We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
15
36
20
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
36
20
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Stumbled upon this hotel by chance and what a find. Very spacous rooms with large bathroom, loads of hot water. In a nice location beside the newly paved town square.
Wonderful staff .Secure parking in a locked garage for motorcycles. excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kevinWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We asked for a room for 4, answer was that the hotel was full, minutes later she ran after us (waiting in the car still) and said someone had "just" cancelled.
This was an apartment with 2 rooms, spacious indeed but terribly decorated and looked unfinished. Kitchen had nothing at all, no water, no water boiler for make tea, no utensils, no trash bags , nothing at all. like no one has ever lived there....And this at €140/night... The rooms also had not been aired, my daughter had a mould asthma attack during the night.
The young lady (evening shift) at the reception sent us to Carnia, a really mediocre or less than that, it felt more like she's getting commission of it since we also met other hotel guests there. Not a good place to eat, presentation really poor, less than average taste.
The highlight of this hotel was the breakfast where they outdid themselves with fresh croissant, eggs, fruits and everything one expected.
The last who ran the morning shift was nice and helpful, and breakfast made it up for the sour taste the room left.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Steelandsilverrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2014

We drove into town with no reservations after dark. Didn't know anything about the town and hadn't seen accommodation, so we stopped in front of a pizza place and they said to go up a block and there's a hotel on the right. We took their affordable apartment for 4 people and enjoyed a nice breakfast. We never could figure how to sign onto the wifi and the front desk, although nice and helpful, couldn't help us with that. It seemed quiet and safe, they lock it up tight at night and it seems like a ghost town. The door to our room seemed like something you'd see on a large safe. The town has obviously seen better days a couple decades ago. The highlight of Tolmezzo was the excellent pizza that we got on the same side of the street as the hotel. The friendly girl at the desk told us where to go and it was the only really great pizza we had this trip. Oh, there was parking available on site, but not much of it, so don't count on it being available.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank purpleUnion_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is an inexpensive, clean, pleasant hotel located directly on the town square in Tolmezzo.

At one time, it was a renowned hotel with a famous dining room, but those days have gone. The generation of the family that runs the hotel today is pleasant, but bumbling.

Good points: Free enclosed parking (with a secure garage available for bicycles or motorcycles), comfortable beds, large bathrooms, courteous staff, complimentary beverages in the rooms.

Bad Points: Wi-Fi does not work well (it is a very old generation of technology that is not compatible with modern phones or computers), no wi-fi at all in the rooms (only in the common areas), no Kleenex (facial tissue) in the rooms, breakfast was quite disappointing.

Be aware that rooms which overlook the town square can be quite noisy, because the windows are not soundproof. Best to ask for a room overlooking the courtyard, not at the front of the hotel.

Also be aware that the location of this hotel is incorrectly listed on auto GPS systems that use Navteq data (as of August, 2014). Do not confuse this hotel, which is properly named 'Albergo Roma', with the "Albergo La Rosa" located on the highway at the edge of town. Navteq map data shows both hotels at the same location (edge of town, where the Albergo La Rosa is). The Trip Advisor map does show the correct location of the Albergo Roma (this hotel) in the center of Tolmezzo.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel overlooking the town square are noisy!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Found by chance asking the tourism information office as I arrived in Tolmezzo on a saturday afternoon, Albergo Roma is in the very center of the town. I was asked a very good price for a saturday night in August (€ 40), the hotel was almost empty. Tolmezzo is nothing special, as the hotel itself, but is in the very center of Carnia region (Friuli), an amazing area worth a to be visited, full of lovel landscapes, rivers, mountains, history. Albergo Roma is very simple, but the owners are superfriendly as they asked me where I was coming from with the bike, where I was supposed to go and all about my travel. And just as you exit the hotel you found the main streets just by walking, as for the bus station after 2 mins walking. There is also an inner court for parking cars, bikes, bicycles. The room was also very simple but comfortable, even if a bit noisy as just close to a bell tower. Breakfast good enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lupin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews