We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”
Review of Sumei

Sumei
Reserve a table
Ranked #25 of 61 Restaurants in Pukekohe
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 May 2023 via mobile

Food was tasty but each dish seemed to have loads of sauce - too much sauce in fact. Waitress was bubbly and very up beat. Got booted out as they have everyone on a time slot, they try to get at least 2 x sittings a night by the looks of things. Didn’t have time to order dessert cause we were asked to leave, such a shame as we were prepared to spend $$$, birthday girl was not impressed!!!

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank LilyMc6466
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2023 via mobile

So…may as well have got a cup of soy sauce and cup of coconut cream and ordered some sides …

Booked on a Thursday eve. Seated at the worst table despite others being available.

Waited a bit . Got a mock tail which wasn’t as ordered - sent it back and got one back that tasted just like lime juice concentrate. Was going to send back again when our drinks were comped die to wait for food.

When the best dish is tofu you have to be worried . Agedashi tofu one of my faves and actual tofu was the best thing about meal - the dashi base soup pretty strong though.

Beef rendang was overpowered by coconut and not like any rendang I’ve ever had.

Tiny piece of roti. Tiny over spicy hot chicken nibbles.

Thanks a lot Jesse Mulligan for your good review - at least the place is pretty.

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank T7920CMclairea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2023

Fun busy atmosphere and tasty sharing plates. I need gluten free food and can eat here safely - and everything tastes amazing.

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank FrancisFamilyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2022 via mobile

We went out with friends to this restaurant as other reviews were pretty positive, however our experience was disappointing.
The food quality was very good, but the portion sizes for the price was in our view not acceptable. We ordered some plain rice as well as a beef curry, yet the two came to the table at different times. When we asked the server we got a flippant response that it was because we didn’t say we wanted them together when we ordered. Surely a little initiative in the kitchen would have placed them in unison. And finally when we paid the bill, it was a bit of a shock, considering the portion sizes.
We won’t be back.

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2022 via mobile

Delicious food and awesome service. VERY accommodating of allergies, sooo many gluten free options. Can’t wait to go back!

Date of visit: September 2022
Thank Lydgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sumei also viewed

 
Pukekohe, Auckland
Pukekohe, Auckland
 

Been to Sumei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.