We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Review Highlights
Great option for boating and hiking option in Abel Tasman Park

A great company to book a boat and/or hike option. The hikes along the coast require a boat to get... read more

Reviewed 10 May 2024
TonyC_Austin
,
Austin, TX
Perfect Tasman Experience

Beyond expectations. Sarah our guide was absolutely fabulous! Interesting funny informative and so... read more

Reviewed 10 May 2024
Rachel B
Read all 1,125 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Abel Tasman National Park
More Info
More Info
More Info
Reviews (1,125)
Filter reviews
1,125 results
Traveller rating
882
161
36
31
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
882
161
36
31
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews split apple rock bay lodge medlands beach national park kayak trip walking trip guided walk abel tasman self guided great trip water taxi picnic lunch recommend this trip adele island first night beautiful scenery great walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,125 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2024 via mobile

The two of us had a lovely 2.5 days walking through the Abel Tasman Park on the Coastal track.
Day 1.
Drove to Motueka to the Wilson’s office where we picked up the bags to use for the overnight stays and were briefed by Phil and Jade, our guides. Left the car secure at Riwaya and went by coach transfer to Kaiteriteri
Caught one of the Wilson’s boats up the coast to the start. Stopped to view Split Apple Rock and the seal island and to drop others off.
Dropped on to the beach. (No wet feet!) and had a 2 hour 7.5k walk to Awaroa including a walk at low tide across the Estuary. Stayed in Meadowbank Eri lodge. , a replica of the original farmhouse. Dinner with our fellow walkers was good and wine and beer is available to buy.
Day 2. Just over 20km in three sections with food, water and swim stops. Quite a lot of ups and downs but fine if you are reasonably walking fit and spectacular views and beaches. Overnight at Torrent Bay.
Day 3 Short boat trip around the headland (due to tides) and 13k walk before being picked up at marahau at 15.00 to go and get our car. Again stops for drink breaks food and swims for those that wanted.

The trip seems quite expensive for two nights but you get a great boat trip with commentary on the sights and history, 2 nights accommodation, food and two knowledgable guides who talk you through the flora and fauna.
We had a lovely group and met some lovely people from NZ, Australia, US and UK.

Thanks to Phil and Jade, the staff at both lodges and the back office team who organised all. Wilsons is a small family company with great client service.

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank paulgresham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson Team Member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Thank you for your comprehensive review. It is not easy to offer modern comforts in our wilderness lodges with no access to urban utilities. As you acknowledge, our staff do a great job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2024

The Abel Tasman park is amazing. I was pleased to have chosen a kayak & hike as I got the best of both worlds. I booked the 3 day, 2 night however I thought it was actually 3 nights & whilst the trip was great, I think it is a little overpriced at $NZD 1900, £950 for 2 nights. The lodges were ok but in fact, the 2nd lodge whilst having an amazing outlook had a lot of noise in the rooms due to wood movement & therefore I didn't get much sleep.

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank Kaye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson Team Member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Thank you for your feedback. We will have more information in our rooms about the technical, environmental, legal and social aspects required to offer modern comforts in our wilderness lodges. We have ear plugs in every room for light sleepers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2024

Professional operation coupled with sincere Interest in the walkers made this such a great experience superb food( too much!)
Some foam rollers would be very welcome after a long day hiking.

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson Team Member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Thank you for reviewing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2024 via mobile

The information I got from leaflets and on the phone was great. The boats are easy to access and the operation was smooth and well organised. Lovely to get a beer on board on the way back! I booked the 3 day pass which meant I attended the ticket office in Kaiteriteri each day, Tui at the office was an absolute delight, friendly, helpful and even remembered my name! Thanks Tui 😊

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank 272alisonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson team member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Thank you. We agree that Tui is a 5 star host.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2024 via mobile

We did the three day full walk starting in the north at Wainui
The walk was amazing helped by great sunshine.
We did self guided staying in two lodges owned and run by Wilson’s
Chefs Amanda and David were so kind and helpful and all our meals and pic nics were delicious.
There was a guided party on the same trip and their guide Fin was amazing and very knowledgeable on local flora and fauna.
Can’t recommend this company and staff am enough. Everyone very efficient but done in a friendly manner

Date of experience: January 2024
Thank AdrianM496
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson team member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

Thank you for reviewing our 3-Day All the Way trip. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews