We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
37
8
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
8
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2016

I had never stayed in a B&B before, so I wasn't too sure what to expect. However, the whole experience was lovely and pleasant. Friendly and warm hosts, very neat, cozy & clean house and rooms. Wanted to take my mother on a holiday who had just flown into the country. I wanted to take her somewhere outside of AKL but close enough so that the trip itself wouldn't be too tiring...and here we are. The Great Barrier Island was an excellent choice and I am definitely coming back! We had rather unfortunate weather and I am not even sure the plane will fly out this evening...anyway, we are chilling and really enjoying our quiet retreat at the Estate.. Thanks Val and Fracies!

Room tip: We stayed in the upstairs room and we are to come back, we would like to request the ones in the upstairs again.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AyakoO105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

What a fabulous place to escape to for our 50th. We had such a lovely time, the setting was perfect - great weather, plenty to explore, excellent accommodation to relax at... Val & Francis were just wonderful hosts - so friendly & welcoming and kept us well fed (loved the sticky date pud!!) Such happy memories have been created from this stay. We just can't wait to get back there!

Room tip: Rooms in the front have the best view of the bay
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CarolS3963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

From start to finish a great weekend ,with hosts Val and Francis really busy making sure all guests get the most out of their wonderfull paradise. A must stay for any family or couple.Thanks again,now to get my diet going after lovely meals.

Room tip: Enjoy the views and flights.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcchaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We've just returned from a wonderful relaxed weekend with Val and Francis at Shoal Bay Estate.

We booked a winter package deal which included return flights, 2 nights accomodation, transfers, car hire and breakfast for $600.

Our room was warm, clean and spacious and great value for money. The views were incredible too!

We arrived about 6pm on the Friday and enjoyed a relaxed evening with other guests. Val cooked us a beautiful dinner which included steak, snapper, spinach & feta pie and sticky date pudding. Dinner wasn't included in the deal but it was a bargain for an extra $35 each. The following morning, Val's breakfast was outstanding and saw us through both days until our dinner.

We spend our days taking advantage of the walks available on the island, spent some time on the beach and visited the hot springs too. The Saturday night we had a hearty dinner at the local sports club with other guests and watched the All Blacks game with the locals.

We highly recommend staying here if you're considering visiting the Island.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank polkaprincess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This was one of the spur of the moment bookings and we are so glad we did it. Val and Francis are fantastic hosts, we spent the day doing the walking tracks and came back to a warm friendly atmosphere. Val is a great cook and we had dinner on our first night with others that had also booked in for the weekend, great laughs and stories told. The weather wasn't fantastic, with patches of rain but that didn't dampen the enthusiasm of everyone.
Great kiwi hospitality.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwisflythecoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews