We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (688)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveller rating
242
308
86
32
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
308
86
32
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew ownersold world charmwholesome foodgardens are beautifuldining roomunderfloor heatingtable tenniselectric blanketsfamily hotelrelaxing breaknight staytennis courtsmorning and afternoon teaevery mealwonderful staycentral drakensberggreat family
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 688 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Nest for four days. The service was impeccable. The rooms are comfortable and private with all the basic necessities. Three full meals a day included in the price ensures that you are well fed and the food is good wholesome food too. Really a beautiful and tranquil place to stay and it's close to all activities. We got to ride bike, horse ride and run without having to travel. Highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Squadfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Nest_Hotel_R600, Manager at The Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Good afternoon Squadfox,

What an awesome review of the hotel! Thank you so much.

We hope you join us again soon!

Regards
The Nest Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Beautiful surrounds. We arrived a day early, by mistake, and we were accommodated without question. If you plan on staying at the resort through most of the day then it is value for money. We travelled most of the day so skipped out on some meals. This should be optional. The rooms need a serious face-lift and the hot water was problematic.. . . .and hairdryers need to be installed. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank malcolmcarlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Nest_Hotel_R600, Manager at The Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Good afternoon malcolmcarlyle,

Thank you so much for your feedback!

We are so glad that we were able to accommodate you with your early arrival. The longer you stay, the better!

See you soon!

Regards
The Nest Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

The Nest is a lovely stop in the Drakensberg for a family.
Lots to do - Bowls , tennis , snooker , darts and walking trails . Food exceptional. ( breakfast , tea time , lunch , tea time , dinner - all delish ! )
Staff very friendly and helpful . Small spa on site with treatments at reasonable prices. Ro

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dgrisd942103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Nest_Hotel_R600, Manager at The Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Good afternoon dgrisd942103,

Wow!! Thank you for your awesome review - glad to hear you enjoyed all the delicious food we have to offer.

Come back soon!

Regards
The Nest Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Good value for money, great facilities and location and excellent service.
Our room was a little dark and showering wasn't the best experience, but overall a good visit.
With the full board service and facilities you would not necessarily need to leave the site.
Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dave893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Nest_Hotel_R600, Manager at The Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Good afternoon dave893,

Thank you for your review! We are disappointed to hear that you had a bit of a 'shady' room!

Next time you visit, please do let us know if you have any issues as I can assure you we will try our utmost to accommodate you!

Regards
The Nest Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

The Nest is well situated so that you can visit the whole Central Drakensberg. We stayed in the garden family unit. It is very very small for even 3 people. It is a bird nest and can only be used to sleep in. You leave in the morning and come back in the evening. Even to watch television is difficult as every one needs to sit on the double bed. For us it was not a retreat just a over night stay. The bath/shower is difficult, you have to stand in a small space in the bath and after you have showered the floor on the side of the bath is totally wet and slippery even is you are cautious. The restaurant was good, the the food were good but there is space for improvement, at the buffet I called on a waiter to remove the fruit salad as the pineapple in the fruit salad had dark spots which were not cut out, my daughters fish had fish bones and my husband had same scales, but over all nice. Our waiter Ncami was very friendly and excellent, we did enjoy being served by her.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Petra152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Nest_Hotel_R600, Manager at The Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Good afternoon Petra152,

Whilst we strive to accommodate all of our guests, we also realize that we cannot be everyone's cup of tea!

We will be sure to pass your note onto your waitress, Ncami.

Regards
The Nest Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews