We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aotea Lodge
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Motel(Coromandel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Olive Motel(Coromandel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
25
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect place to staypackage deallovely place to relaxgreat barrierthoroughly enjoyed our staywent out of her waynew zealandfionacarsunithostshuttleskyhassleferryweekendaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

What a beautiful island and perfect place to stay! My boyfriend and I stayed at Aotea Lodge for two nights as part of the great package including flights and car hire this March and loved it.

The flight alone was worth the money, providing stunning views on the way over and the lodge was homely, cosy and a brilliant base to explore the island from. Although we were a bit wary of the slightly older hire car at first, it was ideal for our needs and did a grand job of getting round the windy rural roads with ease.

Fiona was a fantastic host and always there to offer advice about the best spots and how to get there. We had an amazing meal at the Irish Pub - just a 5 min walk away - too which was a perfect end to thge idyllic escape. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Katy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had the most excellent stay with Fiona on GBI At Aotea Lodge. She went out of her way to organise our fishing trip and change of flights were no problem. Very comfortable accommodation
extra clean and fiona is very welcoming.This was a quick getaway for my husband and I.We would recommend a great stay at the lodge and very handy to Tryfina. Cheers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sherylblundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Fiona was extremely helpful with initial booking enquiries and even moreso when we arrived and met her. Aotea Lodge is incredibly clean and tidy, spacious and very well equipped. Full kitchen equipped for 6, nice bathroom, fresh quality linen, comfortable bed ~ great.
'Greenie' met us at Claris airport with a nifty little rental car. Perfect for our tripping around GBI which is a truely relaxing, beautiful, picturesque paradise. Crystal clear waters, prestine beaches with hardly a sole to be seen. Great walks, excellent tracks.
Food on GBI is delicious and generous portions.
A wonderful place for a relaxing, quiet get-away.
Thoroughly recommend Aotea Lodge, GBI Rentals, Fly-My-Sky and GBI in general.
Thank you Fiona & Greenie.
[Ross & Noeline ~ Pokeno]

Room Tip: Family room had resident Tui on the flax bush outside lounge window. Beautiful and quite a 'show-off'.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank noelinekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Fiona is an excellent host. All aspects of venue, staff, amenities exceeded expectations. Ferry, flights, rental cars etc. can all be arranged by Fiona - very convenient. Beautiful and peaceful garden / location. Irish pub, Tipi and Bobs, Club all short walk away.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom unit connected to main house recommended.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great property - lovely gardens and surrounds.
Was up-graded to the bigger unit on arrival, which was appreciated.
Room was warm and comfortable. Fiona was a great host and all my needs were met.
Great Barrier is a special part of New Zealand, well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bay Plaza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews