We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
37
8
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
8
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016

From start to finish a great weekend ,with hosts Val and Francis really busy making sure all guests get the most out of their wonderfull paradise. A must stay for any family or couple.Thanks again,now to get my diet going after lovely meals.

Room tip: Enjoy the views and flights.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcchaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We've just returned from a wonderful relaxed weekend with Val and Francis at Shoal Bay Estate.

We booked a winter package deal which included return flights, 2 nights accomodation, transfers, car hire and breakfast for $600.

Our room was warm, clean and spacious and great value for money. The views were incredible too!

We arrived about 6pm on the Friday and enjoyed a relaxed evening with other guests. Val cooked us a beautiful dinner which included steak, snapper, spinach & feta pie and sticky date pudding. Dinner wasn't included in the deal but it was a bargain for an extra $35 each. The following morning, Val's breakfast was outstanding and saw us through both days until our dinner.

We spend our days taking advantage of the walks available on the island, spent some time on the beach and visited the hot springs too. The Saturday night we had a hearty dinner at the local sports club with other guests and watched the All Blacks game with the locals.

We highly recommend staying here if you're considering visiting the Island.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank polkaprincess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This was one of the spur of the moment bookings and we are so glad we did it. Val and Francis are fantastic hosts, we spent the day doing the walking tracks and came back to a warm friendly atmosphere. Val is a great cook and we had dinner on our first night with others that had also booked in for the weekend, great laughs and stories told. The weather wasn't fantastic, with patches of rain but that didn't dampen the enthusiasm of everyone.
Great kiwi hospitality.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwisflythecoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Val and Francis were extraordinary hosts. Comfortable (& warm) accommodation - topped off with great food and hospitality.
Val went above and beyond to help us with a problem we had with our flight - her local connections came through. We were blown away by the level of service.
As hosts Val and Francis were perfect for us. Friendly and welcoming, without being over the top. Gave us plenty of space and provided some great advice as to how to get the best from our stay.

Room tip: Ask for the "Honeymoon Suite" upstairs - lots of space and a fantastic deck to view the bay.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HamishM310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

The Shoal Bay Estate is situated at the southern end of Tryphena harbour, an idyllic spot set in a lovely bay. Val and Francis were welcoming with good kiwi hospitality. We got this through Grab-one and was good value.

Room tip: Upstairs in the homestead or in the separate cottage
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank harvard1078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews