We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from The Sea Kayak Company tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience The Sea Kayak Company
from US$96.28
More Info
from US$165.05
More Info
from US$165.05
More Info
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
184
32
10
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
32
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tonga island marine reserve ab fab bark bay water taxi abel tasman stopped for lunch open water fantastic trip national park split apple rock anchorage bay great guide saw seals food was great highly recommend this trip paddling
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

We took out a kayak from here for 3 days to go around the national park camping this week and the staff could not have been more helpful! They were very friendly and gave great advice on the best places to see and camp and advice on the current weather conditions. The trip was exciting and very varied and we will definately be recommending our friends to use these guys when they come out here in the future! Thanks for an amazing trip!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Lizzieandnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Hi Lizzie.
Thanks for the great review. Pleased you had a great time and hope to see you again some time.Cheers, Paul and the SKC crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

We had such an amazing time kayaking in the clear blue waters of the Abel Tasman national park. We went on the two day 'Shags and Seals' excursion which involved two reasonably easy-going days of kayaking and a 12k hike on the first day to the amazing Aquapackers houseboat in Anchorage harbour.

The trip was really well organised and it was great to get up close to the seals and sea birds. The lunches were delicious and I was so impressed with the way that SKC catered for our dietary requirements.

The Aquapackers was a truly memorable and very special experience. Jane and Mark are excellent hosts and they made us feel really welcome in their home. The barbecue dinner and huge breakfast were incredible.

Thanks so much!

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Hi Anna.
Thank you for your review.Pleased you enjoyed your trip. The Houseboat is a cool way to spend a night in the Park. Many Thanks.

Paul and the SKC crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

You'd be better off hiring a kayak right on spot (a sandy carpark just before the village Marahau).
We rented a kayak for one day and were at the carpark at 8.40. We helped one guide to put all the kayaks on the beach just to find out that he wasn't our instructor. Our instructor came much later. The briefing started at 9.40 and we got into the water at 10. So were sitting around waiting for an hour.
I wouldn't mind if we were on a two day trip. But on a one day trip the time is quite precious since you have to be back at 3.30.
Another hint: A small sign on the website saying that it is very likely to only find fully booked campsites during peak season in the park would have been useful.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Mariesstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were waiting but the briefing does take 45 minutes and as you were on the water at 10.00am I find it hard to believe that it started at 9.40am. The briefings are done as a group so if everybody turned up at the correct time then it would be perfect. In regards to campsites being fully booked during peak of the season when you book the day before ?

Kind regards,

Paul :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We just returned from the Full-Day Kayaking Eco-Tour which was absolutely amazing experience!! This was our first time kayaking and we all did very well. We felt very safe and listened to the instructions given by our instructor.
Our instructor Sven was very funny guy. I loved his stories and jokes, as well. The lunch worth the money and we also had the opportunity to see some lovely seals. The weather was perfect for kayaking and mostly because of Sven this tour was our best day and also best experience in New Zealand. We could not have asked for anything better. We definitely highly recommend this tour to anyone who want have fun and adventure - just ask for Sven :)

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Iwcsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Thanks for your kind words guys. Please you enjoyed your day out with Sven. Hope to see you again sometime.
Take care Paul and the SKC crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

I just completed the 3 day "Pure Abel Tasman" with my wife and two teenage sons. I can't speak highly enough of the trip. From the information and assistance provided by Paul when I booked months ago to the expertise of Isaac London who guided us, the trip was a resounding success. We had a fantastic time, Isaac is very knowledgeable on New Zealand, Maori culture, the flora and fauna in the park and he made the three days fun, interesting and thoroughly enjoyable. He was always positive and professional, he really looked after us well.
All the best
The Stuart's
South Africa

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Moonhaven_2933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Hi Guys. Pleased you enjoyed your trip, I know Isaac did. hope to see you again some time and safe travels.

Kind regards.

Paul and the crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews