We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
37
8
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
8
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2016

The Shoal Bay Estate is situated at the southern end of Tryphena harbour, an idyllic spot set in a lovely bay. Val and Francis were welcoming with good kiwi hospitality. We got this through Grab-one and was good value.

Room tip: Upstairs in the homestead or in the separate cottage
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank harvard1078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

We had an incredible two night stay. Val and Fracis were great hosts and we had beautiful breakfasts both mornings. Loved sitting round the table conversing with the other guests as well as sitting by the fire to watch the rugby. The room was beautiful and we slept soundly each night?

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamish294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Stayed for the weekend after getting a deal on grabone. Val and Francis were good host with good knowledge of the island and suitable activities for the kids. The kids loved the chickens, cow, sandpit and toys. The contact with Val before we arrived was great with our tickets being booked with Barrier Air.

The car hired out was able to accommodate both our kids care seat with bolt included and was clean and easy to drive.

The food was of good quality with us having both breakfasts and dinners. The timing of breakfast was definitely on Island time.

The room was spacious, clean and warm even on cold, wet windy nights.

Our trip with Val and Francis to the Social club was friendly and inviting with karaoke a highlight!

All in all it was a lovely weekend enjoying the highlights of the island including the hot pools and crab hunting on the beach right across the road.

We would love to come back and enjoy more of the island.

Room tip: Top floor has great lounge area for kids to play with great views across the bay
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EnglishKiwiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015

stayed here fro Easter 2015 with 2 preschoolers and my mum over from Scotland. Val and Francis are amazing hosts, we had an amazing time tootling around the island and enjoying fabulous breakfasts and hospitality. The sand pit and egg fetching from chicken run a massive hit with our boys.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ailsa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2015

Shoal Bay Estate and Great Barrier Island exceeded my expectations of this island only 25 minutes from Auckland. The owners were very helpful and hospitable and the breakfasts were legendary! We were there three mornings and each morning there were new homemade breakfast delights.

Shoal Bay is a very sheltered bay and the Estate looks out over it - they are on a dead-end road, so there is very little traffic and four of the five bedrooms look out over the bay.

Val and Francis arranged hire vehicles for us, kayaking and dinner two nights, which was as good as the breakfasts. The only disappointment was that the crayfish pot didn't deliver for us to have fresh crayfish for dinner one night. But the fresh caught snapper we had the other night was pretty special too.

Thoroughly recommend going to Great Barrier Island and staying at Shoal Bay Estate. Thanks Val and Francis - we'll be back!

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jennipea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews