We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace perfect peace”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Clairebai...
Central Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Peace perfect peace”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Booked Swainsley Farm and really enjoyed the stay. We arrived late afternoon and were shown directly into The Coach House. The welcome platter of cheeses, bread, butter, scones and chutneys as well as tea, coffee and fresh milk was a lovely touch and very welcome after a long journey. Chris gave us time to get unpacked then returned to run through what we would need to know for our stay. The folder in the cottage has lots of very useful information re the surrounding area and places to eat/shop. The cottage was amazing. Everything you wanted was there including a Nespresso coffee machine. The views were breathtaking and although the weather was rather wet, which meant we did not get the chance to sit out much the range of garden furniture available for use was more than enough. There was an abundance of wildlife and being a very keen but very amature photographer I loved the opportunity I had to photograph birds, horses, cows and deer. Looking into the Manifold Valley was picture perfect. We did spend a bit more on this holiday rental than we had originally planned however it was money well spent. The other two cottages on the farm were close by however you never felt as though your privacy was being invaded. Lovely walks right on the doorstep was the icing on the cake.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location and home comforts of the cottage.
Liked least: The very narrow farm road leading from Butterton to the farm.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnmcrae...
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous cottage in the peak disrict”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

excellect cottage with fabulous views of the manifold valley.the welcome tea tray with bread cheese and sones a lovely touch aswell as fresh flowers.chris and liz have thought of everything you need for your stay and helpful with local knowledge and lots of useful information in the cottage.numerous pubs with good food and plenty of walks and things to see and do .will certainly come back.lovely comfy bed .use of outdoor furnature in lovely courtyard area with lots of plants in pots giving lots of colour.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry M
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic week in a beautiful property”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed in the Haybarn in early April and had a fantastic week. Chris and Liz were very welcoming (they've thought of everything and the welcome basket of foods even though we booked last minute was very welcome), and very helpful thoughout the week.
The area is beautiful. A quieter, but stunning, part of the Peak District but still easy to get to Matlock or Buxton in the car if you want to.
The other advantage of where they are is as well as the hills there are short walks both ways from the property that are pretty flat. Great for small children!
Overall a fantastic week in a beautiful property.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbc722014
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“PERFECT”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed in the 2 bedroom Haybarn, a very thoughtful and tasteful conversion.
The location is idyllic, from the moss-covered dry stone walls to the wonderful view from the cottage and large, amply furnished outside seating area. Listen to the birdsong and watch the swallows swooping over the fields.
We couldn't find anything to fault here, and even if we had not been lucky enough to have the excellent weather during our stay we would still say PERFECT.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison E
Tadley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Old Byre Review May 2016”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This one bedroom cottage is one of three others at Swainsley Farm. We stayed there for a week and had a fantastic time. The standard of the cottage is extremely high and equipped with everything you can think of and more. The views from the cottage are outstanding including the most amazing view from the bed! The owners Chris and Liz couldn't have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We were greeted with delicious local cheeses, bread and scones on arrival which was a lovely and welcoming touch. We will definitely be back in the future.

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.