We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb accommodation in the countryside and a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Front of property
View from patio area
Winter View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Llanelli, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nlazenby4...
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb accommodation in the countryside and a stones throw from glorious beaches”
Reviewed 20 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

If you are looking for a break to relax and recharge your batteries or participate in various outdoor activities such as cycling walking/hiking, or just exploring, then look no further than Gelli Hir Farm. The converted Barn, located in the Carmarthen countryside, and just a short distance away from the Pembrey and Gower coast is superb. A family friendly barn conversion, spacious, very well equipped and furnished and above all so peaceful and relaxing. Catherine and her family were so welcoming, they really made my wife and I feel at home. Don’t be afraid to pop across the yard and visit the stables, you will be made very welcome there by the stable staff and of course the resident horses. Will visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2017
It was an absolute pleasure to host you and Janette for your extended stay. Thank you for your very kind review and we hope all has gone well with your new home. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally D
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great holiday home!”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were a little trepidatious beforehand because the property is attached to the owner's home. However, we needn't have worried, Catherine and her family are amazingly welcoming and we felt at home immediately. The barn is really spacious, clean and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. We have two children, 2 and 9, and it was ideal for them. They played outside and went to see the horses whenever we were at home. There was so much to do in the area we didn't have time to do everything we had planned. The washing machine and tumble dryer were a godsend. We cooked with ease in the kitchen, and the sofa's are super comfy. We all loved our stay here and would not hesitate to book again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Gelli Hir and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Thanks Cath x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
becmark20...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Cottage Stay”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 nights at Gelli Hir Barn. The greeting we received from Catherine the owner was lovely, very friendly, but gave us privacy to unpack and find our feet. Catherine had also left us a bottle of Prosecco which we thought was a kind touch. The cottage was beautiful in stunning surroundings, very peaceful. It was extremely clean and well equipped. Everything we needed was thought of. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and want to go back again next year. Thank you Catherine for making our stay such a lovely one and hopefully see you soon. Mark and Rebecca.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2017
Thank you for your lovely review - it was a pleasure to meet you and your fab family. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area. Thanks Cath x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel B
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious property”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed in the 3 bedroom cottage at Gelli Hir for our summer holidays with 4 adults and a toddler. We were very impressed from arrival with the excellent standard in the cottage - not only was there a lot of space, but the decoration was fresh, it was clean and there were lots of extra touches (sky on TV, some books and a couple of games, a bottle of prosecco in the fridge). The location of the cottage is on a lovely farm with horses, and lots of grounds to explore. There are also 2 very friendly dogs which my daughter and friend loved playing with in the garden! Being a farm, it is a little drive anywhere, but only 15 minutes into Llanelli and 20 to the country park.
The farmer was around on the farm and was friendly, and his mother was also available if we had any issues (the farmers wife is the one who organises the bookings but we knew in advance that she wouldn't be around). They checked we were the day after we arrived and when we had one slight problem one evening they were quick to sort it.
Overall, we would definitely stay again, and found this to be excellent value and a great base for a wonderful holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review - very much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully I will get to meet you if you return to Gelli HIr in the future. Cath x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
130KathyK
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
“Felt totally at home in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

First of all the house was spacious and comfortable and had all the amenities. It was even better than the pictures show. Catherine made us feel at home and gave us information about the surrounding places to visit. We were lucky enough to have brilliant sunshine throughout our stay so we spent most of it at various beaches which were nearby at Pembrey and Burry Port and then the 2nd day we drove down to Tenby for the day. We were a family of 3 generations and we all enjoyed ourselves immensely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thank you for your very kind review - it was great to meet you and your lovely family and so glad you got to make the most of our fantastic beaches. Always welcome at Gelli Hir xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing