit and were very favourably impressed by Aotea Lodge and the services provided by Fiona. She was most efficient and friendly, and organised our accommodation, car and plane trips.
Breakfast is not provided, so be sure to make your own arrangements.

Room Tip: Specify room with attached lounge with sofas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 529mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2014

We stayed as a couple at aotea lodge for 2 nights. Fiona was an excellent host and had planned everything for us including car hire and flights. We were upgraded free of charge as the more expensive unit was and available, which was a lovely touch. The lodge is in a lovely area, surrounded by beautiful plants and trees and although not on the sea front it is only a short walk away from tryphena beach. The unit itself was fully equipped with everything we needed for the stay and we cooked a couple of meals there.

The island itself is absolutely beautiful with stunning scenery and deserted beaches. We had absolutely fantastic time and hopefully we will return one day!

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_belf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tryphena
1.3 km away
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
#8 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
26 reviews
4.1 km away
Mount St. Paul Estate
Mount St. Paul Estate
#3 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
84 reviews
0.3 km away
Earthsong Lodge
Earthsong Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tryphena
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Medlands Beach Lodge
Medlands Beach Lodge
#2 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
30 reviews
1.9 km away
Manuka Lodge
Manuka Lodge
#4 of 8 in Great Barrier Island
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aotea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotea Lodge

Address: 41 Medland Road, Tryphena, Auckland, Great Barrier Island 0991, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Great Barrier Island > Tryphena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tryphena
Price Range: $124 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, comfortable units, set in 2.5 acres of garden grounds, Aotea Lodge is perfect if you are looking for a quiet retreat. Surround yourself with abundant bird life, and enjoy the beautiful safe swimming beaches. The Irish Bar, restaurants, shops, cafe and other amenities are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aotea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing