We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Abel Tasman Day trip
161

Book in advance
from
$375.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Abel Tasman Coast Track
from $375.00
More Info
from $110.00
More Info
from $9,460.00
More Info
Kayak & Walk
146 Reviews
from $190.00
More Info
Reviews (936)
Filter reviews
936 results
Traveller rating
770
138
24
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
770
138
24
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bark bay low tide water taxi abel tasman great walk day hike mutton south island beautiful scenery starting point hut track awaroa anchorage beaches totaranui doc
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 936 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2019

I've walked the track before several times, but this was the first with my husband and now-6yo. We found the level of busyness just right in April - plenty of people, but not crowded.

Remember when planning your trip to do so with the tide timetables in hand - several people we befriended had to change their plans on the fly because the tides were at the wrong time of day to get them to water taxis at Awaroa / Totaranui.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Amelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2019

While I didn't walk the entire trek, I did wander down the trail for a km or two to check things out. Our hostel is near here and this was a perfect place to take a morning walk. The tread is smooth, several interesting interpretive signs, and well maintained.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank CFEIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2019 via mobile

Magnificent hike with amazing beaches and bays to marvel yourself with different sceneries and views. The track is not hard, anyone can do it. You can probably get to Anchorage Bay if you start at least after lunch, and you'll have enough time to stop in each spot and take some picture as I did. That way you get to watch the sunset when you comeback, or you can stay at a campsite.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank F1952TBfranciscof
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2019

Golden sand estuary and beach amongst the coastal forest, in NZ's sunniest spot. We got dropped from Marahou to Anchorage on the aqua taxi to do the Canyoning - highly recommended - and walked from there, staying at Anchorage, Bark Bay and Awaroa Glamping (very cool). The DOC huts are great - remember to bring your own food, places and cooking gear. You can camp or stay in the hut dorms. Very tidy and nice facilities. If you want to enjoy the walk - put your heavy gear on the aqua taxi to drop off at your next stop, they do this all the time for a small fee.
The highest elevation is only about 120m, the track follows a contour between the beaches and about 60m most of the time.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2019

Starting on Anchorage beach, which you reach by taxi boat, the track is not too difficult and allows one to have magnificent views over the several beaches along the coastline, some of which you can actually go to. Pictures may speak louder than words in regards to describing what it feels like to walk along the coast surrounded by natural beauty ...

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Iolanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews