We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing group trip thanks to sea kayak co”

The Sea Kayak Company
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.64*
and up
Full-Day Astrolabe Kayaking Eco-Tour
More Info
US$156.88*
and up
Full-Day Abel Tasman Relaxed or Late Riser Kayaking
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Sea Kayak Company is a family owned business that operates guided and freedom rental kayak trips in the Abel Tasman National Park.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“amazing group trip thanks to sea kayak co”
Reviewed 16 May 2016

I organised a group of 6 mums and 6 13 year old girls to do the 2 day Tonga Is trip. The Sea Kayak Co team were so helpful, particularly as I had to speak to them multiple times as we kept chopping and changing our booking.
The trip itself was superb - we all loved it. The first day kayak was full of interesting things to see and it was a pleasant easy day kayaking. We stayed overnight at Aquapackers which was an awesome place to say, floating accommodation in Anchorage Bay, we sat on the deck sipping wine as the sun set over the park, the girls had a ball jumping from the deck into the water repeatedly.
We walked out on the second day, taking a detour to Cleopatra's Pools where we relaxed by the river and the girls tried out the rock slide. The track was easy to walk, with plenty of beautiful beaches to stop at along the way.
The Abel Tasman park is such a stunning part of NZ! We thought the combination of kayaking and walking was ideal, the Sea Kayak Co guides were friendly and fun, the office team were just as friendly and helpful, happy to help us out in any way they could.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank stpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this review, 19 May 2016
Hi Ladies. Thank you for your review.Pleased you had a great time and hope to see you all again some time. Many Thanks, Paul and the SKC crew :)


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    31
    10
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Patumahoe, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 day Eco Tour”
Reviewed 21 April 2016

This is a fabulous experience and one for the bucket list!,
I will not get into how beautiful and awesome the tour is for there oodles to read on this.
Unfortunately I will go over some issues of the "Sea Kayak Co."

Loading and unloading fully laden kayaks (4-5) on and off the trailer while some of the Sea Kayak Staff stood around. This was especially difficult at the end of the trip, where we were all tired, some with sore backs from lifting kayaks everyday up the beach to dry land. Five of us were well into our 60s. We were expected to load all kayaks.

Lifting fully laden kayaks from the beach up to dry land on the campsites. Our suggestion to our guide to empty the kayaks first fell upon deaf ears. She said that "would take too long!" We certainly were not in any rush that I knew of!! But after one of us slipped and fell while carrying the full kayak, we were allowed to transport "empty kayaks."

While kayaking,our guide would talk when some of the boats where out of earshot or way behind. So some of us missed out.

Once on land, our guide was excellent with the preparation of snacks and food. But after that she would disappear. This was very noticeable for all three meals and it was often heard everyday, "does anyone know where ........ is?"

One of the evening events where our guide was going to show us the glow worms occurred without two of us attending. We were not aware that this was taking place and no one looked for us on the beach. A real disappointment.

If you had anything that you wanted to discuss with your guide in the early evening, you could never find her.


AWAROA DID NOT HAPPEN EVEN THOUGH IT IS CLEARLY ON THE MAP AND BROCHURE.

At the end of the five days and upon returning to the company base we were not offered any coffee which would have been well appreciated while we packed up to leave

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank pocahontis2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ultimate Abel Tasman Experience”
Reviewed 13 April 2016

I did the 5 day Eco Explorer & it was awesome! The Sea Kayak Co is a great company, with top quality equipment, extremely experienced guide & good support crew back at base. We were well fed throughout the trip & our individual requirements met without fuss or extra cost. I did this tour on my own & thoroughly enjoyed it & the superb company of the others in my group.

The only disappointment was the misleading description & map of the 5 day tour which says it combines paddling the parks most gorgeous spots with walking in the remote Northern Section of the Abel Tasman. The latter we did not do at all & as a group we were particularly sad not to even get as far as Awaroa.

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank Lafite82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Anau, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MUST DO IN NEW ZEALAND”
Reviewed 7 April 2016

This was the best day trip that I've made in my entire three-week trip in New Zealand! I did the half-day kayak and half-day hike trip, and I think it was the perfect way to see and explore the Abel Tasman National Park. The views from the kayak were incredible, and our guide Hayley was excellent! She knew so much about the animals and birds that we encountered. The water taxis were punctual and fun. I would most definitely do this trip again anytime!

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank elizhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this review, 10 April 2016
Thank you for your review. Our guides really do appreciate your comments. hope to see you again some time. Kind regards Paul and the SKC crew :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
“5 Day Eco Kayak Trip”
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Fantastic trip, awesome scenery, good food, great fellow kayakers. I did enjoy the trip, and would recommend it to others. It was good to be able to take only the necessities, and put them in the plastic bags provided, Saved taking the backpack, so was able to leave some stuff behind at base
BUT!!
1. Lifting full laden kayaks onto the trailer on day one, the lifting off at Morehau. 5 of us were over 60 and 2 had bad backs, so not a great start.
2. The 30m rule was soon forgotten when the kayak I was in was behind all of day one. We would catch up, while the others rested and then they were off again. No rest for us.
Discussed that evening, but it didnt really work until the 2nd to last day. We were continually missing out on the guided tour.
3. Carrying fully laden kayaks up the beach at near on low tide to the dry at the end of each days kayaking.
4. Day one, given tents and told easy to put up. OK if one has done it before, but 2 of us hadnt so spent ages trying to figure it out. Got there eventually.
5. We had thought we would be going to Awaroa, as this is on the map, but were advised by our guide they never go up that way. Business need to update the maps on the web site, and take out the written word that it is a possible, as from what our guide told us it is a NEVER!!.
But apart from the negatives above, I loved the scenery, the wild life and the fauna.It is the most amazing part of the world, I dont believe there is any where in the world to compare, The kayaking is not too strenuous, so if one has not done a lot of kayaking before, this is definitely doable, and worth the effort The food was vvery good, and fresh daily, which is a bonus. The cater very well for those that have different dietary requirements. Well done.. It is also great that one can go for walks at the end of each days kayaking in the Able Tasman bush, lovely scenery and most amazing views from up high, so take your walking shoes and a camera. Its a good idea to take a camera with video, as the seals are so much fun to watch. If you need a bit more comfort at night would be an idea to take another small airbed, although this is extra weight to carry. And a fresh water cold shower is available at Anchorage, so make the most of this, otherwise take wipes and refresh yourself each day with these.
So all in all a wonderful experience, just a couple of fixer uppers.

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
Thank SueJA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sea Kayak Company also viewed

Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Sea Kayak Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing