We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic Cottage, Can't wait to go again!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian S
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Idyllic Cottage, Can't wait to go again!!”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed in Knowl Cottage in November 2014 and loved it so much that we have already booked to stay again this November!!
We arrived on the friday night and ate at one of the recommended local pubs which was good. On the saturday night we stayed in the cottage and found the kitchen are to be perfect for cooking and socialising in!
The walks in and around Hartington capture the stunning location it sits perfectly in and the bonus of having a seperate room for watching the sport in certainly pleased me and the other men in the group!!
The cottage certainly deserves its 5 star rating and we all found the cottage to be just perfect.
Thanks for a great stay!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of the accommodation
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue G
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely, delightful cottage which well deserves it's 5 stars. Perfectly situated in a picture postcard village. Quality accommodation where everything matches - no old, odd and mismatched crockery! Its obviously been furnished with care and thought and was spotless throughout.. The owner was on hand at a few minutes notice when we had one or two queries and nothing was too much trouble. Overall a wonderful week spent in lovely surroundings with a cosy log fire to add to the atmosphere - even though it was July ! Would certainly recommend this cottage to anyone wanting to recreate true cottage life - if only for a few days......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall quality of the cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaOzzi...
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed at Knowle cottage for 4 nights with friends and our 2 young children. The cottage is fantastic and we highly recommend it to anyone travelling to the area. The village is the smallest and most quiet village I have ever visited and its absolutely lovely. The cottage is well equipped with all that we needed. One from the travel party is a chef so we dined in every night and he found the kitchen perfectly equipped, the children loved it too with some games provided and all the childrens channels available. The heating is very good and parking not a problem with a reserved spot infront of the cottage. We were happy with the bathrooms too..excellent water pressure etc! A nice bottle of wine upon arrival added to the nice arrival! Hope to be back some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhvii...
Odense
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed in Knowl Cottage for the third time, and we will come back next year. Does´nt it say everything?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxtail99
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Picture perfect cottage & village.”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We were looking for the picture perfect cottage, located perfectly in a picturesque English countryside village. This was an exact fit. Nothing in Knowl cottage is out of place or second rate, it is fully outfitted with good quality supplies & furnishings. I even cooked large meals for 5 adults with plenty of pots, pans & nice dishes. It is a large house, lots of space for everyone. As Canadian tourists, we searched for over a year to find such a spot, we were not disappointed! Hartington is a tiny ancient stone village, right out of a picture book. Sheep & dairy cows dotting the green hillsides. People go there to walk the trails & take in the country air. There are a couple shops for general groceries, a cheese shop & an extremely good pub a couple doors down, a couple gift shops & a small gallery. The bus service to Buxton is very regular & inexpensive if you're not driving. We had a very wonderful & memorable week there.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing