We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
89
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
89
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trout fishing new zealand the entire staff hunting experience wonderful stay three nights safari camp horse ride accommodations lodge guests nz luxury kiwi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2023

My wife and I stayed in 3 first class lodges during our 2 week stay in NZ and Poronui was our favorite among excellent competition. The physical accommodations are first rate, the food is simple but beautifully prepared using outstanding ingredients and the entire staff is fabulous. They went above and beyond to make our stay as pleasant as possible. If we get the chance to revisit NZ we will definitely return to Poronui.

Room tip: Driving from Auckland airport to Poronui is very pleasant alternative to flying to Taupo and then driving the remainder of the way.
Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lionel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2022

Poronui Lodge was one of the most incredible experiences. My husband and I travel extensively and we had the opportunity take a 3 day weekend from our intense working schedule and were looking for rest. I happened upon Poronui Lodge and it had availability. I was in luck. We do not hunt, fish or horse ride but the location and the idea of sharing dinner with others etc., appealed. Off we went and boy we were blown away. The location, the food, and more importantly the staff and the service were as perfect and as excellent as you could ever wish to have. We want to say the biggest biggest thank you to CLAIRE, BEN & LISA who made our stay so exceptional. We will be back. We loved every single moment of our experience, including the Safari Camp night ! 100/100.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2022

We have lived in New Zealand for 18 years and have never experienced hospitality to the level which Poronui offers. It is so classy but in an understated kiwi way, both in terms of welcome, service, accomodation, food and of course the best trout fishing in the world!
Claire, Lisa, Steve and Dave were all so professional, welcoming, relaxed and really made an effort to get to know us in the three nights and two days of our stay.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 269philt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2022

Staying at the Safari Camp is a luxury experience like no other.
The roaring of the Mohaka rapids is magnificent & soporific
You're on your own, but you're well looked after, with menus that you cook yourself

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim_N-U
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 November 2020 via mobile

Poronui is an outdoors Gem.
Spectacular access to great fly fishing, hiking and biking . The service level is personal and delightful with a genuine concern to make sure all your needs are looked after and your experience is world class.
The Guides for all activities are knowledgeable and top of their fields.
Accommodation is nice and functional , but this is not a place where you want to stay in your room. There is much to do and a haven for the outdoors.
The food is as good as you will find in any exclusive foody lodge and it’s plentiful.
The staff and management ensure you will have. Wonderful stay.
It’s easy to see why many international guests have been returning year after year.
We will be back soon.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Rm1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews