We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
79
109
44
14
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
109
44
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel el refugio spring pool refuge thermal canyon chimayo isolated renovation cons pros eagles
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Truly a refuge... this little hotel housed only 87 guests. It is surrounded by big mountains and a running river. Hotel has thermal pool and a cold pool. Although the hot pool is located “indoor” and the cold pool located out in the open air. It has such a panoramic view.
Room is spacious with rustic style. And the view is spectacular.

PROS: SPECTACULAR VIEW...
ideal for retreat. Or people that wants to be alone.
CONS:
WiFi is so slow and it is only available in the lobby. No WIFI in the room ( probably because they re trying to promote total relaxation)
You need to step out in the cold in order for you to get into the room
Room doesn’t have a kettle to make tea or coffee.
Breakfast buffet is very limited. Coffee, teas, yogurt, milk and cereals. Hot food choices are only quinoa torta and scrambled eggs.
Location is far away from the city center. And no shuttle was provided.
On the side note: restaurant at night offered few choices:
ONLY SET MENU
start with local bread with butter
Appetizer: choice of vegetable salad
Fruit salad
Cream of mushroom
Entree: Alpaca
Chicken
Grilled Trout
Dessert: coffee mouse
Pear compote
Verdict: the cream of mushroom tasted like Campbell cream of mushroom buffed up with few pieces of button mushroom and sprinkled herbs ( I even tasted clumps of seasoned flour and dried mushroom )
Grilled Trout: mine came out dry but at least the skin is crispy
Coffee Mouse: too sweet

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank flyme2themun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

This place is beautiful! The stuff very accommodating and super cordial, they always want to help and make you feel great on your stay. Eagles sing and fly above the hotel giving you a cense of nature. The serenity is incredibly peaceful and you can see all the stars above in te sky at night. If you want to engage with nature and have very quiet time alone or with family, I truly recommend you give this awesome place a try. The hot spring included will make you sleep like in a cloud at night. Thumbs way up!!!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

We stayed at El Refugio in February for 3 nights. The hotel is built in a canyon sloping down to a rushing river. There are four levels skirting down the hill. There is a natural thermal pool. It was a few steps from our room. The staff were very courteous. The food in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. I would recommend it to anyone. It is very remote and a great place to take refuge from the busy world.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the lowest level.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pryor42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

I stayed here with my family after we hiked Colca. The food was great and the staff very friendly. My oldest son caught 4 trout in the river and the chef prepared them in the resturant (for a cost). I soaked in the hot spring several times and felt very relaxed after I checked out. I would stary here again.

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs to navigate.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ams147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

If outside are 3-7 celsius, you will freeze, even
with their small electric radiator
In bath very cold
So, check local temperature first, then book!
The thermal bath is so and so, more than 7 people do not fit in

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Discover58170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews