We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
J.McFarlane

Instant Relaxation And Contentment.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Sept 2019
After four hours in the air and a free pick-up we arrived to a tropical paradise surrounded by rainforest.We were spoilt by staff (Talitha,Mereani,Scooby,Mili,Sabir) ...good food,...,the beach(a minute downwards wth sand that looks like sugar) with excellent snorkelling.
Yes it does suit people who want joyful inactivity however we were pleased we hired a car which over the seven days we stayed at Wellesley Resort gave us a bit of independence (drove to Suva,,couple evening meals at resorts down the road)
One thing i need to say to owners "fix the road".
Date of stay: August 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this review
Responded 8 Oct 2019
Thanks for taking the time to place a review on our resort. Love the description of the sand that 'looks like sugar'! It's just gorgeous isn't it! Thanks for the feedback re the road, we've had two weeks of pretty constant rain and the shared road in is in need of a grade - maintenance crew are onto it! Look forward to seeing you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $508
  • Algotels
11.2 km from Wellesley Resort Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
7.2 km from Wellesley Resort Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
13.3 km from Wellesley Resort Fiji
Free parking
Pool
$278
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $278
  • Priceline
17.9 km from Wellesley Resort Fiji
Free parking
Pool
$99
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $99
  • Expedia.com
    $118
  • Agoda.com
    $109
18.0 km from Wellesley Resort Fiji
$161
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Wellesley Resort Fiji
Free parking
Pool
$231
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $228
  • Priceline
    $212
  • Hotels.com
    $231
30.9 km from Wellesley Resort Fiji
Free parking
Pool
$222
  • Expedia.com
    $254
  • Agoda.com
    $170
  • Vio.com
    $177
31.4 km from Wellesley Resort Fiji
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Korolevu
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
142
100
32
30
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
142
100
32
30
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local village private beach paradise resort gear kava cyclone
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 327 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2019

We had a lovely time at The Wellesley Fiji, after recommendation from friends.

The room was beautiful and spacious, we especially enjoyed the courtyard shower looking out to tropical bush! Comfortable bed and nice clean bathroom.

Food at the restaurant was fantastic, always consistent and a good range of items on the menu. The prices were very reasonable considering the high quality and fact the resort is quite secluded. Compared to nearby resorts I’ve stayed the price and food was far superior.

Great outdoor activities within the resort facilities. The white sand beach had beautiful clear water, we enjoyed snorkelling to find tropical fish and coral, resort supplied gear free of charge. Watched a lovely sunset while walking along the beach.

Overall, I can’t wait to go back.. all the staff were fantastic, it’s a small resort so they cater to your every need. Felt refreshed after a week in paradise.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 567olih
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Thanks for coming to stay with us for a week. I'm thrilled to hear that it achieved our goals of a refreshing, relaxing holiday experience. The courtyard showers are bliss aren't they! We appreciate you taking the time to share your lovely feedback with us. Do come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2019

The staff are one of the main highlights of this place - Talitha, Annie, Scooby, Noshad were all so nice. Raj’s cooking was divine.

We spent 10 nights here at the end of Aug 2019, we were looking for a small, boutique, adults-only retreat. This was a good fit. Most of our time was spent relaxing by the pool, on their lower deck, down by the beach. We hung out, drank, went swimming, snorkeling, read, browsed the internet, played cards, listened to music, got sun-burnt....

It is remote and secluded, you don’t have many options to escape to alternative places to eat/drink. There is access to tours, but we chose a low-key stay with only one private-tour, day-trip to Suva arranged through the resort.

The bar and food prices did become a little unbearable during their end-of-August (2019) menu change. People booking in would do well to email the resort ahead of your stay and request a copy of their menus so that you can both budget and be prepared for those costs.

The provided, tropical breakfast each morning was great. The quality of the food at the resort is excellent.

We felt however that when you are somewhat trapped, with limited options for dining that it was very important for the resort not to be price gouging and their latest menu prices were getting up there.

This resort (oddly) provides their prices without the 9% VAT costs added in - this is not common practice there, so this felt like an effort to make their charges appear less and extort the most possible, from a captive set of guests.

On balance our F&B bill was not ridiculous, it was 72% of our prepaid room rate over those 10 days.

The resort provides Internet in common areas which works way better than we had expected. There is no internet available in the room which we stayed in. This is not something that they claim to offer. There is patchy Vodafone signal in the resort and Digicel reception only at the beach area.

The building facilities at the resort are nicely provisioned but do need some current and continued maintenance. This didn't materially impact our stay in any way, but the age of the resort was noticed in certain areas. - Management advised us that they are about to undertake a good degree of renovation work in some of these areas such as the lower beech deck area.

This is a nice place and we would go again but I do hope they review the food menu costs so as not to create a bug-bear and a point of resentment for their guests.

Bring plug-in insect repellent units for your room, jungle strength spray-on mossie repellent and sunscreen! :)

The location, with the reef is excellent and a unique feature of this resort compared to others in Fiji.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Bula and thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. It was great to have you with us for an extended stay. We appreciate your comments on the menu and will share with the food and beverage team. We certainly try and keep costs down as much as possible for our guests whilst providing the freshest, quality food - you would of seen our onsite chef's garden perhaps. Great feedback for our team who looked after you so well. Thanks again and hopefully see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2019

This is a lovely resort that is very sheltered from the wind and the lagoon is as good as you will get anywhere. The rooms are comfortable, although some care for detail in maintenance would be handy. Doors needed attention. The Lounge chairs on the beach were dirty and a few were broken. The one other thing is, that this resort is far from anywhere and we were charged a lot to get anywhere, in sometimes an old run down ute. This is not a good look for a "good resort" The food is fine but the menu is limited and not as Fijian as I would have hoped. This place has real potential.

Room tip: Get the Pool Villa and get a hire car.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us David. We'll be sure to share with the operations team. I'm sorry to hear you found damage on the beach chairs - we'll get onto sorting that out. Our resort is a little while off the main road, I guess a small price to pay for quiet, remote location! Much closer than an offshore island to facilities though at least!! Our guests usually rave about our meals - I can see if the chef can increase the number of Fijian inspired dishes on offer. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2019

We stayed 11 nights at The Wellesley Resort and wish it had been longer! The service we experienced was very good and the staff did everything they could to make our stay the best it could be. Thanks to Corinne, Talica, Mary, Jo, Mereani, Sabi and Raj and all the friendly staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

This beautiful small resort which has only 15 rooms is set in a remote area which is surrounded by tropical bush. The surroundings are absolutely stunning wherever you look. The beach is idyllic with white sand and crystal clear turquoise sea which is perfect for snorkelling. There is a huge variety of fish and coral which can be seen even in shallow waters. The resort offers a stock of snorkelling equipment for guests to use free of charge, which is good. Walks along the beach are a must.

There are plenty of tracks surrounding the resort, some are steep but manageable, which offer fabulous scenic views and are well worth exploring. Great photo opportunities from these, including awesome sunsets. Lots of different species of birds, butterflies and lizards can be seen around the resort and on these paths. The tropical plants and vegetation are gorgeous. Be aware there are lots of mosquitoes around, which is expected.

The menu, though not vast, is well planned and everything we ordered on our stay was of good quality. The pool and gardens were very welcoming, as was the entire resort. There was complimentary one way airport shuttle.

The Wellesley is a paradise and we hope to return.
Paul and Julie

Room tip: All rooms are nice. Some have outside shower, some inside.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliebSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Hi Paul and Julie. What a wonderful review. Thanks so much for your kind words. Our staff will be delighted to hear this lovely feedback. Looking forward to having you as our guest again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2019

Great place, has so much potential. Room very comfy, everything supplied. Best part .. OUTDOOR SHOWER!! Safe and refreshing. Staff great, food great, prices great. Place does need some work though, what the eye beholds is unkempt. Off the grid is good - but we had a telly to watch the All Blacks.

Room tip: Nothing to say
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lovelee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience of your time at our lovely Wellesley Resort. Our team have been working hard to maintain 'brand new' standards. We've just finished a total rebuild of our new beach prominade. It looks awesome - hopefully you'll come back and enjoy seeing the upgrades. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews