We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
ZenHotels.com
$1,924
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Fiammetta S

Terrific. To avoid

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Aug 2023via mobile
A hallucinating place. Dirty rooms full of worms and animals of all kinds. But worst of all, for days the "corpses" of worms stayed there which means the cleanliness sucked. The staff speaks sloppy English and there is nothing, but really nothing to do but hang out in the pool (in a place that is supposed to be great) drinking alcohol. Everything is "stretched" with water -- shampoo, conditioner, soap, even cocktails. And you pay for everything, because nothing is included in your stay. One star only for the sea, beautiful, wonderful white beach, but no fish because there is no more reef. Other resorts much better but less advertised. I would never go back there in my life
Date of stay: August 2023
Room Tip: Check for other resorts. There are fantastic on the main island not publicized like this one
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this review
Responded 24 Aug 2023
Talofa dear guests, we are very disheartened to hear that you had such a disappointing experience during your stay. We are sorry that your room was not kept clean by our housekeeping staff. We will use your report as an example to instill a higher level of service. It is true that Coconuts has always been a place to get some rest and relaxation. And while we may not offer the most excitement or activities in Samoa, we do have some things to do (if one is so inclined). Such as; a village walking tour, day trips to various scenic places or activities on the island, and our once a week fiafia show.

We don't understand your comment about stretching items with water. With regards to the toiletries, we don't modify them at all. Our guests receive the products in the rooms just as they came from the manufacturers. Obviously cocktails can be watered down, but that's not a practice that we promote. In fact we often hear that the drinks we serve are stronger than expected.

Our large lagoon is protected from the sea by a very large reef. We think that you probably meant to say that there is a small amount of of live coral in the lagoon. This unfortunately has been the trend over many years. In spite of this, there are some fish that inhabit the lagoon, as well as many sea turtles. If someone is looking for better snorkeling sights, there are other places around the island.

We thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts, as we are always interested in ways that we can improve the experience for all our guests. Tofa soifua!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
$654
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $654
  • StayForLong
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free parking
Breakfast included
ZenHotels.com
$1,924
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.0 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
$155
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $147
  • Vio.com
2.8 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Hotels.com
$595
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $700
  • Agoda.com
    $547
  • Priceline
    $1,145
16.7 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
$113
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    $117
  • Agoda.com
    $66
  • Expedia.com
    $130
18.0 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
$168
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $160
  • Agoda.com
    $163
  • StayForLong
18.2 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$147
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $169
  • Expedia.com
    $202
  • Priceline
    $245
18.2 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
$167
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $167
  • Vio.com
    $144
  • Agoda.com
    $149
18.6 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free parking
Pool
Path way to tennis court/basket ball court
Booking.com
$325
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    $326
19.1 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$88
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $88
  • Hotels.com
    $89
  • Expedia.com
    $94
19.1 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Maninoa
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
287
157
55
37
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
287
157
55
37
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meal deal meal plan manoa tours pool bar picnic lunch samoan culture waters edge pacific islands paddle boards fale paradise cocktails resort tala apia surfing gear
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2023 via mobile

Coconuts was a place where you could go and have a decent lunch, enjoy the scenery and drink wonderful cocktails. Unfortunately that's not the case anymore. Lunch was ok, the three different cocktails that I had were just crap! All 3, were tasteless, one was curdled. They were awful. Coconuts if this is how things are heading, I am not going to waste my money going back.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Finz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2023

Talofa dear guest, thank you for your feedback and review. We are very sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with the cocktails you were served. We have been known for making great drinks, so this is something out of the norm. Did you mention the problems with the drinks to your server or the manager at the time? This would have given us the opportunity to identify the issues (which helps us make improvements) as well as offer you proper replacement drinks. Tofa soifua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2023 via mobile

We came here for a snorkelling tour and from what we could see of this resort it’s absolutely divine! We didn’t use any of the facilities here except for the bathroom which were really cool and funky with tropical rustic vibes. The setting overlooking the ocean was spectacular and we would love to stay here sometime.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AlyshaV711
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2023

Talofa, and thank you for stopping by Coconuts. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the beautiful beach, ocean, and surroundings around here. We hope to see you again sometime. We appreciate your thoughts and the review. Tofa soifua!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2023

Aside from the beautiful beach outside, SOME nice staff and outdoor facilities, if you want a gentrified, overpriced, rooms/ beds infested with bugs experience then Coconuts is for you. This inclusive ‘Samoan’ experience, includes clueless American owners and American PowerPoints in the room so bring your adaptor! By the way, check in also closes at 4:30pm, so if you arrive after that don’t expect any special treatment, and bring a torch because it’s so dark you can’t see anything. If you’re a Kiwi or any race that has history with Samoa, you’ll also get a ‘lesson’ on history and made to feel so uncomfortable you want to leave.

What was done to rectify this you ask? A free cocktail at the also fly infested bar. Get yourself a culturally insensitive cocktail- including ‘Maori Madness’ that’ll ‘make your tongue stick out!’ No thanks! But if you don’t buy yourself a drink, one of the staff members will corner you in the dark and try coerce you to buy them drinks and make you feel so unsafe whilst scolding you calling you names.

P.S. no need for your politically correct reply below Brian (thanks for brushing off all our concerns that we raised with you!) that’s if you can reply considering apparently no included WIFI for guests who paid over $1000 a night?

Saved for a trip of a life time for this experience and we are guttered. We most definitely will never be back.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2023

Talofa dear guests, we thank you for staying with us and for leaving your review, which is very well written and in an entertaining style. We are indeed sorry and very disappointed that you had such a poor overall experience. You bring up many valid points, but some clarification on various items may benefit other travelers.

All our rooms have both NZ and US types of power outlets. In cases where the desired power point access is not convenient, we have extension cords and plug adapters available for our guests on request. Your mention of reception closing at 4:30 pm is helpful. Many guests have no choice on what time they arrive, so we have our night watchmen available, who can assist them get to their rooms after our reception staff have left for the day. They remain available to help guests until our regular staff return to work at 8:30 am. The guest can then check in on the following morning. If any guests have the option to arrive before 4:30 pm, that would be advisable. Keeping a torch on hand can be handy, as it does get dark in Samoa at night. Our overall lighting scheme at Coconuts has been designed to avoid harsh bright lights, so it may be darker than what most are used to. Since many people normally travel with a mobile phone, using the led light on the phone can help light the way.

We have never had anyone point out that the name or description of a cocktail was culturally insensitive. But even as a clueless American, I can now see how someone might be offended by that. We will now consider making some revisions to our drinks menu.

On a more serious note, we are truly sorry that a couple of our staff members acted inappropriately, and that their words or behavior caused you to feel uncomfortable, unsafe, or unwelcome. It is also unfortunate that; after I listened to your reports about these situations, asked some questions to get a full understanding, expressed that I was sorry to hear what happened and that it was not acceptable, that we would do something about it, immediately thereafter communicated the issues with our general manager, and actions were taken the next day, you consider this was brushing off all your concerns. This is not a politically correct reply, just a statement of facts.

Tofa soifua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2023

Dear Brian and staff. We are Jenny and Alan Sparks, and were staying in Fale F. The resort/location was beautiful, and we thoroughly enjoyed mingling with you and your great staff ... nothing was too much trouble. I have to say, there were a few things that could be easily improved. The lighting to and from the restaurant, and the light in the restaurant was poor Just improving the candles would help. The reception area doesn't do the resort justice, needs improving. Just little niggles. On the whole, the resort was run extremely well, and would highly recommend it to our friends. Our fale was lovely and just steps to the sea for a swim. Many thanks for a wonderful holiday ... Brian, your interaction was very helpful. We shall be back. Please tell the bar staff that Mr Valima says hello and thank you. Right now we are getting through our post holiday blues. All the best, Jenny & Alan.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JenniferS556
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2023

Talofa Jenny and Alan, Thank you so much for being our guests, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Coconuts. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday and had a positive experience.

We appreciate your feedback and suggestions, we are making some changes right away. Fa'afetai for taking the time to share your thoughts by writing this review.

Your new Coconuts family (which includes all our staff) miss you already. We send both of you alofa tele (much love), and hope to see you again soon. Until then, tofa soifua!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2023

We had a great time at coconut with our family of 8 (4 adults and 4 kids aged 3,5,8 and 10). A very relax feel with a super helpful and friendly staff. The resort is what you miss from the old days of going to a place that has an identity rather than a clone of a chain of resorts that look the same anywhere in the world you go. The location is perfect with safe swimming, snorkeling and kayaking. The staff looks after the place like their own and make you feel at ease. The food is great, the fiafia is amazing and of course the location is second to none. If you have the opportunity, stay there. We stayed 7 days and that was perfect.

Room tip: Bring your own snorkeling gear if you can. Surf at 6:00am with Manu and Neil is a must if you can surf
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lala01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2023

Talofa lava dear guests, we are delighted to know your whole family had a great time in Samoa and at Coconuts. As you discovered, Coconuts is a unique resort that echoes many of the things that you mentioned in your insightful review. This makes Coconuts a place that may not appeal to everyone, but for travelers such as yourselves, it's a great thing when it's a proper match.

We want to thank you for being our guests, and for taking the time to write this wonderful review. All of our staff (your new Coconuts family) send alofa tele (much love) your way, and we hope to see you again sometime in the future. Fa'afetai lava, and tofa soifua!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews