We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to see Abel Tasman!!”

The Sea Kayak Company
Book In Advance
More Info
US$92.79*
and up
Full-Day Astrolabe Kayaking Eco-Tour
More Info
US$160.60*
and up
Full-Day Abel Tasman Kayak and Walk
More Info
US$160.60*
and up
Full-Day Abel Tasman Relaxed or Late Riser Kayaking
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Sea Kayak Company is a family owned business that operates guided and freedom rental kayak trips in the Abel Tasman National Park.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 21 March 2016

We started off the day on a water taxi which took us on a small tour around the many beaches of Abel Tasman before been dropped off at our location, where we met with our guide. Had a lovely picnic lunch followed by 2-3 hour kayaking along the coastline of Abel Tasman. Unbelievable waters and beaches that can only be reached by kayaking or water taxi.

1  Thank DaniellaGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2016

Thanks for your review Daniella. Pleased you enjoyed your day out in our slice of paradise. You will have to come back some day. Kind regards,
Paul and the SKC crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

I started the day at their base in motueka. They were all friendly and chatty and very welcoming ( despite being 7.30am! They also offered a coffee ). They then drove us to Marahau to get the water taxi to our starting point. There was some confusion and I was left without out my ticket. But everything seemed to be well prepared and the water taxi had paper work to quickly sort me out onto the correct boat.

Amusingly you board the water taxi on drive land and the boat with you on board is then driven to the beach and out into the water. ( was amusing for every watching to see these boats being dragged through the water by tractor ). Once afloat they took us to the split apple rock and also showed us some seals and their pups. Before dropping us off on our beach. Be aware you do need to step into the sea and walk to shore. Make sure you have shorts etc.

From there I started the 6km walk through the abel tasmin to the point where we would begin kayaking. The walk was from torrent bay to bark bay and was sign posted as to where to go. The walk was pretty easy going ( there people going the other way wearing sandles ) and took me around 1.5 hours. Our guide arrived at the beach with the kayakers he had being guiding in the morning, along with lunch. Lunch was pretty good and included a sandwich, coffee/tea, juice and cake.

After a brief introduction to the kayaks we set sail. ( its two people per kayak so if youre alone you will be assigned a partner ). We were meant to go north but due to strong winds this would have been difficult. So we went south which was still very pleasant.

Our guide for the day was great fun and helped make the day enjoyable, along with the rest of the group. He also gave information about the area and entertained us with a great sense of humour and the odd story here and there.

Afterwards they drive us back to base where they also offered showers and wifi.

Would certainly recommend giving this a try it's a great way to see the Abel Tasmin and from the guides I met ( I talked to a few while waiting to depart and on the bus ) you will have a great time with these people.

1  Thank thoward45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Hi Thomas. Thank you for your review. Pleased you enjoyed your day out and hope to see you again some time. Kind regards,Paul and the SKC crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

We did the two day kayak and hiking trip staying overnight on the Aquapackers houseboat. Great experience, great staff (thanks Ruby). Staying overnight was a real treat. Breaking up the two days into half days of kayaking and hiking worked well for us with opportunities for extra exploring or chilling out on the beach.

Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Thank you for your review Alistair. Pleased you enjoyed your day out with Ruby. That trip is great fun with the stay on the Aquapackers. Hope to see you again some time.Kind regards,

Paul and the SKC crew :)


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

I booked this trip online. The Sea Kayak Company representative answered all of my questions about the various trips offered before I booked and suggested various options. We parked at the base in Motueka and were transported to Maraharu by bus. There we took a water taxi to Onetahuti and kayaked in the morning with 5 fellow kayakers and the guide. We saw some seals on Tonga Island before we ended our kayaking in Bark Bay, where we had a picnic. From there, we hiked to Anchorage Bay on our own, which was a beautiful hike that included a suspension bridge. We had plenty of time to spare on Anchorage Bay before our water taxi took us back to Maraharu. There was a delay in Marahua before we took the bus back to the base in Motueka. It was a long day with all of the transport but worth it. The guide was fine but not outstanding or very enthusiastic. Since it was our first day in New Zealand after 32 hours of travel from the USA, we decided to park in Motueka. It would have been more efficient to have driven to Maraharu on our own and started from there.

Thank TAHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulKerwin, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Thank you for your review. Pleased you enjoyed your trip and hope to see you again sometime.Kind regards,
Paul and the SKC crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

We did the Heart of the Park with a water taxi from Marahau at 10.30am. A fantastic trip that is not too strenuous but gives you a great experience in the park. when we got to Bark Bay we had time to walk up to the Bark Bay falls/swingbridge which was a lovely short walk to experience the track. Then it was back to Bark Bay to join the kayaking. Neat kayaking trip down to anchorage which included kayaking into Falls River, wildlife/birds and a few waves for fun. We had had enough of kayaking by the time we finished, without being completely over it which i have experienced with longer trips. A great day in the park.

Thank Dee20202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaKayakCompany, Owner at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Thank you for your kind words and pleased you enjoyed your trip. hope to see you again sometime.

Kind regards,

Paul and the SKC crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sea Kayak Company also viewed

Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Sea Kayak Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing