We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from The Sea Kayak Company tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience The Sea Kayak Company
from US$96.32
More Info
from US$165.12
More Info
from US$165.12
More Info
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
184
32
10
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
32
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tonga island marine reserve ab fab bark bay water taxi abel tasman stopped for lunch open water fantastic trip national park split apple rock anchorage bay great guide saw seals food was great highly recommend this trip paddling
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

I started the day at their base in motueka. They were all friendly and chatty and very welcoming ( despite being 7.30am! They also offered a coffee ). They then drove us to Marahau to get the water taxi to our starting point. There was some confusion and I was left without out my ticket. But everything seemed to be well prepared and the water taxi had paper work to quickly sort me out onto the correct boat.

Amusingly you board the water taxi on drive land and the boat with you on board is then driven to the beach and out into the water. ( was amusing for every watching to see these boats being dragged through the water by tractor ). Once afloat they took us to the split apple rock and also showed us some seals and their pups. Before dropping us off on our beach. Be aware you do need to step into the sea and walk to shore. Make sure you have shorts etc.

From there I started the 6km walk through the abel tasmin to the point where we would begin kayaking. The walk was from torrent bay to bark bay and was sign posted as to where to go. The walk was pretty easy going ( there people going the other way wearing sandles ) and took me around 1.5 hours. Our guide arrived at the beach with the kayakers he had being guiding in the morning, along with lunch. Lunch was pretty good and included a sandwich, coffee/tea, juice and cake.

After a brief introduction to the kayaks we set sail. ( its two people per kayak so if youre alone you will be assigned a partner ). We were meant to go north but due to strong winds this would have been difficult. So we went south which was still very pleasant.

Our guide for the day was great fun and helped make the day enjoyable, along with the rest of the group. He also gave information about the area and entertained us with a great sense of humour and the odd story here and there.

Afterwards they drive us back to base where they also offered showers and wifi.

Would certainly recommend giving this a try it's a great way to see the Abel Tasmin and from the guides I met ( I talked to a few while waiting to depart and on the bus ) you will have a great time with these people.

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank thoward45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Hi Thomas. Thank you for your review. Pleased you enjoyed your day out and hope to see you again some time. Kind regards,Paul and the SKC crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

We did the two day kayak and hiking trip staying overnight on the Aquapackers houseboat. Great experience, great staff (thanks Ruby). Staying overnight was a real treat. Breaking up the two days into half days of kayaking and hiking worked well for us with opportunities for extra exploring or chilling out on the beach.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank iDontWantAUsername3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Thank you for your review Alistair. Pleased you enjoyed your day out with Ruby. That trip is great fun with the stay on the Aquapackers. Hope to see you again some time.Kind regards,

Paul and the SKC crew :)


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

I booked this trip online. The Sea Kayak Company representative answered all of my questions about the various trips offered before I booked and suggested various options. We parked at the base in Motueka and were transported to Maraharu by bus. There we took a water taxi to Onetahuti and kayaked in the morning with 5 fellow kayakers and the guide. We saw some seals on Tonga Island before we ended our kayaking in Bark Bay, where we had a picnic. From there, we hiked to Anchorage Bay on our own, which was a beautiful hike that included a suspension bridge. We had plenty of time to spare on Anchorage Bay before our water taxi took us back to Maraharu. There was a delay in Marahua before we took the bus back to the base in Motueka. It was a long day with all of the transport but worth it. The guide was fine but not outstanding or very enthusiastic. Since it was our first day in New Zealand after 32 hours of travel from the USA, we decided to park in Motueka. It would have been more efficient to have driven to Maraharu on our own and started from there.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank TAHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulKerwin, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Thank you for your review. Pleased you enjoyed your trip and hope to see you again sometime.Kind regards,
Paul and the SKC crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

We did the Heart of the Park with a water taxi from Marahau at 10.30am. A fantastic trip that is not too strenuous but gives you a great experience in the park. when we got to Bark Bay we had time to walk up to the Bark Bay falls/swingbridge which was a lovely short walk to experience the track. Then it was back to Bark Bay to join the kayaking. Neat kayaking trip down to anchorage which included kayaking into Falls River, wildlife/birds and a few waves for fun. We had had enough of kayaking by the time we finished, without being completely over it which i have experienced with longer trips. A great day in the park.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Dee20202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Thank you for your kind words and pleased you enjoyed your trip. hope to see you again sometime.

Kind regards,

Paul and the SKC crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We rented kayaks from the Sea Kayak Company for 2 days for an independent self paddle trip in Abel Tasman. We started from Marahau and ended in Onetahuti (the last place you can drop off the kayaks). Then we continued hiking the 2nd and 3rd day to Totaranui, where we took the water taxi back to the start in Marahau on day 3.

If you love nature, I don't think it can get any better than this very special place: Pristine waters, lonely golden beaches, seals swimming all around you, the pohutukawa trees blooming in their beautiful red color. It's magical! We booked camping spots way back in August of the previous year, so if you plan to camp, make sure you do that way ahead of time. At the first camping site in Anchorage, there were a lot of people, but then the further up you go, the less people you will encounter and it gets more and more remote.

The water was very very cold despite the sunshine and there were some very difficult sections to paddle, so if you are thinking to do this on your own, make sure you are up for the challenge. The reward at the end of the day is worth it! You can hire camping gear directly from the company, bring all the food you need with you, and make sure to pick up some wine at the local store before launching the kayaks :)

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank Fl0renza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2016

Thank you for your review Florenza. Pleased you enjoyed your time in the beautiful Abel Tasman and hope to see you again some time.Thanks, Paul and the SKC crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews