We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Regular stop

My favourite shop. We always stop when in Hartingtion. Stilton a must buy as one of only 3... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
peakdistricttravel
,
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
via mobile
experience and feedback

Lovely little shop selling local Hartington Cheeses along with many others. In this famous place... read more

Reviewed 23 October 2018
Angela H
,
Derby, United Kingdom
Read all 179 reviews
  
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
103
65
5
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
65
5
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cheese shop well worth a visit crackers great selection friendly staff local produce take home biscuits pretty village beautiful village chilli sticky toffee duck pond huge range excellent service mature cheddar charles cotton
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Visited Hartington again on Friday to walk Beresfordale. Called into the amazing Cheese shop after our walk. Stilton was fantastic as expected, but the Shropshire blue was equally as good. However, neither was as good as the amazing Dovedale blue! Possibly the nicest piece of cheese ive ever had. Only downside was that they are no longer selling the smoked Stilton which was out of this world when i last had some. The lady that served us was polite and friendly, and both chatty and helpful. The 3 pieces i purchased were adequate for 2 people yet the cost in total was just over £6. Cant wait to go again.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank craigjenkins2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire7575, Owner at The Old Cheese Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Glad you enjoyed our lovely new soft blue cheese. It recently won a gold at the International Cheese Awards!
Pleased that the selection of cheeses on offer went down well and the service was well received.
Hopefully we will see you again when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Great little cheese shop situated in the pretty village of Hartington. Plenty of choice coupled with excellent service. Well worth a visit for anyone who loves cheese.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank CheyeneDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire7575, Owner at The Old Cheese Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you very much for the kind review.
We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Excellent service. We can recommend the Harrington Stilton and Sticky Toffee Cheddar in particular. We will definitely visit again when we’re next in the area.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank danhuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire7575, Owner at The Old Cheese Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

this is a truly amazing little cheese shop with an excellent selection of local cheeses, try the stilton very creamy and lovely taste they also stock a very creamy cheddar which is definitely worth buying the staff are knowledgeable and very helpful, there is also a selection of various wines worth a visit

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank tonyaveril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire7575, Owner at The Old Cheese Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Thank you for writing such a nice review.
Glad you enjoyed our award winning stilton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

A lovely shop selling quite a few unusual cheeses. Which you could taste before buying. They also stocked English beers and ciders and wines. Very friendly staff. It is slightly hidden away from the main centre

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank 849barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire7575, Owner at The Old Cheese Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thank you for writing such a nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews