We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
20
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
20
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2019

Our nine day stay at the Medlands was magic.
From the very first day, when Robyn & Malcolm greeted all 17 of us with a friendly smile, the service they provided was first class.
Set in a farmland environment, the villas and the bunk rooms are well furnished and comfortable. The views are magnificent and the atmosphere was very relaxing. Various BBQ are available at various locations and the communal kitchen for the Bunk rooms was well equipped. Toilets and showers very clean and well maintained.
The proximity to shopping, restaurants, Galleries, airport and services is a plus. Also the central location made travel easy to both the Northern and Southern end of the Island for hiking.
Robyn also offered us a guided tour of local gardens and is a wealth of knowledge about the island, what to do, where o eat and good walks.
We will always stay there when we travel to the Great Barrier.
Raf Walking Club of Victoria

Room tip: Villas are great for views and privacy
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trampingclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

Robyn & Malcolm were wonderful hosts and create a wonderful relaxed atmosphere at the backpackers. The room I stayed in looked out over the ocean and was very relaxing.
They were really great with giving pointer and where to go. I would recommend the backpackers to anyone who was looking for a chilled out stay on the island.

Will definitely be going back for another visit.

Room tip: Book the chalet as this has the double bed with an ocean view with lying in bed :-)
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MKMaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Set on a hillside, in the bush with a luxuriant garden, native birds, ducks, chickens, just 10 a minute walk to the most amazing beach and coast. A communal kitchen/lounge and lots of outdoor furniture for eating (and lounging) outside. Loads of bodyboards provided for enjoying the waves. The hosts Robyn and Malcom are extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. Simple, rustic, natural, friendly and absolutely tranquil. Amazing night stars. Really a beautiful place to be.

Room tip: Honeymoon suite for a couple. Other rooms have one doublebed and 3 singles (bunks)
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cellosurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

We visited as a family for a week and it was just perfect - we had all the backpackers rooms to ourselves which meant that the kitchen area was basically ours too. The location was under a 10min walk from Medlands beach - a beautiful walk may I say - and the surroundings were stunning. Green beauty all around! The accommodation was just right, we all had some privacy but shared room with family members which made it a lot of fun. The family who own the accommodation were also super friendly and welcoming, and took time out from their days to take us on walks and show us around. If I ever visit New Zealand again I would definitely want to go back to Great Barrier Island, and wouldn’t think twice about where to stay.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank veganwanderer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberts09, Manager at Medlands Beach Backpackers & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

It was a pleasure having your family stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Thanks to the friendly owners Robyn and Malcolm, after our ferry was cancelled they put us up in their backpackers.

There are plenty of rooms fitting about four people and a cool dinning room to hang out in.

The relaxed and rural feel of this place is great. Lovely views out to the sea from the property too.

Out Duke of Edinburgh group enjoyed the pancakes Robyn made in the morning for us.

Thanks for the stay and recommend for a cool spot to base yourself from.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Skiwi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews
<