We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
37
8
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
8
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2016

In EVERY way this property is the perfect place to stay. The true Kiwi hospitality, the spectacular residence, the local knowledge and everything is there at your fingertips. Val and Francis have thought of everything, they are so welcoming and made us feel like we were at home.
The food was delicious, we had cooked breakfasts and Val provided our evening meals,l including Christmas dinner.
They organised activities, picked up our drinks order from Auckland and had rental vehicles available, we didn't have to worry about a thing.
The estate is beautiful there are numerous areas to sit and enjoy meals and drinks, to hold meetings or sit quietly and read. It really caters for everyone and for large groups. It is very well kept and comfortable and has all the luxuries of home.
Val and Francis are wonderful hosts, we all had a fantastic time and everyone agreed we will be back!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Lovely home, great welcome and dinner. Breakfast delicious. We'll be back again sometime. Brilliant having the rental car available and waiting at the airport. Room very spacious and fabulous deck to sit on and watch the sun go down

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandDutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

I had never stayed in a B&B before, so I wasn't too sure what to expect. However, the whole experience was lovely and pleasant. Friendly and warm hosts, very neat, cozy & clean house and rooms. Wanted to take my mother on a holiday who had just flown into the country. I wanted to take her somewhere outside of AKL but close enough so that the trip itself wouldn't be too tiring...and here we are. The Great Barrier Island was an excellent choice and I am definitely coming back! We had rather unfortunate weather and I am not even sure the plane will fly out this evening...anyway, we are chilling and really enjoying our quiet retreat at the Estate.. Thanks Val and Fracies!

Room tip: We stayed in the upstairs room and we are to come back, we would like to request the ones in the upstairs again.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AyakoO105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

What a fabulous place to escape to for our 50th. We had such a lovely time, the setting was perfect - great weather, plenty to explore, excellent accommodation to relax at... Val & Francis were just wonderful hosts - so friendly & welcoming and kept us well fed (loved the sticky date pud!!) Such happy memories have been created from this stay. We just can't wait to get back there!

Room tip: Rooms in the front have the best view of the bay
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CarolS3963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

From start to finish a great weekend ,with hosts Val and Francis really busy making sure all guests get the most out of their wonderfull paradise. A must stay for any family or couple.Thanks again,now to get my diet going after lovely meals.

Room tip: Enjoy the views and flights.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcchaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews