We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
189
114
51
48
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
114
51
48
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water taxi glow worms pizza abel tasman standard room sea shuttle superior suite private balcony national park tame eels low tide remote location family room your luggage new zealand beautiful place beautiful beach
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Just spent two wonderful nights in this amazing lodge. Caught the Able Tasman boat from Kaiteriteri in which a crew member gave a great commentary on our way to Awaroa Beach. A 20 minute walk took us along the beach then into the trees to the lodge. It blended so well into its surroundings. Our room was very large and spacious with a large sitting area and good size deck which over looked the wetlands. The king size bed very comfortable and a large bathroom completed the area. From the bed one looked straight out to the wetlands and hills. The menu and wine menu were outstanding. Chef Tim and his crew make 5✳️ + food. The dining room staff were outstanding in service and friendliness . Special mention to Justyne . The lodge and rooms very warm...large lounges to sit in with fireplaces. Large areas outside to sit. A experience not to miss.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank whit402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwaroaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Awaroa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

Hi Whit402, thank you for your fantastic comments, especially about our chef Tim and his team who work very hard to offer exceptional meals in such a remote location. We do agree that Abel Tasman Sea Shuttles offer a great introduction to the National Park. We hope to welcome you back to the lodge again in the future. Many thanks, Awaroa Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at this wonderful lodge (resort) the only ways in and out are by boat, plane, chopper or a very long hike as part of the Abel Tasman trail.

We chose to fly in from Blenheim (Pelorous air) which was an incredible experience! 30 mins of breathtaking beauty ... the view of the National Park and it’s beaches was amazing. Worth every single dollar and an experience of a lifetime!

We were personally greeted on the airstrip by Gill the general manager who took us to re rotini, checked us in and gave us a tour! What service!!! A bottle of champagne awaited us in our room. How wonderful (it was our honeymoon)

This place is incredible! Do as much or as little as you like.

Walk, hike, kayak, swim in the sea or just graze on sensational local produce with a glass of wine. We did all of these things! So much fun. A real highlight was the night walk to see the glow worms (wow) and feeding the eels!

The rooms are great, service is exceptional. clearly Gill and her team love what they do, and they do it so well!!

The food is fantastic, local, tasty as is the wine!

We loved every single moment here. I just wish it was longer! We will be back! I cannot recommend a stay here enough!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank karenzals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwaroaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Awaroa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

Hi Karenzals, congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for choosing to stay at Awaroa Lodge for your honeymoon. We are so delighted that we could help make your honeymoon such a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back again, maybe for your anniversary! Many thanks, Awaroa Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Four of us, all experienced women travelers, stayed for three days and nights at the Awaroa Lodge in Abel Tasman National Park. It was absolute heaven in an already heavenly place. The lodge is managed by Jill, an energetic, friendly woman full of personality and obviously someone who takes her managerial duties seriously. The cabin where we stayed was perfectly appointed, with very comfortable beds, tea, coffee, a great deck for relaxing in the sun and all was immaculate. Best of all was the camaraderie we experienced with Jill and the staff and the sumptuous meals at the lodge restaurant, an open room, with windows on three sides, so we could enjoy the peaceful outdoor environment while eating comfortably in an enclosed space. It was such fun getting to know everyone and having daily conversations about our adventures in Abel Tasman. For anyone who likes the comfort of a hotel within a natural, remote setting, free of cars, lots of people and the general cacaphony of a populated area, check out the Awaroa Lodge. You will love it!

Room tip: We had a larger cabin, with a loft for extra beds. This would be perfect for a family or group.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranastasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

This is one of the only lodges on the Abel Tasman hiking track. What a gift to hikers. The lodge is elegant and the rooms are nice and big. The food was excellent, maybe a bit overpriced but they are in the middle of nowhere. The service is excellent. You are in a really special place. I do wish they had more variety of beers. Craft beers are not for everyone. They sent us with a picnic lunch for our day on the boat which was nice but again pretty pricey. Overall if you are in the area this is a place to check out!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brodis01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We booked a superior room on the wetlands side, gorgeous well appointed room, comfy bed and shower for 2! Breakfast, lunch and dinner were really good and well priced - very friendly helpful staff. They are well organised for helping you start or finish your Abel Tasman Walk.

Room tip: Superior room on the wetlands side
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DeborahB10626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews