We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh the choice”

The Old Cheese Shop
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

I could feel myself needed to loosen my belt off just looking at all the produce

Dozens of cheeses jam chutney crackers

Real butter and some thing for everyone's taste

Advise received on mixing the chutney wih which cheese and which local wine is best

Not to be missed if in this area

The local hotels need mini fridges for this cheese to ensure no one misses out

1  Thank Tracie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire7575, Owner at The Old Cheese Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

What a great review!
Thank you so much.
Hopefully you will call in again when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cheese shop"
in 43 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 15 reviews
"crackers"
in 11 reviews
"friendly staff"
in 8 reviews
"great selection"
in 8 reviews
"local produce"
in 5 reviews
"biscuits"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful village"
in 5 reviews
"take home"
in 4 reviews
"pretty village"
in 4 reviews
"chilli"
in 4 reviews
"sticky toffee"
in 4 reviews
"duck pond"
in 4 reviews
"huge range"
in 3 reviews
"excellent service"
in 3 reviews
"mature cheddar"
in 3 reviews
"lots of choice"
in 3 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2018

Visited Hartington again on Friday to walk Beresfordale. Called into the amazing Cheese shop after our walk. Stilton was fantastic as expected, but the Shropshire blue was equally as good. However, neither was as good as the amazing Dovedale blue! Possibly the nicest piece of cheese ive ever had. Only downside was that they are no longer selling the smoked Stilton which was out of this world when i last had some. The lady that served us was polite and friendly, and both chatty and helpful. The 3 pieces i purchased were adequate for 2 people yet the cost in total was just over £6. Cant wait to go again.

Thank craigjenkins2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire7575, Owner at The Old Cheese Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Glad you enjoyed our lovely new soft blue cheese. It recently won a gold at the International Cheese Awards!
Pleased that the selection of cheeses on offer went down well and the service was well received.
Hopefully we will see you again when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Great little cheese shop situated in the pretty village of Hartington. Plenty of choice coupled with excellent service. Well worth a visit for anyone who loves cheese.

Thank Richard2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire7575, Owner at The Old Cheese Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you very much for the kind review.
We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Excellent service. We can recommend the Harrington Stilton and Sticky Toffee Cheddar in particular. We will definitely visit again when we’re next in the area.

Thank danhuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire7575, Owner at The Old Cheese Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018

this is a truly amazing little cheese shop with an excellent selection of local cheeses, try the stilton very creamy and lovely taste they also stock a very creamy cheddar which is definitely worth buying the staff are knowledgeable and very helpful, there is also a selection of various wines worth a visit

Thank tonyaveril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire7575, Owner at The Old Cheese Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Thank you for writing such a nice review.
Glad you enjoyed our award winning stilton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Cheese Shop also viewed

Tissington, Peak District National Park
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Ilam, Peak District National Park
Winster, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Old Cheese Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing