We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Exceptional and fun guided walk

Sarah was a wonderful guide and educator for our group walking from Tonga Quarry to Medlands Beach... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
KWRoberts
,
Boston, Massachusetts
Great day out

We did the half-day cruise from Kaiteriteri along the coast and back again, without going ashore... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
evets1232016
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 1,114 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Abel Tasman National Park
from $358.00
More Info
from $170.00
More Info
from $110.00
More Info
from $220.00
More Info
Reviews (1,114)
Filter reviews
1,114 results
Traveller rating
872
160
36
31
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
872
160
36
31
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews split apple rock bay lodge medlands beach national park kayak trip walking trip guided walk abel tasman self guided great trip water taxi picnic lunch recommend this trip adele island first night beautiful scenery great walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 1,114 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2023 via mobile

Booked this as a tour. All it was is a water taxi dropping people at different places along the coast.
We were packed on like sardines until people started departing.
I originally booked the BBQ lunch tour which had been pulled from the services, therefore left with the 9:20 so called tour.
Very Disappointed.

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank AAkimt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson Team Member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2023

We're sorry your trip with us didn't meet your expectations. March is a very busy time of year and many people would have disembarked after the first 30 minutes of the cruise. The reservations team would have explained why the BBQ lunch was unavailable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2023 via mobile

From the time we arrived at Wilson’s at Marahau Sarah and Kevn the guides were very helpful and obliging. Sarah was very helpful with giving us advice for our self guided walk and when we joined the guided walk she was very informative. Kevin was also very helpful and informative as well when we were kayaking. Our accommodation and meals were excellent.

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank N2210WOjoannef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson Team Member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2023

Thank you for your review. As you note, our guides are there to help, whether you choose self-guided or not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2023

Great trip and very informative. Service outstanding. Very well organised and they stick to the timetabl which is refreshing. Very clear instructions. Loved hiking in the Abel Tasman. I’ll be back to do more. Highly recommend

Date of experience: March 2023
1  Thank RobynGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson Team Member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2023

Thank you. We'd love to have the opportunity to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2023

Our family did the 3 day self guided walk with Wilsons Abel Tasman first week of March. Our 1 year old and 3 year old came with us in backpacks and Grandma had our lunches in her backpack. We have a good level of fitness and the kids have spent a bit of time in the backpack so are comfortable to spend long periods sitting on our backs.

Day 1 we walked from Marahau to Torrent Bay (16km) and was achievable but a big walk and big day. Our backpacks were approximately 18-20kg. Started walking at 11.30am, stopped at Apple Tree Bay for a swim (1.5hr stop) and we arrived at Torrent Bay lodge at 5.30pm.
Day 2 we thankfully decided to reduce the walking down to 7km and catch a water taxi from Torrent Bay to Tonga Quarry Campsite. We spent 2.5hrs at Onetahuti Bay which was amazing then walked to Meadowbank Homestead at Awaroa Bay. The walk was significantly steeper and harder than Day 1 so we were grateful to only walk 7km.
Day 3 we were unable to do the walk from Awaroa to Totaranui due to a 2hr walking time limit to get there (water taxis at each end of the walk determining the 2hr limit). So instead our guides advised us to take water taxi back to Anchorage and do the loop walk to Te Pukatea Bay which was an easy walk and beautiful beach swim spot.

The accommodation was perfect and catered well for our 1yr olds with cots provided at both Torrent Bay Lodge and Meadowback Homestead. Hot showers, comfy large beds and plenty of towels and toiletries to recover from the big walks.
Cold beer, cider and wine was great at the bar.
The food was delicious with good menu selection and really thoughtful meals specially for the children. The lunches provided were also great for everyone.

Recommendations for people thinking of doing this experience with young children - take LOTS of snacks and allow enough time for plenty of stops. You definitely need a good base level of fitness to do this walk with heavy backpacks on.
Good footwear is critical as there are steep sections of the walk which are slippery due to loose stones on the track. A walking stick would have been helpful to maintain stability going downhill with the extra weight on the back.
Take lots of water - we carried about 4L and never had any left over once we reached camp each night so probably wasn't enough.

The water taxi are really safe and easy to onboard with children - this was not a concern.
There were no carseats or seatbelts in the Wilsons transfer bus so children sat on our laps.

The guides were really helpful and although we did the 'self guided walk' this time we would recommend having a guide for the walk with children next time. The best way to ensure you safely reach your destination in reasonable time.

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank AnnalenaWelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson Team Member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2023

Thank you for such a detailed description of your trip. The Wilson family's goal it to introduce other families to the joys of outdoor adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2023 via mobile

I booked the 5 day walk and kayak tour, it was a great trip. With this trip it was the best of both worlds. The accommodation, food and staff were fantastic.

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank KellyB5746
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson Team Member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2023

Thank you for rating us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews