We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another amazing retreat at Colley Farm”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Farmhouse Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Congleton, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Elizabeth...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another amazing retreat at Colley Farm”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Once again we had a relaxing stay at one of Colley Farm cottages while work was being done on our home nearby. This time we were at Farmhouse Cottage. We knew we would simply walk in and settle down; and we did! Brenda and Tom have excelled in combining the old with the new. We found modern appliances in a traditional farm cottage setting. A marriage made in heaven! The cottage was spacious and had everything we needed to make it home from home. It was a haven.

Date of stay: June 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
Many thanks for your lovely comments - it was good to have you back! We are really pleased to read that you appreciate the hard work that we constantly input to maintain the cottage to a spotless condition - and also the mix of old and new - towards hopefully providing the best of both worlds whilst retaining the charm of the age of the cottage!
kind regards Brenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C
Egham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unable to fault!”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Beautiful cottage, extremely well equipped (even to the baby dishwasher) and very well presented. Excellent car parking. Brenda was friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Difficult to single out any one feature
Liked least: If it had a downside the road can get a bit busy at times - but never enough to be intrusive
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind review of our Farmhouse Cottage, the ample parking area and me! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
best regards Brenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theboneys
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“. ”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A lovely cottage with a great view from the window you hardly knew it was just off a main road. Spotlessly clean with spacious shower room and a bed so comfy we didn't want to get out of it! Not to mention how amazing the bedding smelt! Ideally situated for exploring. WiFi available but patchy at times, can't be helped though and it didn't bother us. Shops are a 5/10 minute drive, supermarkets and takeaways also. Everything you could possibly need was provided. The only thing we could think of to improve, and it's purely personal, is to have a TV in the bedroom upstairs
. Thank you for a great stay we would love to return and will definitely recommend.

Date of stay: May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2020
Thank you for your lovely review of our cottage. We do our utmost to ensure a consistently high standard of cleanliness - as this is what we would expect ourselves! We now have superfast fibre broadband to improve the wi-fi for our guests and are happy to install a television in the bedroom. We hope to meet you again. kind regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drew168
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb Cottage”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Farmhouse Cottage is a lovely character cottage, fitted out and equipped to a very high standard. The cottage has everything you need for a relaxing and enjoyable stay, including a great shower and a super comfy bed. It is ideally located for touring Cheshire, Staffordshire and Derbyshire with lots of places locally to visit or to simply just enjoy the scenery. Also some great walks from the door, through the village or along the canal and Bosley Locks. We have stayed in lots of cottages and rate this as one of the best. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and very comfortable accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
We are so pleased that you would 'highly recommend' our cottage. We work hard in ensuring attention to detail in all aspects and it is so rewarding to hear that our efforts are appreciated. Our aim is always to provide the perfect holiday base.
We're really grateful for your very kind comments
with best wishes from Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen J
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to Stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was our second stay at this cottage. Its a very comfortable well equipped cottage. Very well situated for walking. Brenda and Tom are very welcoming and make you feel at home.

Date of stay: March 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.