We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended, perfect for relaxation”
The Old Granary.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Granary.
Front door to cottage Devon cream tea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The Old Granary.
Front door to cottage
Devon cream tea
Granary lounge
Wood burning stove
Kitchen
Morning coffee
King size bed
Spiral staircase
relax on the balcony
En-suite shower room
steamers in the private garden
Views from the garden and balcony
Welcome flowers from the gardens
Some essentials provided in welcome pack
Morning coffee.
Done roaming!
Sunset from the Granary bedroom window.
Uninvited guests!
Relax in the garden.
Owlacombe Mill.
Owlacombe Mill thanks to google earth.
The new pond is filling nicely.
February 2018 snow in the valley first since 2013.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winkleigh, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PhileasDe...
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Owlacombe Mill could be a very good place to stay; close to lots of places of interest and nestling in a beautiful valley. However, the owners omitted to tell us ahead of time that there is significant building work going on directly in front of the cottage. This was very noisy at times and very dirty in the parking space. So, not the "unspoilt, tranquil woodland" described on their website. Also, there is no wifi in the The Old Granary, contrary to the list of amenities on tripadvisor's website. My wife and I would not recommend this cottage for a tranquil stay until the building work is finished. The owners did what they could to ameliorate the situation (apart from warning us ahead of time) but our week there was overshadowed by disappointment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful area
Liked least: Building site close by
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2016
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Owlacombe. As we explained to you at the time the property across the valley is not ours and the renovation work taking place there, builders, noise and mess is beyond our control. The renovation work is near completion now but has been delayed by 8 weeks so far due to reasons again beyond our control. The Wi if in the cottage can be tempremental, 16th century cob and stone walls and a very slow internet connection in this part of North Devon certainly don't help. The joys of rural living. Farm machinery, muddy lanes and December heavy rain fall do make the parking area muddy at times. We do regularly pressure wash the area to keep the space clean. If future guests planning a stay are concerned about this review please feel free to contact us directly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farine201...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Highly recommended, perfect for relaxation”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Great location for a weekend getaway. Carol and Gareth are friendly hosts. Would definitely book again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna M
1 review
“A little bit of heaven in Devon”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in this delightful cottage. Gareth and Carol were so welcoming and able to give us lots of useful tips for things to do and places to eat in the area. As a young couple we enjoyed using the cottage as a base for various activities (coast walks, beaches etc) and yet it was lovely to know when you got back you could really relax in comfort. We loved lighting up the little wood burner to bring a really snuggly feeling. The cream tea and the wine were gratefully received and consumed with great pleasure, although not together! Thanks again for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
It was lovely to welcome you both back to Owlacombe. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, there are so many beautiful places to visit in North Devon. Lots of hidden gems. We very much look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodyJave...
Javea
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best it could be”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Having made this booking over the internet from Spain we were so pleased when we arrived to find The Old Granary, Carol and Gareth and friends. The welome we were given was as though we had been friends for years, which we hadn't. A more comfortable, homely base for a holiday you would be pressed to find. Everything you might need had been thought of as Carol and Gareth had thought of living in the cottage from the point of view of the renter rather than as the owner. It would be nice if more owners did the same. Our return is assured.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
It is always a pleasure sharing our home with such lovely guests. Thank you for your understanding with the repair work on the Mill during your stay. We are 'all' looking forward to your return in Sept. 2015.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing