We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to come home to”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bears Barn

Bears Barn, Hartington - Teddy friendly
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bears Barn, Hartington - Teddy friendly
Bears Barn entrance. Cycle store in in under stairs cupboard. Lounge big enough for two, have a sofa each
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Bears Barn, Hartington - Teddy friendly
Bears Barn entrance. Cycle store in in under stairs cupboard.
Lounge big enough for two, have a sofa each
We have had many lovely comments about our comfy bed.
Kitchen diner
Day out in Hartington for our bears.
Bedroom to rear, bookcase with local area guides, eclectic books, selection of games and jigsaws.
Our lovely stained glass window, based on an old postcard of Alport, near Youlgrave.
Bathroom with electric shower over bath
Lounge with log burner for a cosy night.
Ready for dinner.
Park your car, unload, relax and enjoy the countryside.
Autumn leaf carpet
Village centre a very short walk away.
Longnor Fish and Chip Shop our favourite.
Lyme Park a lovely place to visit for Pride and Prejudice fans. 40mins drive
Calke Abbey
Hartington Village
Howden Dam - you can hear the water roaring
Manifold Trail provides  easy trail walking through the Valley. A short drive away.
Sheldon Church nr Bakewell
We have some lovely neighbours.
Peak Rail at Rowsley,  steam and deisel heritage trains to Matlock.
Crich Tramway Museum, good day out, near to Cromford home of the Industrial Revolution.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John R
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to come home to”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The Barn is very well set up as a place to relax in and do nothing at all or use as a base to walk or cycle the countryside. Rooms are spotless and all appliances in excellent condition. Location is the middle of an attractive small village with several pubs within100 metres or so. We have stayed there twice now spending 2 weeks each time before returning to our home in Australia after European touring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Farm produce trundling by occassionally
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about it was lovely
Liked least: No mobile phone conection in cottage. Not all bad.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Inspector...
Beds
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“This is a fantastic Home from home”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Just arrived back from what was a wonderful stay at 'Bears Barn' a real homely cottage with all mod cons nothing has been missed. It was very clean and the bed was really comfortable. The owners even left a welcome tray with biscuits and a pint of milk. Thoughtful people we will certainly return to this superb accomodation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was 1st class
Liked least: Not being able to gain access to the property until 4pm. Seemed rather late
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A S
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bears Barn as cosy as its name suggests!”
Reviewed 3 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We have just had an amazing week at Bears Barn enjoying the delightful location and the luxury of the barns facilities. The owners have provided a home from home with lots of thoughtful extras that make your stay a real pleasure. We enjoyed the local walking through the beautiful countryside which is literally right on your right door step. Do use the local shops and we would highly recommend the Rook Cafe and its delicious take away menu which is just across the road. It was our first holiday to the Peak District - we will definitely be back to stay at Bears Barn to explore even more of this lovely area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was brilliant.
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phil_mace...
Daventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage well located. Ideal for the enthusiastic walkers”
Reviewed 6 May 2013 for a stay in September 2011

My wife and I have stayed at Bears Barn several times and cannot praise it enough. It is convienently located near the start of many walks. Hartington is a charming little village and there are two pubs that both serve food, a short walk from the cottage.
Buxton and Bakewell are also only a short drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: If I had to choose, it would be only a one door access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing