We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
ZenHotels.com
$1,399
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
286
157
55
37
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
286
157
55
37
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meal deal meal plan manoa tours pool bar picnic lunch samoan culture waters edge pacific islands paddle boards fale paradise cocktails resort tala apia surfing gear
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2023

We have just returned from 3 nights in a beachfront fale and 6 nights in an overwater fale at Coconuts which was fantastic. We dined a la carte for all our meals in the beautiful beachfront restaurant where all the staff were lovely and the new staff eager to learn. A must is Coconuts Fia Fia night put on by Samoans from the local village. We saw turtles every day out front and also under our overwater fale. The beach to the far side of the overwater fales was our favourite place for walking and swimming and we would snorkel from there to outside the restaurant.There isn't a lot of coral out front but you can be taken out towards the reef to see more fish or enquire about the tours which offer snorkelling with clams etc
The spa is in a beautiful setting and I enjoyed a couple of relaxing treatments there with the lovely ladies
The lighting at night can be dim so do use your phone light or take a small torch, also good to use at the restaurant for the menu when outside. Also ask for an umbrella to keep in the room in case of unexpected heavy showers to get to the restaurant area
A big thank you to Brian and all his amazing staff and we will be back again to enjoy your beautiful place

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NZJaneNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2023

Talofa Jane, thank you for being our guests. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us on your holiday in Samoa. We are so glad that you had a great time and made the most of all that Coconuts has to offer.
We appreciate your thoughtful review and the tips you gave do offer some good advice to other travelers.
All of our staff send you alofa tele (much love), and we would be honored to have your visit your Coconuts aiga (family) again in the future. Fa'afetai lava, tofa soifua!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2023 via mobile

A hallucinating place. Dirty rooms full of worms and animals of all kinds. But worst of all, for days the "corpses" of worms stayed there which means the cleanliness sucked. The staff speaks sloppy English and there is nothing, but really nothing to do but hang out in the pool (in a place that is supposed to be great) drinking alcohol. Everything is "stretched" with water -- shampoo, conditioner, soap, even cocktails. And you pay for everything, because nothing is included in your stay. One star only for the sea, beautiful, wonderful white beach, but no fish because there is no more reef. Other resorts much better but less advertised. I would never go back there in my life

Room tip: Check for other resorts. There are fantastic on the main island not publicized like this one
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank fiammettas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2023

Talofa dear guests, we are very disheartened to hear that you had such a disappointing experience during your stay. We are sorry that your room was not kept clean by our housekeeping staff. We will use your report as an example to instill a higher level of service. It is true that Coconuts has always been a place to get some rest and relaxation. And while we may not offer the most excitement or activities in Samoa, we do have some things to do (if one is so inclined). Such as; a village walking tour, day trips to various scenic places or activities on the island, and our once a week fiafia show.

We don't understand your comment about stretching items with water. With regards to the toiletries, we don't modify them at all. Our guests receive the products in the rooms just as they came from the manufacturers. Obviously cocktails can be watered down, but that's not a practice that we promote. In fact we often hear that the drinks we serve are stronger than expected.

Our large lagoon is protected from the sea by a very large reef. We think that you probably meant to say that there is a small amount of of live coral in the lagoon. This unfortunately has been the trend over many years. In spite of this, there are some fish that inhabit the lagoon, as well as many sea turtles. If someone is looking for better snorkeling sights, there are other places around the island.

We thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts, as we are always interested in ways that we can improve the experience for all our guests. Tofa soifua!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2023 via mobile

Coconuts was a place where you could go and have a decent lunch, enjoy the scenery and drink wonderful cocktails. Unfortunately that's not the case anymore. Lunch was ok, the three different cocktails that I had were just crap! All 3, were tasteless, one was curdled. They were awful. Coconuts if this is how things are heading, I am not going to waste my money going back.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Finz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2023

Talofa dear guest, thank you for your feedback and review. We are very sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with the cocktails you were served. We have been known for making great drinks, so this is something out of the norm. Did you mention the problems with the drinks to your server or the manager at the time? This would have given us the opportunity to identify the issues (which helps us make improvements) as well as offer you proper replacement drinks. Tofa soifua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2023 via mobile

We came here for a snorkelling tour and from what we could see of this resort it’s absolutely divine! We didn’t use any of the facilities here except for the bathroom which were really cool and funky with tropical rustic vibes. The setting overlooking the ocean was spectacular and we would love to stay here sometime.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AlyshaV711
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2023

Talofa, and thank you for stopping by Coconuts. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the beautiful beach, ocean, and surroundings around here. We hope to see you again sometime. We appreciate your thoughts and the review. Tofa soifua!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2023

Aside from the beautiful beach outside, SOME nice staff and outdoor facilities, if you want a gentrified, overpriced, rooms/ beds infested with bugs experience then Coconuts is for you. This inclusive ‘Samoan’ experience, includes clueless American owners and American PowerPoints in the room so bring your adaptor! By the way, check in also closes at 4:30pm, so if you arrive after that don’t expect any special treatment, and bring a torch because it’s so dark you can’t see anything. If you’re a Kiwi or any race that has history with Samoa, you’ll also get a ‘lesson’ on history and made to feel so uncomfortable you want to leave.

What was done to rectify this you ask? A free cocktail at the also fly infested bar. Get yourself a culturally insensitive cocktail- including ‘Maori Madness’ that’ll ‘make your tongue stick out!’ No thanks! But if you don’t buy yourself a drink, one of the staff members will corner you in the dark and try coerce you to buy them drinks and make you feel so unsafe whilst scolding you calling you names.

P.S. no need for your politically correct reply below Brian (thanks for brushing off all our concerns that we raised with you!) that’s if you can reply considering apparently no included WIFI for guests who paid over $1000 a night?

Saved for a trip of a life time for this experience and we are guttered. We most definitely will never be back.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2023

Talofa dear guests, we thank you for staying with us and for leaving your review, which is very well written and in an entertaining style. We are indeed sorry and very disappointed that you had such a poor overall experience. You bring up many valid points, but some clarification on various items may benefit other travelers.

All our rooms have both NZ and US types of power outlets. In cases where the desired power point access is not convenient, we have extension cords and plug adapters available for our guests on request. Your mention of reception closing at 4:30 pm is helpful. Many guests have no choice on what time they arrive, so we have our night watchmen available, who can assist them get to their rooms after our reception staff have left for the day. They remain available to help guests until our regular staff return to work at 8:30 am. The guest can then check in on the following morning. If any guests have the option to arrive before 4:30 pm, that would be advisable. Keeping a torch on hand can be handy, as it does get dark in Samoa at night. Our overall lighting scheme at Coconuts has been designed to avoid harsh bright lights, so it may be darker than what most are used to. Since many people normally travel with a mobile phone, using the led light on the phone can help light the way.

We have never had anyone point out that the name or description of a cocktail was culturally insensitive. But even as a clueless American, I can now see how someone might be offended by that. We will now consider making some revisions to our drinks menu.

On a more serious note, we are truly sorry that a couple of our staff members acted inappropriately, and that their words or behavior caused you to feel uncomfortable, unsafe, or unwelcome. It is also unfortunate that; after I listened to your reports about these situations, asked some questions to get a full understanding, expressed that I was sorry to hear what happened and that it was not acceptable, that we would do something about it, immediately thereafter communicated the issues with our general manager, and actions were taken the next day, you consider this was brushing off all your concerns. This is not a politically correct reply, just a statement of facts.

Tofa soifua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews