We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Ali Barbour's Cave Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 65 Restaurants in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$79
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: You'd be hard pushed to find a more romantic place to dine than Ali Barbour's Cave Restaurant, set inside an ancient coral cove and lit by warm candlelight. The a la carte menu specializes in seafood, international & traditional cuisine and is accompanied by a great wine-list so take your time over dinner.The Restaurant opens every day from 7pm. Reservation Required.Courtesy transfer from Hotels in Diani.Dress Code: Smart casual. No shorts, no hats.We apologize we do not allow children 6 and under.
Reviewed 11 June 2021

I can recommend this place for a special occasion. Good food, beautiful cave and lighting. Service good too. Thank you

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robertt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2021 via mobile

We had a great time at Ali Barbour's, the restaurant sent a driver for us at no extra cost who arrived well on time even though we asked for the timings to be changed.

The food was generously portioned and delicious. It was a bit more expensive than other restaurants (even upmarket ones) in the are but not by much and you are paying for the experience which is worth it.

The restaurant is beautiful, we got there at sunset and the changing colours down the cave were stunning.

The staff were friendly and attentive even with the restaurant full.

We had flambéd puddings cooked at our table which the children loved! And I had surf and turf with lobster which was one of the best cooked steaks I've ever had.

The cave isn't particularly steep to get into, it's a big, solid staircase (pictured).

Great experiance, would happily go back again and again.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank pinkincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2021

We dined here late January on a quiet weekday. The atmosphere was great, not too quiet and the dining area is beautiful. We were lucky with a perfect starry night sky.

We had the sharing platter which was very good. Everything here is at least twice the price of anywhere else that you would likely eat but sometimes you have to pay for the experience.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Journey794441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2021 via mobile

Very bad experience. We arrived couple of minutes late and they they send us back home probably because they gave our table to someone else without booking. They had a rude ways. Not recommended.

Date of visit: March 2021
5  Thank A5629IPfrancescan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2021 via mobile

Unique restaurant in a unique setting.
I had the Madagascar steak and it was perfect! Food served quickly and staff are attentive.

-You HAVE to make reservations though as it's a high-demand activity at Diani.
-My wife had the Lobster Thermador and didn't like it. I can't eat shellfish so I couldn't taste it.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank AhmedS16832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ali Barbour's Cave Restaurant also viewed

 
Diani Beach, Ukunda
Diani Beach, Ukunda
 

Been to Ali Barbour's Cave Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.