We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in tranquil village”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Birch Cottage

Birch Cottage and Beech Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Birch Cottage and Beech Cottage
Birch Cottage Birch Cottage lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Birch Cottage and Beech Cottage
Birch Cottage
Birch Cottage lounge
Birch Cottage lounge with log burner
Birch Cottage lounge
Birch Cottage kitchen
Birch Cottage kitchen
Birch Cottage kitchen
Birch Cottage kitchen
Birch Cottage king size bedroom
Birch Cottage king size bedroom
Birch Cottage single bedroom (actually a double bed but with access from one side only)
Birch Cottage bathroom
Birch Cottage bathroom
Birch Cottage family bedroom
Birch Cottage family bedroom
Birch Cottage family bedroom + en suite sink & wc
Birch Cottage garden
Birch Cottage garden
Birch Cottage kitchen
Birch Cottage and Beech Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KrisDMDM
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in tranquil village”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a marvelous break with 6 in Birch Cottage. Weather was gorgeous throughout, and the area one of the most beautiful we have been to in England. The cottage was very comfortable and clean. the owners welcoming and helpful, and we loved every minute of our holiday. The upstairs rooms are spacious, downstairs feels a bit smaller, but we had no shortage of space with a group of 6 (4 adults and 2 teenagers).

Hartington, the village, is an oasis of tranquility. We did night walks in the village, walked to Pilsbury, in Dovedale, and went up to Edale (the high Peak District) and the surrounding area one day. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area is absolutely beautiful
Liked least: Small detail, but the door of the front room (lounge) kept the light out from outside, would be nice if there was more light coming in, but may be impossible to change.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the cottage comfortable, clean and suitable for your group. As you say it is a beautiful area, with a wide variety of attractions and walks close by.
Fred & Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage for a family break”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just come back from a lovely 4 days in the Peak District staying at Birch Cottage. The cottage had everything you could need, very clean and comfortable. The village was lovely & local pub do a fantastic Sunday lunch. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thank you Victoria for your kind review.
I am pleased you found the cottage comfortable, clean and well equipped. We do take pride in the standards we offer. As you say, Hartington is a lovely village and well situated to visit the Peak District area. Hopefully we may see you again at some stage. Best wishes, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NellW1975
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect place, wonderful cottage.”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Prompt responses to emails put my mind at rest even before we arrived. A warm, personal welcome awaited us with a complimentary bottle of prosecco and chocolates.
The cottage was impeccably clean and well kept, was well resourced, warm and comfortable.
I would have no hesitation in highly recommending Birch cottage to others.
A huge thank you to Lesley for making our Christmas stay such a success!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the cottage clean, warm and comfortable. I always try to add the personal touch for our guests to help to make their stay as enjoyable as possible.
Best wishes, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful cottage in the Hartington - couldn't praise it more!!”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a fantastic cottage in Hartington with all the facilities you could want. The beds felt so luxurious and we loved the log fire in the living room - great to curl up with a dvd on the cold evenings. The owners were very hospitable and always kept me informed - we enjoyed our welcome tray in the sunshine on the lovely lawn in the front garden when we arrived.
Being situated in Hartington there were so many options for walking and bike rides, plus not very far from Ashbourne and Bakewell, we ran out of time to do everything we wanted. Whilst the pubs in Hartington were so full we couldn't get a table, they recommended The Royal Oak at Hurdlow (a brilliant, wide ranging menu) and The Staffordshire Knot at Sheen (small but an excellent Sunday lunch).
Would love to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It had everything you needed.
Liked least: A bit small if you had it to it's full 7 people capacity.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
Thank you for you kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the cottage so comfortable and warm. As you say, Hartington is ideally situated for many walks, which can be started from the cottage door. I hope you found the walk information provided in the cottage useful to you. Hope to see you again in the future. Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PattieDub...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage in a charming village”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We are just back from this wonderful cottage. I was there with my husband and 2 year old daughter. We had the most amazing trip and fantastic weather. Arrived to the cottage to a warm welcome from the owner Fred. Biscuits, tea, coffee and milk had been left for us in the kitchen, lovely start to the trip after being up at 5am for the flight over. The cottage is really cosy and so clean, the place looked like it was freshly painted the week before. Kitchen diner was ideal for breakfasts and the sitting room was very cosy for the evenings.

It suited our toddler brilliantly. There was a door that closed off the stairs and so she was free to run around safely downstairs and well able for the step into sitting room. Hot water available all the time for baths and showers. Lovely views of the village from upstairs. The other bonus outside is there is a gate that closes the property off from the road and so very safe for our toddler. We also used the bbq the last night and had dinner in the garden.

Hartington is a great base for exploring the area. We were just there for 3 nights. We went to Bakewell, Matlock, Chestnut Centre in Chapel-En-Frith. Would recommend Bakewell highly, lovely town and playground is very nice. Ricci's italian restaurant has very nice food there too.

Overall we had a brilliant trip and would definitely like to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness and garden
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the cottage to be clean and comfortable. We do try to make the cottage child friendly for guests, it is nice for parents to be able to relax. With the lovely weather, it was ideal to enjoy the BBQ in the garden. Many thanks, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;