We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Ret
Auckland, New Zealand

Disappointing.

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Jul 2023via mobile
Wasn’t staying here as it was full when we booked, but booked in for a massage a month in advance. Confirmed the booking two days prior. Day of the massage turned up to find out they had emailed me two hours prior to say they had given my booking to someone else (I had no access to emails). Waste of petrol and time. Would have been better if they had said they didn’t confirm bookings for non guests but no, booking was confirmed according to the email I received 2 days prior. Incredibly disappointing. Won’t be back in any capacity.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this review
Responded 24 Jul 2023
Talofa, we are very sorry that you were not able to enjoy our spa as you had planned for. And we are also sorry for the way that your appointment was handled. It was not done correct and it was an error on the part of one of our staff members. We think that if you had been able to experience our spa, you would have been satisfied. Fa'afetai
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
$488
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $488
  • StayForLong
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free parking
Pool
ZenHotels.com
$1,859
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.0 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
$154
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $147
  • Vio.com
2.8 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Hotels.com
$595
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $700
  • Agoda.com
    $540
  • Priceline
    $1,144
16.7 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
$100
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $113
  • Agoda.com
    $58
  • Hotels.com
    $101
18.0 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$229
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $229
18.0 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Booking.com
$132
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $147
  • Hotels.com
    $132
  • Priceline
    $245
18.2 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
$134
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $134
  • Vio.com
    $134
  • Agoda.com
    $134
18.6 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free parking
Pool
Path way to tennis court/basket ball court
Booking.com
$325
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    $325
19.1 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
31.5 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Maninoa
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
287
157
55
37
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
287
157
55
37
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meal deal meal plan manoa tours pool bar picnic lunch samoan culture waters edge pacific islands paddle boards fale paradise cocktails resort tala apia surfing gear
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2023

Absolutely terrible service. Booked a massage a month in advance, confirmed it the day before and they gave the booking to another person and told us as we arrived. Incredibly disappointing with the shocking level of service and would never be recommending this resort to anybody!

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2023

Talofa, This review is clearly a repeat of the same one from Ret, so please see our response to that review. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2023

This place is paradise! Well worth the money. We have stayed at many 5* resorts around the world and coconuts is one of our favourites. Perfect for a romantic couple get away or honeymoon! We are already planning to return in December.

One thing to mention is that they do not do room service. We were hoping to have dinner in our over the water fale one evening to watch the sunset but could not. This is due to bugs and mosquitoes so completely makes sense and the restaurant is lovely but just good to know.

Also when we were there the pool bar was not open. We found this at many of the hotels we stayed in though and likely to be since Covid.

Highly recommend! Can’t wait to return!!

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hannahpQ420JZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2023

Talofa Hannah! We want to thank you for being our guests and for choosing to stay at Coconuts for your holiday in Samoa. We are ecstatic to know that you had such a great time, and that you enjoyed the unique experience. We appreciate your feedback and taking the time to write your thoughtful review. We are flattered that Coconuts is now one of your favorite places. We look forward to seeing you next time as a Returning Nut (which you can proudly display by wearing your exclusive complimentary T shirts).

Until then, all of our staff (your new Coconuts family) send you alofa tele (much love). Fa'afetai lava, tofa soifua!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2023

We couldn’t have chosen a better resort for our family of four with the Coconuts team providing the paradise we’d been searching the Pacific for; no more Fiji or Rarotonga for us now.

The over the water fale accommodation was perfect and we got to say hello each morning to the sea turtles (with a coffee in our hand). Even a swim / snorkel in the sea was effortlessly close and safe with lots of beautiful sea life amongst the coral. The food was divine and somewhat more sophisticated than we’d expected with delectable Pacific French, US & Samoan styles).

The staff were super welcoming and had a sensitive balance between professional and overly familiar. Samoa is a simple relaxed paradise and one shouldn't expect perfect infrastructure or product supply chains on an island nation buffeted by mother nature. The staff were fabulous and dealt with the odd rude and entitled guests with grace and dignity. Thanks, Tony for the Samoan language lessons and OK who enabled our family to see Samoa through a local lens.

Don’t miss helping out with the umu preparation at the neighbouring Sinalei resort as well as Coconuts awesome Fia Fia night. See you at Coconuts next year…

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 681kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2023

Talofa lava, and thank you for being our guests. We are extremely happy to know that you had a such a great time in Samoa and enjoyed your stay at Coconuts. Our location is a good match for those who like the ocean and nature, and are looking for a place to relax and recharge.

We welcome you as part of our aiga (family), all our staff would love to see you again and will consider it an honor. Until then we send you alofa tele (much love) and Samoan smiles. Fa'afetai lava, tofa soifua!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2023 via mobile

After waiting 3 years following Covid Coconuts honoured our credit and the holiday was worth the wait. From the moment we arrived we were treated as family and I knew we would have a wonderful time.

Our room was Fale B a large 2 bedroom with views directly onto the beach. Absolutely stunning! The room was very comfortable but spent most of the time admiring the view on my sun lounge on the verandah. Shower coming out the lava rock wall in the bathroom was a nice touch.

The restaurant meals were great and so much choice also good cocktails.

We used the resort for all our tours and Tala our driver was great and we saw all the island with so much information and always a laugh.

My thanks to Nessie, OK and Seal at reception for always organising everything we wanted to do. The friendly chats and laughs. You are a great team.

Tony, David and Neefoo in the restaurant who severed amazing meals always with smile. Thank you.

Thank you Coconuts for an amazing holiday we loved everything you will always stay in our hearts and will we hope to return in the future.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ElizabethJ109
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2023

Talofa Elizabeth, Thank you for being so patient while the borders were closed for such a long time. We are glad that you were finally able to visit Samoa for your holiday. We were happy to have you as our guests, and we're delighted to know that you had a great time and an enjoyable experience at Coconuts.

Fa'afetai lava for taking the time to share your thoughts and write your kind review. We would be honored to have you come back again in the future as a Returning Nut. Your new Coconuts family sends alofa tele (much love) to you! Until next time, be well and healthy, tofa soifua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2023 via mobile

We had high expectations for this hotel but we’re very disappointed. Hotel in general in need of maintenance. Our room was treetops on the ground floor, but actually lower than ground level. Sitting on the chairs outside you can’t see the ocean. Room had a double bed and single bed. The bed was rock hard. Terrible very little sleep.
Pool bar was not open also if you needed Watersport gear you had to go to reception .
We were offered an upgrade for $100 US per night but it was opposite a large pond being
Renovated. We had booked for 4 nights and only stayed 1 could not try and sleep in that bed again. Moved to the resort next door which was perfect. Tried to get some kind of refund but no go.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 897vernonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2023

We are very sorry that you had such a disappointing experience with us. It was very unfortunate that the booking you made specified a room with a single + double bed, when you had preferred to get a king bed. Sometimes our guests inadvertently make some booking arrangements by mistake, and we try to offer options or solutions when this happens. In this case since it was such a busy time, we didn't have another room in the Treehouse with a king bed available. We would have gladly changed the room for you if one was available. Most guests find our beds to be comfortable, so we do apologize for the mattress being too hard for your comfort.
The pool bar is normally staffed on the weekends or when we are busy, but always pending having a bartender available. Ever since the pandemic closed the country down, many of our staff or potential employees chose to go overseas for work. This has left the whole island with a shortage of help overall since the border was opened last year. We appreciate your feedback and wish things had worked out better. In any case we are happy to hear know you found a better match elsewhere. Fa'afetai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews