We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
$538
Fully refundable before Sun, 28 Apr
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
$537
Fully refundable before Sun, 28 Apr
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
$535
Fully refundable before Sun, 28 Apr
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Stephen G
Hamilton, New Zealand
Friendly place to get away from it all.
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 May 2018
A lovely resort staffed by some fantastic people!

The resort rooms are comfortable with efficient air-con. The decking could do with a good water-blast to clean off the slipperiness. Things are a little dated and some minor repairs are required but it does not distract from the comfort they provide. Rooms are serviced daily and we thank the staff for their hard work.

Breakfast is great! Choice of continental and/or cooked (eggs or omelette with b-beans, bacon or sausages) with a daily special like pancakes etc. A tropical fruit platter is also provided if wanted.

Lunch menu is great to have with a drink by the pool. Our group of four tried most items in the menu and have no complaints.

Dinner, buffet nights great other nights were unfortunately hit & miss. Due to poor dishes we got we decided to travel across the island on several occasions to eat. Apparently, they have a new chef and there may be teething issues? Anyway, we told them of our concerns, which were also voiced by others staying, and the resort have promised they will sort. Get the dinner menu right and you won't be losing people like us to your restaurant.

The pool is clean, deep and refreshing. Pity it closes at 7:00pm! A swim before going to bed at night would be fantastic. Something for the resort to consider? Snorkelling not great but a swim off the pier into the spring is awesome.

The resort grounds are beautiful and very well looked after by the hard-working ground staff. We didn’t play golf or tennis, but they looked in very good condition.

The resort staff are the real asset of this place. Dominic, Tina, Lilo, Nemo, Uilia, Elaine, Jerome and the others my fading memory can’t remember made our holiday so much more enjoyable. We sincerely appreciated the effort you put into making our time memorable.

Stephen, Tina, Ray & Robin.
Date of stay: May 2018
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • StayForLong
0.4 km from Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
$538
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $537
  • Vio.com
    $535
  • StayForLong
0.0 km from Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
Free parking
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
$159
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $151
  • Vio.com
3.2 km from Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
Booking.com
$204
  • Hotels.com
    $300
  • Expedia.com
    $300
  • Vio.com
    $344
17.2 km from Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
$105
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $116
  • Agoda.com
    $60
  • Trip.com
    $104
18.0 km from Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
Booking.com
$186
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $186
  • Agoda.com
    $186
18.1 km from Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
Expedia.com
$174
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $163
  • Agoda.com
    $168
  • StayForLong
18.2 km from Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$137
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $136
  • Priceline
    $253
  • Expedia.com
    $151
18.2 km from Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$155
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $142
  • Expedia.com
    $155
  • Vio.com
    $155
18.5 km from Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$82
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $82
  • Vio.com
    $82
  • Hotels.com
    $83
19.1 km from Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Maninoa
Reviews (918)
Filter reviews
918 results
Traveller rating
634
197
49
16
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
634
197
49
16
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fia fia night harry's bar six nights local village stunning location an ocean view villa ocean front paradise culture samoa apia reef deck ernest snorkel pacific singing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 918 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Thankyou to our beautiful Samoan family at Sinalei. We had the most relaxing and beautiful time at your resort. The food was great, the service was excellent and the service was exceptional. Your team of wait staff, musicians, admin and chefs did a truly professional job during our stay. We have so many happy memories...Dom, Michael and Robert crooning while we had luxurious dinners and slow danced to the music, Michael climbing up coconut trees and preparing then for us to drink and eat in the middle of the mangrove, your wait staff (Ulia, Napa, Seko and others meeting all of our needs, your reception staff always being pleasant and helpful, especially when I kept locking my key in the room and a most special mention goes to our darling Samoan God Jerome who went above and beyond for us in so many small ways to make our stay truly special and inevitably carved himself a special place in our hearts. We loved Fia Fia night- breathtaking and we loved the surroundings and the cleanliness and...well everything really. Thankyou from the bottom of our hearts. Dot and Tiffany

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tiffanyjoybaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sinalei-Reef-Resort, Manager at Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Talofa Dot and Tiffany,

We say a special fa'afetai tele lava (thank you very much), for your wonderful words. It means so much to us all here when our visitors arrive as guests and leave as Aiga (family). As you are now part of the clan, we hope it is not the last time we see you and look forward to creating more lasting memories in years to come.

Alofas (with love),

Your Sinalei Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

We decided to visit Samoa for the first time at the beginning of this month ( May 2018), after seeing Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa advertised on Australian TV. It looked & sounded like an idyllic island paradise. Advertised as an adults only Luxury Resort (no kids under 12).
It didn't live up to this promise with several children under 12 staying during our first few days. Resort management needs to be on top of this for adults only status.
This isolated boutique resort on the opposite side of the island to Apia Town has stunning, traditional buildings & fare's surrounded by lush colourful foliage throughout the enchanting grounds. A quaint spa is located on the reef front, where you can hear the water lapping below, whilst being pampered "island" style. There is a shallow beach for swimming with unpredictable currents deeper out. There is a relaxing grotto style pool with tray service.
Staff were extremely friendly, welcoming & accomodating throughout our stay. This trait constantly lures us back to Pacific Island countries for our holidays, to unwind from our busy lives. There are 2 Restaurants & 2 Bars & nightly entertainment by talented house singers who double as bar & wait staff during the day. Loved them !
Sadly, there is Only 1 restaurant & 1 bar open at a time. Minimising your choices greatly, in this isolated location. Needs a relaxed, low key option in the other restaurant in evenings for guests wanting a quick, quiet meal.
We loved Fia Fia (Fire dancing) night & the food was good !
If you are looking for 4 star luxury by western standards this may not be the place for you.
Our Beachside room (actually reef front) opposite end of resort to swimming beach, was clean & comfortable enough & certainly spacious, with a large private deck, pool lounges etc but it wasn't luxury. The fridge froze our drinks on all settings, the safe was broken & needed coaxing to lock with a key throughout our stay & NO in room TV.
The only TV is in the common room near the beach. Soft Furnishings were old & tired & lounges cheaply upholstered. The Bed was soft & comfy with quality linen. Bathroom privacy was limited due to the construction style.
Weather was warm & rained a lot, we swam most days.
We arrived in heavy rain & were unacceptably taken to our room at far end of resort "without" umbrellas ! Yes, we were soaked through.
Many of the furnishings are old & worn in the resort.
Loads of mosquitoes & we didn't see coils etc in reception or common areas. Bring strong repellent ! I had many bites. Mozzie wipes supplied in room.
Sinalei could be an awesome holiday destination to relax & unwind if they "greatly improve" their Food quality, choices, presentation & service.
The Breakfast table needs overseeing by experienced food staff to ensure hygiene levels are maintained throughout service. Food needs adequate covering from flys & sealed preserve portions available. Juice needs to be available daily. Juice & milk need to be chilled at all times. This was concerning!
Several nights we had to send raw or over cooked meals back & weren't inspired to order another meal or we chose a very basic item hoping it would be satisfactory ie: fries etc.
Drink bottled water to avoid stomach upsets.
For our travel dollar, Good food is a major part of the experience & is an expectation, especially, in a 4 star rated hotel.
Advisable to take snacks, nuts, biscuits etc with you as nowhere to buy them locally & not available in resort. Afternoon tea is supplied daily but the same slice was served & not to my liking. Biscuits or variety would have been great.
Robert Louis Stevenson museum/house was a good place to visit near Apia town.
Taking cash in Tala is a good idea as resort charges credit card fees. There are ATMs at new Faleolo airport & in Apia town which are both approx 40 minute drive from Sinalei on opposite side of island.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Mrs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sinalei-Reef-Resort, Manager at Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Talofa lava,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your visit with us at Sinalei. We are glad to hear that there were parts of your experience that you enjoyed but also disappointed that it did not quite live up to your expectations.

As an adults only resort, we do strive to offer a tranquil experience for all and so attempt to stick to this policy to the best of our abilities. Unfortunately when you visited, we had a big group staying with us with several teenagers between the ages of 12-18. This is something we checked prior to booking and also on arrival so not sure how kids under 12 could have been allowed through.

As for your concerns about our restaurant, we do endeavor to offer variety in settings (beach settings, over water settings, poolside settings and cultural room settings), but to keep all facilities open for only 29 villas is a little difficult for a small property like us to manage. Hopefully if you do one day return, we will have the room numbers to be able to facilitate this need.

Again we thank you for taking the time to comment as we are constantly looking to improve, from upkeep through to food quality, it is all things that we strive to better in our pursuit for the best Sinalei experience for all.

Alofas (with love),

Your Sinalei Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

Staying 400m down the beach at Coconuts it was good to have a place as a complete contrast we could walk to along the beach
We came for lunch twice - both excellent and dinner twice
The first dinner on the pier was disappointing. A busy evening and far too few staff, delightful though they were
The second dinner on the evening when they had the local cultural dancers was simply mind blowing. Fire sticks everywhere and then later Dominic sang and we all danced. What a superb voice. Well done young man
Beautiful gardens.
Enjoyed. Thank you

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank howardd847
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sinalei-Reef-Resort, Manager at Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Talofa Howard,

We thank you for taking the time to visit with us during your stay in Samoa. We are delighted to hear that your food experience went well for the most part whilst with us. I gaurentee that it is an area that we are constantly working on, and hope that the next time you choose to visit, you might consider staying with us so as to immerse yourself in the Sinalei experience.

Alofas (with love),

The Sinalei Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

We arrived via the hotel's air conditioned van. It was a picturesque 30 minute drive. We received fresh floral leis and drinks from coconuts which we were still sipping as we followed our luggage to our beautifully appointed, large, ovean view villa. We were immediately impressed by its design and attention to detail. The exquisite bathroom tiling, carved recessed nooks in the bedroom all reflected Samoa. The view from our villa was sensational.the grounds are manicured and all facilities are spotless. We enloyed the beach BBQ, fiafia night and dinners in the overwater restaurant. The singing at night was wonderful. They Gave me the best rendition of "Happy Birthday " I have ever had. All the staff were excellent and hardworking. Dominic and Jerome are exceptional. On return from dinner the sound of the ocean sends you to sleep.This is a real Samoan resort. It was a joy to stay in part of Samoa and not another formulaic hotel chain. Fine details were appreciated, for example the insect repellant sachets, the night spraying and diligence in picking up fronds, vegetation etc meant we didn't even see a mosquito.the massages were very good along with the organised tours. We would happily return to Sinalei.

Room tip: Get an ocean view
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 50snomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sinalei-Reef-Resort, Manager at Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Talofa Lava,

We thank you so much for the wonderful comments and in taking the time to appreciate the effort we put in to the smaller details. We are so glad that you found our Samoan hospitality to be memorable and look forward to sharing more of it with you upon your return.

With all our alofas (love),

Your Sinalei Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

We had 8 nights at this resort... low key, no fuss, really nice people and a great resort to chill out, relax. Food has improved with the new exec chef and whilst a little quirky is infinitely better and good. Bars lack vermouth - so getting a martini not possible and available flippers for snorkelling were largely unusable. So, as in all places little irritants that marr an otherwise superb location and facility.

Room tip: ociean view rooms good
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank grarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sinalei-Reef-Resort, Manager at Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Talofa lava Garey,

We thank you dearly for taking the time to share your Sinalei experience with us. We hope that it lived up to your expectations and that the little flaws were considered more quirky than annoying. We are working on improving all aspects of our service delivery in bringing to our guests the best possible version of ourselves for a truly memorable experience.

We hope that the next time you visit, you will have more good and new experiences to rave about.

Alofas (with love),

Your Sinalei Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews