We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
41
26
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
41
26
4
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yellow eyed penguins large kitchen petrified forest catlins area one night dolphins playing stayed longer lounge area great place to stay sea lions hostel bay beds waves balcony lodge dunedin
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2019

Great base for Catlins exploration. Walk to Curioscape and Petrified Forest with wildlife on your doorstep. Small rooms but nice garden w3ith big bathroom and kitchen. Like staying with mates. Pushpinder was magic on the front desk!

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank ChrisH1894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2019 via mobile

Good location, right on the beach with a change to see sea lions.
Reasonable prize for nz accommodation.
We where alone, so there was no other travelers.
They have everything you need like kitchen stuff, fridge etc.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fairplay43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela Y, Owner at Lazy Dolphin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2019

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope the rest of your holiday is just as enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

The whole place needs some serious uplifting. The beds were terrible and the sheets were smelling. The fridge has stuff rotting. The one things I don’t understand in NZ is everything is expensive but the quality of things are just bare. The location is very good.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GMRAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela Y, Owner at Lazy Dolphin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2019

Hi

That is very disappointing, and unacceptable. I will discuss this with my staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2018

comfortable bed , nice chill out facilities,well equipped kitchen , and a friendly helpful host. place is kept clean and tidy.close to the beach and wildlife. would definitely stay there again when coming back

Room tip: higher floors have less unit noise
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alpinewarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela Y, Owner at Lazy Dolphin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2018

Thank You, hope you enjoyed your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

My daughter is backpacking in NZ and booked this hostel. She arrived at about 3.00 and there was a note saying the manager would be back at 5.00. Not convenient after a long journey but she hung around. By 7.00 there was still no sign. My daughter left 3 voicemail messages on the number on the notice. There was no one there at all, although my daughter could get in she could only access a dorm room. Luckily about an hour later another girl showed up. They found another unlocked bathroom and kitchen around the back. Still no sign of manager and no calls returned. About 9.00 a couple turned up. They all decided to sleep in the same dorm and lick the door as the door to the hostel was still open. The manager finally arrived after 9 the following morning! What a shambles. This is not what you expect from a business. There were a few apologies but no explanation and no offer of a partial refund. I would not advise anyone to book this place.

Room tip: Don’t book a room here
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank MagicGirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela Y, Owner at Lazy Dolphin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Hi, I sincerely apologise for this inconvenience. There is know way that this should have happened, and I will be having serious discussions with my staff, who were supposed to be working during the day.
I hope the rest of your daughters trip around NZ went well. I thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews