We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Review Highlights
Great option for boating and hiking option in Abel Tasman Park

A great company to book a boat and/or hike option. The hikes along the coast require a boat to get... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
TonyC_Austin
,
Austin, TX
Perfect Tasman Experience

Beyond expectations. Sarah our guide was absolutely fabulous! Interesting funny informative and so... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Rachel B
Read all 1,125 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Abel Tasman National Park
from $375.00
More Info
from $170.00
More Info
from $110.00
More Info
from $220.00
More Info
Reviews (1,125)
Filter reviews
1,125 results
Traveller rating
882
161
36
31
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
882
161
36
31
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews split apple rock bay lodge medlands beach national park kayak trip walking trip guided walk abel tasman self guided great trip water taxi picnic lunch recommend this trip adele island first night beautiful scenery great walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 1,125 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2023 via mobile

We had the best time walking the Abel Tasman track with our fabulous and friendly guides, Liana snd Hazel. We don’t usually do guided tours but with the tidal changes and needing to do river crossings it felt a lot safer with Liana and Hazel. We also got to do some kayaking in the estuaries which was fabulous. The accommodation was five star, the meals were delicious and we loved our packed lunches. We loved meeting other fellow travellers who were also keen to hike the track. This is a walk of a lifetime and we loved it. .

Date of experience: February 2023
Thank AustraliaFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HLHAbeltas, Wilson Team Member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2023

Thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed the trip and appreciated how our guides enhance your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2023

Organised a group of 15 Aussies to do the 5 day walk and had a fantastic time! The walk was harder than we thought but that just added to the satisfaction of completing it. Our accommodation and food were excellent but the real bonus were our guides, Liana and Hazel, who were knowledgeable and very personable. The walking tracks are well formed and the views amazing. The 5 day program worked very well for us having a couple of lighter days after the long kilometre days. Booking was easy and the staff were helpful. The bonus of this walk is that you can walk as little or as much as you like. Some members of our group came into the walk carrying injuries so they were able to still be part of our group and use the water taxis when they felt they couldn’t walk the whole section rather than have to opt out of the trip. We had lots of fun, laughs and made new friends along the way

Date of experience: February 2023
Thank F4356TJkerryh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darryl W, Wilson family member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2023

Thank you. Our team also enjoyed hosting your group. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2023

Our trip started at 10.30 and we were back at 16.00. A very good day. First and last the sailing along the coastline - you leave the boat on a little beach - and we walked for nearly 2 hours on a trail, could enjoy our lunch (you have to bring all by yourself) and do a little swimming - and 3 hours later you were picked up by the ship again - perfect for us.
The trail was "moderate", so we think all physically fit persons can walk it in time.

Date of experience: January 2023
Thank Roar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darryl W, Wilson family member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2023

Thank you for rating us with a great description of one of our cruise and walk trips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2023

My family and I were supposed to go on the 3-day self-guided walk around Christmas 2022. After having been picked up by Wilson's bus, and dropped off at their base in Motueka, and having listened to the Health and Safety briefing, a commotion started between one member of our group and the bus driver at the back of the room. One member of our group didn't feel very well and was questioned by the bus driver whether he had taken a COVID test. He hadn't and was asked to take one straight away. Unfortunately the test was positive. We had not expected this, given that he had recently tested negative and he suffers from hayfever. However the bus driver accused our group of lying and that we had knowingly tried to smuggle a COVID case onto the tour.
We were then asked to leave the room immediately while Wilson's discussed what to do with our group. No one else in our group was asked to test, but as the rest of us weren't showing any symptoms, we were advised that we would still be allowed to join the tour. We found this suggestion perplexing, as anyone of us could also have had COVID. It also didn't sit right with us to leave a family member behind over Christmas, with no accommodation options.
The only help Wilson's offered was to organise a taxi back to Nelson and the advice that we might be able to get a refund. This was not the case. We were told that by hopping on that bus, we had started the trip and that there was no refund possible. After following up with an email, we received the answer that they were impressed with our loyalty and that they would offer a 20% discount, if we book with them before 31 December 2024. This is ridiculous and shows a lack of empathy.

Unless you feel like wasting $8400 for a bus ride, some cheap bags and camping cups, and to be treated poorly, I cannot recommend Wilson's at all.

Date of experience: December 2022
3  Thank Anna Elisabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darryl W, Wilson family member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2023

I'm sorry that your group were angry enough to write two similar complaints. I hear your disappointment but my response is the same. There is a social and legal imperative that we must follow to protect others. Christmas Day is no exception. Your friend had recently arrived from Germany, was obviously unwell and suspected Covid so had been testing prior to joining us. On arrival our team spotted the full blown covid symptoms and asked that he test again. This was greeted with a verbal outburst; our team separated your group as direct contacts of a positive covid carrier. Obviously, there was concern for and by our other guests that had just spent 45 minutes travelling in the same coach with you.

We then had a conversation with your group, advising that the active case could not travel and would have to isolate for 7 days. We encouraged the rest of your group who were displaying no symptoms to continue their trip with a regime of frequent testing. Full cancellation conditions would apply if you chose to not travel.

At the time of booking, you confirmed agreement to our terms and conditions that includes recommendations for travel insurance. Cancellation fees on the day of travel would have applied whether you boarded the bus or not. If you had taken travel insurance, this only covers active covid cases and one support person. Your group decided that all six of you would not proceed, hence our comment of loyalty, despite the financial implications that you were aware of.

Businesses providing good value experiences cannot underwrite guests travel and health events, and we must consider the safety of all of our guests. Your negative review impacts on our team who had left their families on Christmas day to try to create a wonderful holiday for our guests. No one wants to go home with Covid as the family present.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2023

I am extremely disappointed and disgusted with the service provided by Wilsons Abel Tasman. Our trip was abruptly canceled due to one member in our group testing positive for COVID-19 on the first day.

The way they handled the situation was completely unacceptable. Once everyone realized one of our members had covid, (we had not left Wilsons Base camp yet) their diver rather agitated gets us all outside and explains that one person has Covid.
Shortly after one member of our group is asked to recollect our bags from the main seating area, while a room full of people who have been told about our situation, stares. Wilsons didn't bother to move these travelers from the room, showing a complete lack of concern for others' safety and our privacy.

Wilsons Abel Tasman didn't aid at all with any alternative accommodation over Christmas, even though we had booked three nights with them, they only paid for a taxi to dump us off in Nelson. They kindly informed us that we wouldn't get any refund of our $8,400.00 because we caught the 40-minute bus ride to their base, which they considered all costs incurred. Yes, I understand you cannot resell but you have fewer people and even more so you showed zero compassion.

They showed no sympathy or understanding of our situation. To quote, Wilsons were "all impressed with your group loyalty in all pulling out despite the cost." not that we knew it was zero refund at time well played for telling us we could email and discuss the issue. Moreover, who would leave an infected family member to spend Christmas alone?
As mentioned we were told at the time we could email to discuss a refund, I guess this was to get rid of us, but Wilsons quickly declined that attempt. They have 'kindly' offered a 20% discount if we decide to travel with them prior to 31 December 2024...

To top it all off, the driver of the $8,400.00 bus ride accused us (and the infected individual) of knowingly bringing someone who has covid, and that we were trying to hide it, even though the positive person suffers from extreme hay fever, not to mention they were tested two days prior and were negative. If only he'd had asked first.
In hindsight yes we should have tested that morning but nothing was out of the ordinary, as the individual was always blocked up. However, Wilsons gets away with this by stating the Terms and Conditions. Thanks for your consideration, can't break any T&C's, not when money is on the line.

While I understand the need to keep their staff safe, and travelers safe, Wilsons couldn't care less about what happened to us after they got rid of us. There was simply zero empathy and in the end, it was truly a horrible experience I wouldn't wish anyone to go through.

The company's poor handling of the situation and complete lack of customer care is unacceptable. I would not recommend Wilsons Abel Tasman to anyone, ever.

Date of experience: December 2022
1  Thank BornNZ85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darryl W, Wilson family member at Wilsons Abel Tasman, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2023

I hear your disappointment but there is a social and legal imperative that we must follow to protect others. Christmas Day is no exception. Your friend had recently arrived from Germany, was obviously unwell and suspected Covid so had been testing prior to joining us. On arrival our team spotted the full blown covid symptoms and asked that he test again. This was greeted with a verbal outburst; our team separated your group as direct contacts of a positive covid carrier. Obviously, there was concern for and by our other guests that had just spent 45 minutes travelling in the same coach with you.

We then had a conversation with your group, advising that the active case could not travel and would have to isolate for 7 days. We encouraged the rest of your group who were displaying no symptoms to continue their trip with a regime of frequent testing. Full cancellation conditions would apply if you chose to not travel.

At the time of booking, you confirmed agreement to our terms and conditions that includes recommendations for travel insurance. Cancellation fees on the day of travel would have applied whether you boarded the bus or not. If you had taken travel insurance, this only covers active covid cases and one support person. Your group decided that all six of you would not proceed, hence our comment of loyalty, despite the financial implications that you were aware of.

Businesses providing good value experiences cannot underwrite guests travel and health events, and we must consider the safety of all of our guests. Your negative review impacts on our team who had left their families on Christmas day to try to create a wonderful holiday for our guests. No one wants to go home with Covid as the family present.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews