We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
ZenHotels.com
$1,919
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
VERNON H

Not for us

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Jun 2023via mobile
We had high expectations for this hotel but we’re very disappointed. Hotel in general in need of maintenance. Our room was treetops on the ground floor, but actually lower than ground level. Sitting on the chairs outside you can’t see the ocean. Room had a double bed and single bed. The bed was rock hard. Terrible very little sleep.
Pool bar was not open also if you needed Watersport gear you had to go to reception .
We were offered an upgrade for $100 US per night but it was opposite a large pond being
Renovated. We had booked for 4 nights and only stayed 1 could not try and sleep in that bed again. Moved to the resort next door which was perfect. Tried to get some kind of refund but no go.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this review
Responded 18 Jun 2023
We are very sorry that you had such a disappointing experience with us. It was very unfortunate that the booking you made specified a room with a single + double bed, when you had preferred to get a king bed. Sometimes our guests inadvertently make some booking arrangements by mistake, and we try to offer options or solutions when this happens. In this case since it was such a busy time, we didn't have another room in the Treehouse with a king bed available. We would have gladly changed the room for you if one was available. Most guests find our beds to be comfortable, so we do apologize for the mattress being too hard for your comfort.
The pool bar is normally staffed on the weekends or when we are busy, but always pending having a bartender available. Ever since the pandemic closed the country down, many of our staff or potential employees chose to go overseas for work. This has left the whole island with a shortage of help overall since the border was opened last year. We appreciate your feedback and wish things had worked out better. In any case we are happy to hear know you found a better match elsewhere. Fa'afetai
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $654
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,919
  • Vio.com
0.0 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
$155
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $147
  • Vio.com
2.8 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $595
  • Agoda.com
    $547
  • Booking.com
    $618
16.7 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    $117
  • Agoda.com
    $66
  • Expedia.com
    $130
18.0 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
$168
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $160
  • Agoda.com
    $163
18.2 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$147
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $169
  • Expedia.com
    $202
  • Priceline
18.2 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$167
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $167
  • Agoda.com
    $149
  • Vio.com
18.6 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
31.5 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free parking
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
27.0 km from Coconuts Beach Club
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Maninoa
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
287
157
55
37
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
287
157
55
37
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meal deal meal plan manoa tours pool bar picnic lunch samoan culture waters edge pacific islands paddle boards fale paradise cocktails resort tala apia surfing gear
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2023

My husband and I stayed at Coconuts for 7 nights at the start of June 2023. This was our first stay at Coconuts (and first time to Samoa) and will definitely not be our last.

We stayed in one of the beach fales which were comfortable and very spacious, but best of all, only steps from the waters edge.

The food was absolutely amazing, and as we had the meal plan we tried pretty much every dish on the menu - And I can say that every single meal we had was delicious!!! The only thing letting the restaurant down, was the service. I know that like most pacific islands, you're on "island time", but sometimes we were waiting up to 20 mins to order or to get a coffee refill and we were the only people in the restaurant! I'm sure that will come with more training over time, as I think a lot of the staff were new. Tony was the exception to this. He was always there and ready to take our order, top up drinks and get us whatever we needed.

I would highly recommend organising a tour through reception. Our driver was John, and he was lovely. He took us to visit all of the sites we wanted to see and was very friendly and informative. And it was so reasonably priced! The restaurant packed us a picnic lunch to take with us too, which meant eating lunch with a beautiful view at a private beach. Doesn't get much better than that!

As far as facilities/activities go, there are plenty of kayaks, paddle boards and snorkelling gear you can use. There is also a company called Manoa Tours who have a boat at the resort (not owned by Coconuts), and Manu can take you surfing, turtle watching etc. I'd highly recommend this too!

There is a pool bar, but it was only open twice while we were there (not sure why it's not open every day?). It didn't really affect us though as we didn't swim in the pool anyway. Why would you when the beautiful ocean is right there?!

There were a few of the staff members who went above and beyond to make sure we had a fantastic stay. All of the reception team, but especially OK, Nessi and Siala, there were hugs all round when we left. It felt like we were leaving good friends!!

Coconuts now holds a special place in our hearts and we cannot wait to return again!

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alaanad2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2023

Talofa dear guests, thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your holiday in Samoa. We are very happy to know you had a great time and enjoyed your experience. As you discovered, Coconuts is a bit different than your typical resort, and in this case a good match for you.

We appreciate your feedback, and the effort put forth in writing this detailed review. We would be honored to have you return again in the future. From all of our staff and your new Coconuts aiga (family) fa'afetai lava! Tofa soifua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2023 via mobile

Honestly we had amazing treatment at Coconuts. OK organised a Wedding Celebration for us at the drop of a hat. We had a magical experience.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our food.

The only thing that marked this resort down a bit was there is still a good amount of maintenance that still needs to be done after the huge covid shut down. Witnessing the amount of work that was done while we were there, it went be long before this resort is once again a prime resort.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank frankenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2023

Talofa dear guests, thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Coconuts. Please know that we continue to work on maintenance and upgrade projects, as much as we can (without seriously impacting any of our guest's experiences). We appreciate you sharing your thoughts and for taking the time to write your review. Your Coconuts family hopes to see you again soon. Tofa soifua!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2023

Make sure you check your bill at checkout!! We explained that we had already prepaid the rooms and that all we had to pay for at the end was the food & drinks etc.
Upon checking bank statement we discovered they had charged us again for the rooms. Had to catch a taxi back from Apia to sort the issue. Maybe resort should have offered to reimburse taxi fares??

The food was quite good although breakfast could be improved in terms of portions offered.

Wifi was very poor. Had to sign in every 5 minutes and the signal was poor.

Apart from the above, it really is a fantastic location and most of the staff are very friendly and helpful. Just need to fine tune some admin procedures and maybe fix/clean up a few of the facilities.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2023

Talofa dear guests, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to give us your helpful feedback. We apologize for any errors that were made on your invoice. We echo your advice, as we always try to go over all the charges with our guests to make sure everything is correct. We are also sorry the wifi signal was problematic for you. Even though we hope our guests will take the opportunity to to unplug from their normal busy routines, we understand some online activity may be unavoidable. We hope that you may return again in the future, and perhaps have a better overall experience. Tofa soifua!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2023

Absolutely amazing, love this place ♥️
The staff are totally dedicated to giving you the best experience possible.
We travelled with 2 adults and a 10 year old, the staff were amazing with all of us remembering our names and being so accommodating to us and loved our son to bits.
This was my second stay at Coconuts, with the first being back in 2011, both visits were amazing.
I love the fact that you have little geckos visiting you in your room, I love that there are no tvs, I love that it is so relaxed, chilled out and you just feel so much love from the staff.
Definitely take the meal deal! It is SO worth it. The food at the restaurant is top class and the staff are more than happy to pack your lunch when you head out for the day on your own or on one of their super tours!
The tours are well priced and the guides are very knowledgeable and enthusiastic.
I highly recommend going to Coconuts and chilling out as it truly is one of the most beautiful places on earth ♥️

Date of stay: March 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Shaye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2023

Talofa, and thank you for being our guests again, we are honored to have you stay with us as a Returning Nut. We are happy to know your second visit was so enjoyable. We appreciate your feedback and that you took the time to write your thoughtful review. All of our staff send their alofa to you, and hope to see you again soon. Fa'afetai lava and tofa soifua!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2023

Finally, after travel has recently re-commenced to Samoa since COVID we were able to visit our favorite resort for 5 nights and what a fabulous time we had, as we always do. This visit was to celebrate my partner Kevin’s 70th birthday, we also had his 60th celebration here 10 years ago. The staff decorated a beautiful dinner table for us and brought out a birthday cake singing Happy Birthday – it was so touching! As usual we chose the “meal deal” which is excellent value. My favourite is the Onion Soup entree, I even rave about it after we get home! My partner loves the seafood choices. We both love the wine choices on offer at meal times and we love the staff here – they are the most friendly, beautiful people who make our stay here perfect. We will definitely be back again and I especially look forward to having the Onion Soup again!

Room tip: Have the onion soup, you will not be sorry...
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian Rose, General Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

Talofa lava, It was so wonderful to have both of you stay with us again. Even though a few years had passed, it was still like the good old days. We are happy to know you had an enjoyable time, and we thank you for choosing Coconuts as your home away from home. All of our staff are looking forward to seeing you again soon, and send you our best wishes. Tofa soifua!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews