We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aotea Lodge - perfect place to stay”
Review of Aotea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aotea Lodge
auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Aotea Lodge - perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were on a budget and about to enjoy our first ever trip to Gt Barrier. We chose Aotea Lodge and it was perfect.
The rooms and buildings were well laid out to be private for guests, shady and sunny grounds (for whichever you were after) with picnic benches, tables and chairs placed around in nice settings for you to enjoy and beautifully looked after. Really nice gardens, rhododendrons, solar lit gravel path to wander down the few metres to your car...
We went for the lowest cost room and it was perfect for what we needed and what we could afford, we by no means felt we got the 'cheap room' it was comfy, had everything we needed, a great shower and some in-season feijoas and guavas for us from Fiona. All the other accommodation looked just as good quality and well thought out.
Fiona was very helpful and informative and whilst we knew that if we needed anything we could simply ask we also liked that we were left to our own devices and could have a private or a more talkative and social stay depending on what we were after . We were here just off season in late March and only saw a handful of people.
The location is perfect - Aotea is in the best place to access to beautiful beaches on the east, a stones throw from Tryphena and the bays on the south and well placed for 'day trips' to the more far away parts such as Port Fitzroy. Also easy to walk to have some lunch or dinner at the local eateries. It suited us on a short three day trip to be in a location that didn't require a long trip down a windy gravel road every time to wanted to go anywhere... we could save those bits for the sight seeing.
The Barrier is more beautiful than i thought it would be and Aotea Lodge is a recommended place to stay indeed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hrs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Papamoa, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

A lovely, quiet and peaceful place to stay. Fiona is so helpful and friendly and the units are very clean, tidy, fully equipped and comfortable. So close to shops, beach and restaurants too. Would love to stay again sometime.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bunny1234567892014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Aotea Lodge. We found the chalet comfortable and clean. Fiona Green the proprietor was very nice and endlessly helpful with her advice about life on the island and things to do. I had only visited the island as a teenager with 2 mates from Sunnyvale, West Auckland. I'm now 58 and have lived in England for 38 years ! I get back to West Auckland every 2 years to see the family. On this occasion I treated my French Caribbean partner who was making her 3rd visit to NZ to a special treat on Greta Barrier. She wasn't disappointed. The Barrier hasn't lost its charms. Now there are sealed roads between the main locations but still enough unsealed roads to hang the back end of a car out, just a tiny amount, around the corners. Some things just don't change! We intend returning for a bit longer next time. Highly recommended. John and Nicole

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

What a beautiful island and perfect place to stay! My boyfriend and I stayed at Aotea Lodge for two nights as part of the great package including flights and car hire this March and loved it.

The flight alone was worth the money, providing stunning views on the way over and the lodge was homely, cosy and a brilliant base to explore the island from. Although we were a bit wary of the slightly older hire car at first, it was ideal for our needs and did a grand job of getting round the windy rural roads with ease.

Fiona was a fantastic host and always there to offer advice about the best spots and how to get there. We had an amazing meal at the Irish Pub - just a 5 min walk away - too which was a perfect end to thge idyllic escape. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warkworth
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had the most excellent stay with Fiona on GBI At Aotea Lodge. She went out of her way to organise our fishing trip and change of flights were no problem. Very comfortable accommodation
extra clean and fiona is very welcoming.This was a quick getaway for my husband and I.We would recommend a great stay at the lodge and very handy to Tryfina. Cheers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sherylblundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tryphena
3.5 km away
Medlands Beach Lodge
Medlands Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
27 reviews
1.9 km away
Manuka Lodge
Manuka Lodge
#5 of 8 in Great Barrier Island
34 reviews
0.8 km away
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
#6 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Earthsong Lodge
Earthsong Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tryphena
78 reviews
4.5 km away
Mount St. Paul Estate
Mount St. Paul Estate
#2 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aotea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotea Lodge

Property: Aotea Lodge
Address: 41 Medland Road, Tryphena, Great Barrier Island 0991, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Great Barrier Island > Tryphena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tryphena
Price range (per night): $114 - $295
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, comfortable units, set in 2.5 acres of garden grounds, Aotea Lodge is perfect if you are looking for a quiet retreat. Surround yourself with abundant bird life, and enjoy the beautiful safe swimming beaches. The Irish Bar, restaurants, shops, cafe and other amenities are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aotea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing