We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old 'Westies' Review”
Review of Aotea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aotea Lodge
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Aotea Lodge. We found the chalet comfortable and clean. Fiona Green the proprietor was very nice and endlessly helpful with her advice about life on the island and things to do. I had only visited the island as a teenager with 2 mates from Sunnyvale, West Auckland. I'm now 58 and have lived in England for 38 years ! I get back to West Auckland every 2 years to see the family. On this occasion I treated my French Caribbean partner who was making her 3rd visit to NZ to a special treat on Greta Barrier. She wasn't disappointed. The Barrier hasn't lost its charms. Now there are sealed roads between the main locations but still enough unsealed roads to hang the back end of a car out, just a tiny amount, around the corners. Some things just don't change! We intend returning for a bit longer next time. Highly recommended. John and Nicole

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

What a beautiful island and perfect place to stay! My boyfriend and I stayed at Aotea Lodge for two nights as part of the great package including flights and car hire this March and loved it.

The flight alone was worth the money, providing stunning views on the way over and the lodge was homely, cosy and a brilliant base to explore the island from. Although we were a bit wary of the slightly older hire car at first, it was ideal for our needs and did a grand job of getting round the windy rural roads with ease.

Fiona was a fantastic host and always there to offer advice about the best spots and how to get there. We had an amazing meal at the Irish Pub - just a 5 min walk away - too which was a perfect end to thge idyllic escape. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Katy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had the most excellent stay with Fiona on GBI At Aotea Lodge. She went out of her way to organise our fishing trip and change of flights were no problem. Very comfortable accommodation
extra clean and fiona is very welcoming.This was a quick getaway for my husband and I.We would recommend a great stay at the lodge and very handy to Tryfina. Cheers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sherylblundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Fiona was extremely helpful with initial booking enquiries and even moreso when we arrived and met her. Aotea Lodge is incredibly clean and tidy, spacious and very well equipped. Full kitchen equipped for 6, nice bathroom, fresh quality linen, comfortable bed ~ great.
'Greenie' met us at Claris airport with a nifty little rental car. Perfect for our tripping around GBI which is a truely relaxing, beautiful, picturesque paradise. Crystal clear waters, prestine beaches with hardly a sole to be seen. Great walks, excellent tracks.
Food on GBI is delicious and generous portions.
A wonderful place for a relaxing, quiet get-away.
Thoroughly recommend Aotea Lodge, GBI Rentals, Fly-My-Sky and GBI in general.
Thank you Fiona & Greenie.
[Ross & Noeline ~ Pokeno]

Room Tip: Family room had resident Tui on the flax bush outside lounge window. Beautiful and quite a 'sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank noelinekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Fiona is an excellent host. All aspects of venue, staff, amenities exceeded expectations. Ferry, flights, rental cars etc. can all be arranged by Fiona - very convenient. Beautiful and peaceful garden / location. Irish pub, Tipi and Bobs, Club all short walk away.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom unit connected to main house recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tryphena
1.3 km away
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
#8 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
26 reviews
4.1 km away
Mount St. Paul Estate
Mount St. Paul Estate
#3 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
84 reviews
0.3 km away
Earthsong Lodge
Earthsong Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tryphena
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Medlands Beach Lodge
Medlands Beach Lodge
#2 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
30 reviews
1.9 km away
Manuka Lodge
Manuka Lodge
#4 of 8 in Great Barrier Island
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aotea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotea Lodge

Address: 41 Medland Road, Tryphena, Auckland, Great Barrier Island 0991, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Great Barrier Island > Tryphena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tryphena
Price Range: $124 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, comfortable units, set in 2.5 acres of garden grounds, Aotea Lodge is perfect if you are looking for a quiet retreat. Surround yourself with abundant bird life, and enjoy the beautiful safe swimming beaches. The Irish Bar, restaurants, shops, cafe and other amenities are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aotea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing