We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Iluvit292
Melbourne, Australia

WELL, this is a resort

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Oct 2019
All the research that is spent on choosing a resort overseas can still lead to disappointment. When we arrived at the resort after battling the rain, terrible drivers and very adventurous dirt road leading to the resort, the reception was outstanding. "Welcome home". The manager Mary could not have been more helpful and the entire staff, lovely, amazing people. The drive from Nadi soon faded into history.
I booked one of the rooms with a private pool and was lucky enough to get the one room that has WiFi pickup. It rained for the first 2 days but frankly we couldn't have cared less as the atmosphere was idyllic and the little restaurant / bar caught the breeze owing to its lofty location and so life was good. My partner caught a case of Bulla belly for the next 2 days and the staff made her meals and they were either taken to room by me or they were delivered. Their genuine concern was touching.
I've travelled a lot of the South Pacific and can say with no hesitation, this is one of the best locations and accommodation I've experienced.
If you want large resort type of a holiday; not for you. If you want peace and quiet, a beautiful beach and a release of worldly cares, book it now.
Thank you to Mary, Talica and all the staff for a wonderful time.
Vinaka.
Doug
Date of stay: October 2019
Room Tip: We had room 4 which has the WiFi from the room.
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this review
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Bula Doug. Great to hear you had a fabulous team and were well looked after by our team at the Wellesley. Make sure you return to see us again in the future. Vinaka!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$474
  • Expedia.com
    $561
  • Agoda.com
    $469
  • Priceline
    $556
11.2 km from Wellesley Resort Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $144
  • Trip.com
7.2 km from Wellesley Resort Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
$250
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $250
  • Priceline
17.9 km from Wellesley Resort Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
13.3 km from Wellesley Resort Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Awesome getaway - the definition of serenity
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
18.2 km from Wellesley Resort Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
17.9 km from Wellesley Resort Fiji
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $118
  • Priceline
18.0 km from Wellesley Resort Fiji
$125
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $109
  • Expedia.com
    $161
0.6 km from Wellesley Resort Fiji
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Korolevu
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
142
100
32
30
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
142
100
32
30
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local village private beach paradise resort gear kava cyclone
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 327 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2019

It was my first time to go to Fiji with my husband, we stayed for 12 days . Our 1st stop was Wellesley Resort. The service was excellent, the villa we rented was clean, enough size for couple, it has it own pool convenient for anytime night dip. It is located about 2 1/2 hour drive from Nadi airport. The resort has its lovely restaurant which served sumptuous meals. My favorite was the Cocoda fish and cassava fries, I didn’t get tired of having it for dinner for 3 days..Talitha, Marianne, Millie & Maria were so hospitable, they’re the gems of WRF. Sebir was an excellent trek guide.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BakasyonZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2020

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Great to hear that you had a lovely time staying at our beautiful resort. I will be sure to share your kind words with your staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2019

My wife and I just spent a fabulous week at the Wellesley. The setting is wonderful. No crowds, great beach. The staff was so helpful and friendly. Mary, Talitha, and everyone else took care of all our needs. The food was good and the service great. We couldn't have asked for a better experience

Room tip: We had the villa with private pool. #4. Highly recommend
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Flakeytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2020

Bula and vinaka for sharing your experience at the Wellesley Resort. It really is a gem isn't it! So peaceful, no rush, no distractions, just superb hospitality in an incredible nature setting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2019

After four hours in the air and a free pick-up we arrived to a tropical paradise surrounded by rainforest.We were spoilt by staff (Talitha,Mereani,Scooby,Mili,Sabir) ...good food,...,the beach(a minute downwards wth sand that looks like sugar) with excellent snorkelling.
Yes it does suit people who want joyful inactivity however we were pleased we hired a car which over the seven days we stayed at Wellesley Resort gave us a bit of independence (drove to Suva,,couple evening meals at resorts down the road)
One thing i need to say to owners "fix the road".

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank superperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Thanks for taking the time to place a review on our resort. Love the description of the sand that 'looks like sugar'! It's just gorgeous isn't it! Thanks for the feedback re the road, we've had two weeks of pretty constant rain and the shared road in is in need of a grade - maintenance crew are onto it! Look forward to seeing you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2019

We had a lovely time at The Wellesley Fiji, after recommendation from friends.

The room was beautiful and spacious, we especially enjoyed the courtyard shower looking out to tropical bush! Comfortable bed and nice clean bathroom.

Food at the restaurant was fantastic, always consistent and a good range of items on the menu. The prices were very reasonable considering the high quality and fact the resort is quite secluded. Compared to nearby resorts I’ve stayed the price and food was far superior.

Great outdoor activities within the resort facilities. The white sand beach had beautiful clear water, we enjoyed snorkelling to find tropical fish and coral, resort supplied gear free of charge. Watched a lovely sunset while walking along the beach.

Overall, I can’t wait to go back.. all the staff were fantastic, it’s a small resort so they cater to your every need. Felt refreshed after a week in paradise.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 567olih
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Thanks for coming to stay with us for a week. I'm thrilled to hear that it achieved our goals of a refreshing, relaxing holiday experience. The courtyard showers are bliss aren't they! We appreciate you taking the time to share your lovely feedback with us. Do come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2019

The staff are one of the main highlights of this place - Talitha, Annie, Scooby, Noshad were all so nice. Raj’s cooking was divine.

We spent 10 nights here at the end of Aug 2019, we were looking for a small, boutique, adults-only retreat. This was a good fit. Most of our time was spent relaxing by the pool, on their lower deck, down by the beach. We hung out, drank, went swimming, snorkeling, read, browsed the internet, played cards, listened to music, got sun-burnt....

It is remote and secluded, you don’t have many options to escape to alternative places to eat/drink. There is access to tours, but we chose a low-key stay with only one private-tour, day-trip to Suva arranged through the resort.

The bar and food prices did become a little unbearable during their end-of-August (2019) menu change. People booking in would do well to email the resort ahead of your stay and request a copy of their menus so that you can both budget and be prepared for those costs.

The provided, tropical breakfast each morning was great. The quality of the food at the resort is excellent.

We felt however that when you are somewhat trapped, with limited options for dining that it was very important for the resort not to be price gouging and their latest menu prices were getting up there.

This resort (oddly) provides their prices without the 9% VAT costs added in - this is not common practice there, so this felt like an effort to make their charges appear less and extort the most possible, from a captive set of guests.

On balance our F&B bill was not ridiculous, it was 72% of our prepaid room rate over those 10 days.

The resort provides Internet in common areas which works way better than we had expected. There is no internet available in the room which we stayed in. This is not something that they claim to offer. There is patchy Vodafone signal in the resort and Digicel reception only at the beach area.

The building facilities at the resort are nicely provisioned but do need some current and continued maintenance. This didn't materially impact our stay in any way, but the age of the resort was noticed in certain areas. - Management advised us that they are about to undertake a good degree of renovation work in some of these areas such as the lower beech deck area.

This is a nice place and we would go again but I do hope they review the food menu costs so as not to create a bug-bear and a point of resentment for their guests.

Bring plug-in insect repellent units for your room, jungle strength spray-on mossie repellent and sunscreen! :)

The location, with the reef is excellent and a unique feature of this resort compared to others in Fiji.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Bula and thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. It was great to have you with us for an extended stay. We appreciate your comments on the menu and will share with the food and beverage team. We certainly try and keep costs down as much as possible for our guests whilst providing the freshest, quality food - you would of seen our onsite chef's garden perhaps. Great feedback for our team who looked after you so well. Thanks again and hopefully see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews