We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine view of the upper harbour”
Review of The Riverhead

The Riverhead
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Riverhead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$26
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Nestled on the shores of the upper Waitemata, The Riverhead is steeped in local history and was a vital part of the development of early New Zealand. Prior to The Riverhead being built on this site, Thomas Deacon, the original owner, owned a pub on the point just below where The Riverhead now stands. The early Maori used this landing point as the place to disembark and portage their waka across land to the Kumeu River to get easier access to the lands in the Far North. Early immigrants then used this same route to travel north, disembarking at Helensville and continuing by ship north via the Kaipara Harbour.
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Schools were closed because of a teachers' strike so took wife for a mid-week lunch. Restaurant moderately busy. The dining room looks directly down on a reach of the upper harbour. The outside balcony would have been even better but too wet. Service friendly and efficient. A good menu with several classic NZ dishes - a good choice for overseas friends. Prices mid-range - $140 for a three course meal for two, with a carafe of wine. We thought it was good value and will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandpiper52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, Thanks for your detailed review...yes our decks are wonderful but unfortunately weather dependant. Luckily we have a fireplace too, which is good for those cooler days...the best of both worlds! We'll look forward to seeing you again, kind regards Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2018

21st party for 15 friends and family. Staff were very friendly and professional, nothing was a problem for them. Food was excellent (set menu). Venue (Deacons kitchen) was perfect for our purposes and number of guests.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bmanbossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Deacon's Kitchen is a cool venue for a small 21st celebration with friends and family. Our set menu certainly meets the mark when it comes to larger groups like this...awesome! Hopefully we'll see you again, cheers Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Birthday meal out for us, went on steak and oyster night ,my hubby enjoyed his steak meal, i had the scallops as a main, but the chocolate dessert was outstanding. Good food great service and not rushed

Thank Molzmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Umm! that chocolate is a winner! Hand-whipped Mandarin Infused Whittaker’s 72% Chocolate Ganache, with Mandarin sorbet, yuzu, saffron, salted caramel, candied peel, say no more! see you next time....kind regards Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Meeting up with family for brunch gets hilarious when choice number 1 turns out to have shut up business,choice number 2 doesn't do brunch/lunch.
So having been going round in circles the daughter says lets go to The Riverhead. We've been there before e.g. for the son's birthday in February and it was packed and parking was crazy, so I was a wee bit hesitant, well we got parking right outside the door and the extremely helpful staff said they could fit our party of 7 in.
The food was yummy, my craving was eggs bene (haven't had any for 3 moths) was very satisfyingly filled. Coffee was excellent, service fast,what more could you ask for.
Yet another reason to stick to the west.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 19edh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

'West is Best' in our book and booming! So glad your daughter had the right idea and you came back when we weren't crazy busy! I love brunch and the way it sets a person up for the day. Hope to see you back soon, cheers Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Our meal was the best we have had in the last few years. Two of us had the scallops as a starter and the other had the hot, cheesy garlic bread which was all delicious. Our mains - flounder, ribs and beef cheek - were all beautifully cooked and presented. Our waitress was knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive and made some great recommendations. She recommended the special molten chocolate dessert and it was devine. We highly recommend this restaurant but book your table because it’s very popular - we can see why!

Thank 99tamsinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

This is exactly what our team are trying to achieve, you have made our day! Thanks so much for the wonderful review and we'll look forward to seeing you again soon...cheers Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Riverhead also viewed

 
Whenuapai, Auckland
Auckland, North Island
 

Been to The Riverhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing